We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chardonnay”
Review of Cisco Brewers

Cisco Brewers
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Who are we? We are just about the coolest place on planet Earth. Having never personally traveled to other parts of the galaxy, we can't quite say "in all the Milky Way" but we're pretty confident that we would make the top 10. Here on Nantucket we have a Winery, Brewery, and Distillery. Nantucket Vineyard was the first arm of our business opening in the early 1980's as a small project of the Long Family. After a few years, Winery employees ended up falling in love with the wine and each other, and voila! - Cisco Brewers was born on the Hudson's stovetop in 1995. Whispers of a brewery floated on the Nantucket wind, catching the ear of a few people, including a Mr. Harman. Using the previously tested and proven formula of starting a business from another business, Winery and Brewery employees enjoyed a few glasses / pints (respectively) together and hatched the idea for Triple Eight Distillery in 2000. All three businesses are constantly evolving, and we now produce a wide variety of world-class wines, beers, and spirits. Come out and enjoy our Nantucket haven- just prepare yourself in case your mind blows up from all the awesomeness. Open everyday year-round, dog and kid friendly!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Chardonnay”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Didn't go to the vineyard but bought the Chardonnay in town. Excellent wine. It made for a nice souvenier to bring back from Nantucket.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    132
    34
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beer and Tunes”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a day of bike riding and then looking at rental properties we ended up here. This completed a perfect day. The beer and wine was fun to sample and a band started playing at 4:30 PM that really set the scene. People were hanging out with their friends or dancing. It was so fun, I highly recommend this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great afternoon”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We did a beer tasting, followed by a tour and tasting. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and down-to-earth. The place is great for families, with live music and places to sit and sample. We took the bus and then walked from the bus stop without any difficulty. Their beers are awesome, wines delicious and the vanilla infused vodka made a great drink! Lots of fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nuendelcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A fun place to spend the afternoon. They don't serve food but they encourage you to bring your lunch and sit outside at their picnic tables.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had decided to spend the day on Nantucket and my husband loves craft beer, so based on Tripadvisor reviews we spent $35.00 for a taxi out to the brewery. Upon arriving we though we were in the wrong place. There were Cisco employees sprawled out on mismatched chairs all peeling fruit to be used for the distillery. The very young employees were throwing fruit at each other and into garbage cans and generally horsing around in front of customers who were visiting the brewery. All were drinking beer while they peeled fruit. This may be a tradition to drink while you work at a brewery?? We decided to try the 10.00 beer tasting and found the beer shack with 2 bar stools. We were served by a very abrasive woman who slung the beer samples at us and was so disinterested we could barely get the name of each beer we were tasting out of her. Our server was much much more interested in her female friend standing at the bar with her and they were again peeling fruit and drinking. Rude and unprofessional would be the best way to describe Cisco employees. The courtyard looked as if the chairs and benches were retrieved from a dumpster. There was no shade whatsoever and no comfortable place to sit. Oh yes, last but not least the beer brewed and served was the worst craft beer we have tasted in all our travels. Cisco you are no Woodstock Brewery. It was a huge disappointment that we wasted our time and money at the Cisco Brewery

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pharmacygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cisco Brewers also viewed

 

Been to Cisco Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing