We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot for a good lunch.”
Review of Cru

Cru
Ranked #7 of 141 Restaurants in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: This premier oyster bar offers casually elegant cuisine in a visually stunning waterfront setting on Nantucket harbor.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot for a good lunch.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The location here is beautiful, right on Straight Wharf with yachts in the background and plenty of outside seating.

Our food was very good, with an outstanding Soft-Shell Crab BLT and a great selection of FRESH and delicious oysters. The list of wines by the glass was thorough and a decent value.

Service was above-average and friendly, without a hint of pretension.

The bill was pricey, but Cru earns it! A really nice spot on Nantucket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    149
    52
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, MD USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and food was not good”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Four of us flew into Nantucket and took the taxi driver's recommendation. We also checked reviews. The oysters which are their claim to fame were good. The lobster rolls were very disappointing. Since I grew up in Massachusetts, I am particular about lobsters and clams. The clams were pretty good. Everything was quite overpriced but would not have been a problem if it was good. Service was average . We saw several other restaurants (later) which looked to be more friendly and less pricey. It was however, Boston Pops weekend which is their busiest weekend so perhaps they had been overwhelmed earlier in the day, and I do not want tobe unfair to them but I would not go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“so so food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

the wait was long both for a table and to finally get our drinks. But, it is a great place to sit and people watch or just soak up the beautiful sea air and sun. We were finally seated after about 45 minutes (it was 2:30) and the waitress was attentive. The oysters were delicious. The hummus was odd and not at all what I expected, but the accompanying veggies and pita bread were very good. The bloody marys were great. The soft shell crab tempura and the crispy fried fish would have been better had they not been overcooked or so greasy! All in all, glad I came but not sure I would return any time soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Most beautiful restaurant on island”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Cru is one of my new favorite spots on island. The atmosphere and décor are absolutely beautiful, like something from a Pinterest board that's come to life. Nothing like it on Nantucket. On top of the incredible interior, the ocean views and yachts serve as lovely eye candy! I enjoyed wine and sampled the raw bar while I was there. Wasn't blown away by the selection on the dinner menu so moved on to another location. Although honestly the food could have been sub-par and I would have returned just for the ambiance. Truly beautiful/romantic/sexy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average food in a beautiful place!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch, this was our second time eating here. The wait staff were a bit uppity but overall they were not too bad. Had a lobster roll which was really good except for the bun that was stale. Also had a fried flounder sandwich which was very fresh and delicious although somewhat greasy. The view in this restaurant is spectacular. If you get a seat along the perimeter, you are going to have a fabulous view of the marina. It is breathtaking.

I am giving it an average review because it is expensive for what it is and overall it was just average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru also viewed

 

Been to Cru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing