We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Nantucket Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Some say that there are firsts for everything. For my husband and I, this was our first time to The Nantucket Hotel & Resort. Our first time to Nantucket. This time of year is just perfect - not too busy, but the weather is still comfortable.The rooms in this newly renovated hotel were spacious and beautifully decorated, as well as clean. Pool area was lovely (bathrooms with showers in the pool area). Only had breakfast at the hotel, but that was consistently delicious (my hips just loved the homemade waffles). The location was perfect as you could easily take the 5 minute walk into town or restaurants. This was the first time that I have experienced such an all around perfect stay at any hotel. Not only was the staff friendly and accommodating, but they actually LIKED working at this hotel. Not only did they like working at this hotel, they actually liked the OWNER - when do you ever hear that voluntarily coming out of an employee's mouth? One evening we were going to a restaurant with our friends and went to the front desk to ask them to get us a cab. The man behind the counter said, "Don't bother, I'll drive you." We of course told him that it wasn't necessary, but he insisted. The "man" ended up being Mark, the owner of Nantucket Hotel & Resort - gee, wonder why this is such a wonderful place to work and stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dfesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 769 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Everything was perfect at the Nantucket Hotel. The staff was incredible from the first moment we arrived. I can't remember staying anywhere with such personable, helpful staff. Everyone from the managers to the servers and cooks at the breakfast buffet, as well as the cleaning gals were incredibly friendly and welcoming without overdoing it. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the entire facility-no b&b's for us! We had a noise issue with our upstairs neighbors, and Carlos graciously moved us into a fabulous cottage for our last night there. It was really hard to leave. We would definitely return to this wonderful hotel. A wonderful 40th anniversary!!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the rooms next to the dumpsters. Trash collection occurs every morning and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineandpaul1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful everything. Great experience. Nantucket charm. Nantucket price but when you come here you want the best. It is the and most luxurious and classiest place and even happens to be very family friendly. Is the island's best choice to stay hands down. We are here now ... Sept 16, 2013 and don't want to leave.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank poky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent last weekend at the hotel and had a wonderful time. The crew that picked us up from the ferry was courteous, friendly and very knowledgeable. Lunch at the BREEZE was fabulous and then followed by fresh baked cookies and lemonade by the pool!!What's better than that?? The location was perfect as was the great exercise room, ping ping and pool table. Carlos at the front desk could not of been more professional and Linda at the breakfast bar making waffles was so kind to my 13 yr old son. We enjoyed our visit very much and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Room 32-35 are quite roomy and beautifully decorated with exquite nautical touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nptswim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Nantucket Hotel is a beautiful resort with the friendliest , most attentive staff we have experienced. Carolyn, the concierge, was extremely helpful and kind. Jamie, the manager, was informative and always eager to guide us. Every employee greeted us with warm wishes and conversation. The fitness room has a variety of equipment in a large space, unlike many other places we've stayed. We enjoyed afternoon lemonade with home made cookies by the pool every afternoon. The location is very convenient to the harbor shopping, restaurants, shuttles, and historical sites. If we return to Nantucket we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful days at The Nantucket Hotel & Resort! It can't be beat for location (walking distance to downtown), personnel (from front desk staff to Jamie Holmes, one of the managers, each person made you feel like returning family.. not a guest), amenities (2 swimming pools, a recreation room for children, pool table, exercise facility... all were top notch, and beyond our expectations), rooms (well appointed and the bathrooms are exceptional) and food (continental breakfast had many options to select from and they had complimentary warm cookies with lemonade by the main pool). A bit pricey, but you get your monies worth at The Nantucket Hotel & Resort. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nothing about this hotel warrants 5 stars. For example I have never been to a top end hotel where the hand soap and lotion was screwd to the wall in a theft-proof contraption. Gives a creepy feel to the place. Lobby is akin to a very big walk in closet. The front desk was mostly abandoned after about 9 or 10 PM. Nothing special about the breakfasts. Bacon was the same as one might find at a supermarket. Waitstaff at breakfast was relatively pleasant but woefully unattentive especially given that the room was 3/4 empty!
The front desk is likewise understaffed; the manager's pitching in is no way to substitute for staff.
The notice regarding prohibition against discarding anything but tissue in the toilet was itsel attached by string to a rack to prevent theft. What is this preoccupation by management with preventing theft of property that is virtually worthless? What sort of clientele are you trying to attract? Finally the letter advising guets to vacate their room at a definite early hour in the morning was the most obnoxiously written letter of it's kind I can recall ever receiving.

The pool, squeezed into a court yard surrounded on three sides by the hotel had the atmosphere and luxury one might expect at a cash starved municipal pool but without its charm. I am woefully suspicious of the comments of unqualified praise, many of which appear to me to be written by the same pen. The best hotel on Nantucket? What a farce.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resorttraveler44, Owner at The Nantucket Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

This guest stayed with us for one night at the end of August and was a walk-in and had not reserved with us in advance. I have called the guest and left a message of apology as I feel that we did not meet his expectations. I do hope to hear back from him.

To address the concerns raised in this review:

-We are located on an island and take pride in the "green initiatives" we have implemented at the hotel. The hand soap in each shower is mounted in attractive bottles on the tile to make it easy for our guests to use; not, as this person believed to prevent theft. Otherwise, it would be impossible to shower and reach for the soap in a safe, easy way. The same goes for the attractive card (containing a picture of the hotel in the early 20th century) that we have placed in each bathroom regarding sanitary information. We have attached these to the towel racks to make them visible, yet out of the way.

-Our lobby and pool areas have received many accolades from the Nantucket community and our guests. We are an historic hotel in an historic location and have tried to blend the hotel's history with the contemporary needs of our guests. The pool that this gentleman saw is our family pool; Our other pool (which I don't believe he saw) is separate and for adults. After our multi-million dollar renovation, to create the two pools, I am disappointed that this guest found these areas not to be to his liking. Each pool has expansive decking, cabana seating and lots of sun. We are fortunate to be located in a downtown location, where pools are generally not allowed in the historic district. There are numerous pictures of our pools on Trip Advisor and on our website which accurately reflect how they look. Our lobby has a library and is considered large by Nantucket standards. We are proud of our steam punk whale that has delighted many children and guests as it comes to life behind the front desk.

-We try hard to provide good quality service, but we obviously fell short for this guest . Our manager's do play an active role at the front desk, at check-in and check-out and in the restaurant. Most of our guests appreciate having our leadership team out front so that they feel "at home". Our aim is to get to know our guests and their needs on a personal basis, not to staff "inadequately" as this guest implies,

It is difficult to read a review that is so harsh and so unlike the many assessments from other guests that have stayed with us. In essence, this guest missed the mark as to what we are trying to accomplish and we missed the mark in our delivery. Our goal is to be a family friendly, high quality, unpretentious home away from home for our guests. Since this guest stayed with us just for one night on a last minute basis, I can only surmise that he was "passing through" and didn't have the chance to enjoy the many amenities we offer and the perceived "value" that results- this includes our large health club, spa services, beach shuttles, s'mores by the pool, antique firetruck rides and a great location in town, making it easy to walk to everything. To enjoy all that we offer, most of our in-season guests do stay with us for many days.

Considering the amount of repeat business we have enjoyed since our opening just last year, I hope this guest does the same, follow-up with me and come back to try us again for more than a brief one-night stay!

Mark Snider
Owner and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
456 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nantucket Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nantucket Hotel & Resort

Address: 77 Easton St, Nantucket, MA 02554-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range: $175 - $3,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantucket Hotel celebrates the quintessential New England island vacation...Appointed with modern comforts, no worries, and a smiling staff. We're within walking distance of beaches, and downtown Nantucket - with its shops and restaurants. We offer hotel rooms, 1-to-4-bedroom suites, cottages, Breeze Restaurant & The Nantucket Club, two heated outdoor swimming pools, our fitness center and spa. Our Grand Ballroom is spectacular for weddings of up to 250 people and meetings of up to 300. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing