We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachy Chic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Veranda House Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Near Boston, MA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beachy Chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was my second stay at the Veranda House, and I'm happy to say that my first stay was even better than my first! The Veranda House is ideally located in town; it is an easy walk to many excellent restaurants, museums, shops, and Jetties Beach. There are many lovely amenities such as beach totes and chairs, sparkling wine served every afternoon, a variety of breakfast items served every morning, and cold strawberry or cucumber flavored water in the reception area through out the day. The beds are super comfortable and the view from the veranda on the third level is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelligrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    73
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
289
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

It was my first time in Nantucket and I LOVED it, see my review below for the Veranda House.

Location: This is within walking distance of the main downtown area as well as Jetties Beach. We didn't use a cab for anything (except to / from the airport). You can easily rent mopeds down the block, rent a bike 3 blocks away, or walk to some of the best restaurants on the island within 10 minutes. The wave bus is also very close to the b&b.

Service & Hospitality: The staff at breakfast is so nice, friendly and courteous. If you do not want to sit down for all courses, you can simply ask for a to go box. The staff that is there during the day and can give you recommendations of things to see and do, make reservations at restaurants as well as organize for your taxi.

Room: Because of our last minute booking, we got a room at Arbor Cottage. It is literally on the same side street across from the Veranda House, and note that streets are NOT wide. We got the Beachplum room, which is a corner unit with windows facing south and west, and a large bathroom with windows facing north and west. The Arbor Cottage home has central AC, but also has AC units if you want your room cooler. I think this is more intimate as there are only 3 rooms in this home, but you get the exact same level of service if you stayed in the main building.

Things to Note: Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided free of charge every day. There are books and dvds that you can borrow. Wine and cookies are provided everyday from 4-6pm. The beach chairs and umbrella fit on the back of the bike, just ask for more bungee cords. Don't forget to tip the breakfast staff, they are so helpful!
Only negative thing is that the bed seems to be sagging a bit in the middle, and bring eyeshades if you're a light sleeper!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlynnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

From the moment we arrived, the service was exceptional. We arrived early from the first ferry and were offered tea and coffee as we stored our bags and prepared for our day. Thank you Scott for all your help during our stay.. When we returned hot and worn out from a 20 mile bike ride, Kiley (sorry if that is spelled incorrectly) decided we needed cold water and fresh baked cookies and delivered these to us! Breakfast on the patio was lovely and we enjoyed sitting in the garden at night. This is a great place to stay,great location and excellent, friendly service. We were so happy that we made reservations, before we left, for another stay at their sister property the Chapman House and loved it there, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom02360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at The Veranda House during off season in June and was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and location of the inn. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast is worth noting too. Highly recommend this location for a stay on Nantucket.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedJumbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Veranda House Hotel Collection, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay. We hope that you're able to enjoy another amazing vacation with us on Nantucket again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The staff worked very hard to locate a package for us that the U.S. Postal Service had misplaced. It was for a friend's 50th birthday party. They found the package and the party was a big success! Service above and beyond!!! They really seemed to care, unlike our stay at the Asticou Inn in Northeast Harbor, Maine. But... that's another story. Yea Veranda House!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travgarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I found The Veranda House on-line after deciding to take a very impromptu trip to Nantucket with my son. Without doing alot of research, we decided on The Veranda House......and we were so pleasantly surprised! Not only is the inn beautiful, the accomodations are totally enhanced by the WONDERFUL service and friendly staff. I would stay here again, recommend it highly to friends and family and am thrilled to learn about the other hotels in this group. Well done folks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy22854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We loved our stay in June at the pre-season rate. The breakfast is a three course meal: bread basket with a different muffin featured daily served with a tray of jam, honey, and two types of butter; a different fruit course each day (melons with raspberry coulis, for example); and a main dish that changes daily as well (blackberry crepes, salt and pepper biscuit with greens, or granola with fruits and yogurt, or a bagel with cream cheese, for example).

We stayed in room 4, a small room with a large bathroom and porch. It was neat and clean, decorated in a warm but modern style. The bed and linens were very comfortable. I loved the rain shower and the little porch overlooking the gardens.

Service at this hotel is outstanding. Little touches include turn-down service with a little treat (Twizzlers!), a beach bag with large towels, use of beach chairs, and helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have a little porch, but it's worth asking about. The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scdBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veranda House Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veranda House Hotel Collection

Property: The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Address: 3 Step Ln, Nantucket, MA 02554-3544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nantucket
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Veranda House Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the serenity of calm, sweeping shorelines without sacrificing the convenience of town. Just steps from the quaint beaches, restaurants and shops of beautiful Nantucket Island, the Veranda House is the perfect starting point for your New England getaway. Spectacular vistas of Nantucket Harbor and our terraced gardens mingle fresh salt air with blossomed breezes. At The Veranda House, luxury awaits. Your relaxation is our priority. Enjoy a staff-served epicure-style breakfast, afternoon cookies and sparkling wine. Nightly turn-down service is a great amenity to come home to after an evening out. We offer full concierge service to make your stay even more complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Veranda House Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veranda House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing