We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nantucket with a Manhattan Vibe"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Nantucket with a Manhattan Vibe"”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Veranda House experience has prompted my first ever tripadvisor review. Geninuely friendly, accomodating staff, attention to the finest detail and upscale amenities make this property a top of the list destination for a Nantucket stay. We have vacationed on Nantucket for nearly two decades and usually opt for the traditional antique filled inns or Nantucket country chic. While we still love that look, The Veranda House offers guests the many little extra touches that make one feel welcome and pampered. The housekeeping is meticulous, the beds are cozy and enveloping and the shower is an experience unto itself. The afternoon cookies and champagne and the turndown service with a bedtime note are just a few. But by far, the best part of The Veranda House is the staff who are genuinely nice and who go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and cared for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    75
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
307
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay for our 10th year wedding anniversary and first trip to Nantucket. We booked the last room available (Arbor Cottage Suite) on the last busy weekend for the season and had a great visit. Exceptional, friendly staff at the front desk, during wine hour, housekeeping and breakfast servers. Both myself (an architect and designer) and my wife (an innkeeper at an upscale Inn) loved the retro chic interiors, especially at the recently done Chapman House, and the quality of the overall experience. Recommended to all, especially if you're looking to stay in a place that doesn't feel like Grandma Nantucket's Doily Museum.

Clean, quiet, calm & walkable to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Veranda House. It is a beautiful hotel: the service is excellent, the rooms are very comfortable, the views from the porches are spectacular and the grounds are lovely. It is within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I live in Texas but were traveling to New England to deliver two of our boys to school. We decided that it would be fun to check out Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket after we said our goodbyes. We were arriving in Nantucket on a Monday and we had no reservations. My husband got on TripAdvisor, ChowHound and a few other review sites and decided that The Veranda House looked interesting. I think he used Hotels.com to get the room booked but the site only allowed a booking for the next two days but not the first night since it was that same day. I would recommend checking rates and then just calling them directly since whatever rate you pay on the booking site takes a big commission and I believe they would match it if you booked it directly, although i don't know for sure. He called them after he had booked two days and they gave us the same rate for the day we were coming in. I do not know how they ever figured out how to make this very old home into a working small hotel, but it does work very well. You enter at the highest level and work your way down through various areas including a terrific verandah. The owners and the managers really have excellent taste, somehow making a very old place seem very new and vibrant while maintaining the beautiful old bones. I highly recommend visiting Nantucket after Labor Day based upon what we experienced, and I feel sure we will return in September of 2013. We will stay here when we do.

Room Tip: We liked the room at the very bottom of the complex which also includes a second home, built in 171...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The Veranda
Nantucket

A charming guesthouse stylishly done up in a way that accentuates its history. 

Smart room though wonky floors which means drawers flew out at you when opened and bedside tables had to be propped with paper under a corner. Also the storage area was limited and the door did not shut properly either. 

The bathroom is tiny and feels a little exposed to the neighbouring room's outdoor verandah (and publicly accessible) as part of a wraparound verandah (sorry we Brits spell this with an h at the end do don't be annoyed by the "typo" on my part!). The shower was very good though no bath. There were very pleasant toiletries and a cute turndown service too.

The veranda space was charming and the staff were helpful and friendly on arrival. 

Breakfast is continental only but absolutely lovely. An elegant way of resolving the issue caused by a legal ban on cooked breakfasts (maybe this is to boost local business like cafes or to mitigate against fire hazard on these typically wooden properties?).

There are convenient bike racks below the property. 

It is a great location. We visited out of season. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our 2nd time staying here and I've just got to say that it's still excellent.
The attention to detail is noticable~~~From chilled wine at reception to strong coffee
perking away at 6:30 A.M.
The entire staff is friendly and helpful and, again, that's no accident.
Scott, I think that he is the GM, really has everything working in perfect harmony.
Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in mid-September 2012 for a weekend getaway. The Veranda House and it's staff were top notch - great customer service. From beginning to end they were terrific. We flew in early morning (730 am) and while our room was expectedly not available the staff offered to store our bags and let us use a room so that we could change our clothes for the beach. They even gave us beach towels to use. We grabbed breakfast on the veranda before heading out and the European style offering (fruit, assorted breads and spreads, and goat cheese bruschetta) was fantastic and a perfect way to start our day. While we were out on the island they called my cell to let us know our room was ready and when we returned they had our bags in our room. Our room (10) was well appointed (modern but comfortable) and very clean. Very nice sight line to the water. Before we went out to dinner we grabbed a complementary glass of wine from the front desk that we enjoyed out on the lawn as the sun was starting to set. Could not have asked for a better setting to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. We left the next morning and knew that we would definitely stay at this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends who are heading to Nantucket later this month.

Only minor issue was that the door from our room to the 3rd floor veranda was not locking properly. We notified the front desk and they fixed it in less than 10 minutes with no issues.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10. Big enough room for a couple and has a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veranda House Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veranda House Hotel Collection

Property: The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Address: 3 Step Ln, Nantucket, MA 02554-3544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Veranda House Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the serenity of calm, sweeping shorelines without sacrificing the convenience of town. Just steps from the quaint beaches, restaurants and shops of beautiful Nantucket Island, the Veranda House is the perfect starting point for your New England getaway. Spectacular vistas of Nantucket Harbor and our terraced gardens mingle fresh salt air with blossomed breezes. At The Veranda House, luxury awaits. Your relaxation is our priority. Enjoy a staff-served epicure-style breakfast, afternoon cookies and sparkling wine. Nightly turn-down service is a great amenity to come home to after an evening out. We offer full concierge service to make your stay even more complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Veranda House Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veranda House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing