We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nantucket White House Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
1 review
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband, daughter and I visited friends this summer at Nantucket. The white house inn, which is under new ownership, was a quick wallk from the ferry which was great. Check-in is located in their yummy candy shop. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The new owners have updated all the furniture in the rooms. Our room had a beautiful sleigh bed, very cozy, comfortable and clean. The location was great. Walk out the door and go shopping, to the beach, for walk, out to eat. We really enjoyed being able to park our bikes out back, we rode to the beach several times, a 5 minute ride by bike. We also walked to a beautiful play ground right on the beach from the inn. After dinner we loved stopping in the candy shop and trying their homemade chocolates. Our only challenge was keeping our 4 year old out of the candy shop, she loved the the variety of treats and she got a beautiful butterfly kite their.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mszscepaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    13
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We (wife, daughter, and self) stayed at the White House Inn this past summer and everything met or exceeded our expectations. The room was very clean and updated. The location was fantastic in middle of Nantucket center and a short distance from several beaches. The value for location, etc., was great! We also spent several days on the lower cape and paid more for much less return. As mentioned in an earlier review the setting was a room located above the candy store but it was very cozy and clean. The candy store was also amazing! The inn offered vouchers for a delicious bakery across the street that offered some unique options. Everyone we encountered working at the inn and candy store was very friendly and accommodating. Overall we had a great experience for a reasonable cost. It seems most options on Cape Cod and especially Nantucket and just way overpriced. If you want a great stay, a great value, and don't mind giving up a few of the perks of one of the overpriced options this is the place! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were met with great hospitality (and it continued throughout our stay) and a location that can't be beat by the price. We thought it might be loud due to the locaton (next to the Jarrett House) but it was actually very quite at night. We had everything we needed but I can't stop this review without say that this stay also met our really high expectations for cleanliness (top to bottom in every room). No, it's not the Ritz, but if you want to be in the middle of it and have a really nice staff, this is really an amazing deal. They give you a breakfast certificate to a local bakery. We really wanted to try a local restaurant for breakfast (Blackeyed Susans) so we were lucky to take our 'breakfast' certificate and use it for a few lunch items (we were full from breakfast so this was perfect) and head out to the beach to enjoy! So you may ask why I'm not giving it a 5? It is a 5 in what is available for this fantastic site to offer!

Room Tip: Something must be wrong with the TA site - they make you choose Swimming Pool and Fitness Center or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncenjoytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are thinking about staying at the White House Inn in Nantucket you need to know a few things. First, the good. The location cannot be beat if you want to stay in town. You are virtually minutes walk from everthing in the downtown area, yet on the edge of the downtown. Perfect. The manager works very hard to make you feel at home. The price is reasonable by Nantucket standards for downtown. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, nice towels, hot water, but the basics for over $250/night. So, what's the problem. The White House Inn is not an inn, it's a rooming house. The first floor is a candy company run by the same people who manage the inn. The manager of the "inn" is working her tail off at the candy company, and, through no fault of her own, has difficulty attending to the rooms. Trash not emptied, coffee maker not cleaned, etc., without prompting. There is no check in area, no common area, no sitting area, and no staff, except the manager who goes home to her house out of town every night. The rooms are tiny, as one would expect at this price in the center of town, but have little charm; our room, with two charis, was reportedly the largest. Bathroom is outdated. There is a picnic bench in an overgrown backyard garden which is "tired". For breakfast you get a voucher for the across the street bakery; though very good, there is no place to sit down except on the benches on the street. In fairness, the manager is trying to expand the voucher to other restaurants. I hope the owners are paying her well as she clearly works very hard. Perhaps she had staff during the summer season; we were there in September. Also odd is that the house stays open all night. Someone can literally walk in off the street at any hour and come knock on your door. SO, if you want one of the cheapest place in town, only need a bed, and little charm, this may be your place. If you are willing to pay a little bit more, want to stay at an inn, and appreciate charm, look somewhere else. I hold the owner, not the manager, responsible for calling this an inn.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only one with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mackerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We loved the stay and location!!! The linens were by far the softess I have ever slept on. The staff was outstanding with every minor detail. I would stay here everytime we return back to the island. No car necessary with the inn. Price of a stay was by far the best on the island

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked the White House Inn for a long Labor Day weekend with a group of friends, and could not have been happier. We were able to get into our room early (nice room with everything we needed) and were provided with a cooler & ice packs and beach towels. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from start to finish. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked last minute and was pleasantly surpised with the place. Nice, room, A/C, bathroom etc. Good amenities like beach bag and towels. The staff was helpful and courteous. Just steps away from all the sights and sounds of the town. I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ha_steiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantucket White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantucket White House Inn

Property: Nantucket White House Inn
Address: 48 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554 (Formerly The White House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantucket White House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantucket White House Inn is a historic property centrally located in Nantucket town. It is just minutes from Main Street, ferry docks, Nantucket Boat Basin, the Whaling Museum, and is in the heart of the best shopping and fine restaurants on the island. The Nantucket White House Inn is just steps away from the Nantucket’s shuttle buses, providing easy access to Nantucket's fabulous beaches and points of interest. The guest rooms are light and airy with charming Nantucket town views. Each room offers a private bath with shower, in-room coffee service, air conditioning, flat screen HD cable TV, free WiFi, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer. A courtyard with flower garden is provided in a private fenced in backyard. Tables, chairs, and a bike rack are available for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Nantucket White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing