We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where the Wild Things Are!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cisco Brewers

Cisco Brewers
Ranked #2 of 82 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Who are we? We are just about the coolest place on planet Earth. Having never personally traveled to other parts of the galaxy, we can't quite say "in all the Milky Way" but we're pretty confident that we would make the top 10. Here on Nantucket we have a Winery, Brewery, and Distillery. Nantucket Vineyard was the first arm of our business opening in the early 1980's as a small project of the Long Family. After a few years, Winery employees ended up falling in love with the wine and each other, and voila! - Cisco Brewers was born on the Hudson's stovetop in 1995. Whispers of a brewery floated on the Nantucket wind, catching the ear of a few people, including a Mr. Harman. Using the previously tested and proven formula of starting a business from another business, Winery and Brewery employees enjoyed a few glasses / pints (respectively) together and hatched the idea for Triple Eight Distillery in 2000. All three businesses are constantly evolving, and we now produce a wide variety of world-class wines, beers, and spirits. Come out and enjoy our Nantucket haven- just prepare yourself in case your mind blows up from all the awesomeness. Open everyday year-round, dog and kid friendly!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where the Wild Things Are!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Outdoor bar scene just off the beach! Very casual, with lots of beer. Food is from a truck in the parking lot, dogs roam freely and live music seems the norm. I have to admit that a dog peed on my foot, and no one seemed surprised. Beware of the bassett hound mixed breed that looks friendly...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 60745Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    128
    31
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Must do if you're visiting the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We took the Cisco Brewery shuttle from the Visitors Center in town on a RAINY day but we were pleasantly surprised. We got there early about 1:45p.m. and had a flight tasting of beers. There was no music on this day but it was a cute place, and fun to try the different beers. There's also wine tasting and their Triple 8 vodka tasting but we preferred beer. I would recommend going early because by 3pm people were strolling in and I can't imagine having as good an experience with the tasting if there are too many people there. Not to mention during peak hours (which I assumed is whenever they get super busy) they do not have the flight tasting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BostonianinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Favorite in Nantucket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've been here several times and it's one of my favorite spots in Nantucket. They serve local beers and wines and distilled vodka drinks, also offered as tastings. There is usually live music around the 5 to 7 p.m. hour. It gets very crowded, people sit at picnic tables and enjoy the atmosphere. Kids and dogs are running around, just a fun, casual, unpretentious spot for locals and tourists alike.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wander_The_W0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best activity on Nantucket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation from a waiter at a local restaurant who told us we could not leave the island without going. Awesome brewery winery and distillery. Come early when it's not so crowded and they are offering tastings. Prices very reasonable for all beverages and tastings. Dogs galore too- I was in heaven! Love this place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

It has been a few years since we visited Nantucket but we spent a week on the island in August 2013. The island hasn't changed much, same downtown, same beaches, better bike paths, and an awesome brewery. I have been on island more than a dozen times but never to Cisco brewery. During our 9 day visit, we visited here 3 times. It was such an enjoyable experience for the whole family, even the dog was welcomed. Marketing genius. Good venue, great beer, music, food vendors, and fun families. This was a highlight of our vacation, and a must do on your next trip to the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cisco Brewers also viewed

 

Been to Cisco Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing