We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice easy tour of Nantucket”

Gail's Tours of Nantucket
Ranked #5 of 30 Tours in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice easy tour of Nantucket”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice tour to take of Nantucket for your first visit. It will give you an idea of the layout of the island. Not sure if worth the $25 for such a short tour but do it once and then explore on your own.

Helpful?
1 Thank traveloverNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    16
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, DE
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Native takes you on a tour”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Gail's tour gives you the idea of people who have lived on the island and the challenges they face is living "normal" lives where tourism related jobs are the only occupation. How to buy blue jeans, how kids go to school and participate in sports, etc. I found her engaged and engaging. the van is comfortable

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

No one understands a place like someone whose been there for their entire lifetime. We rode with Gail a few days ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. She answered EVERY question with aplomb and authority. She KNOWS the Island! It had been 46 years since my last visit and this tour made me feel completely familiar with Nantucket again. Convenient, interesting and fun. An absolute 5-star tour and an excellent value in my opinion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth $25 (especially when it was advertised as $13 in all the papers)”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was a nice van and Gail has a pleasant personality. But labeling this a tour is not true, It is more like an expensive cab ride through Nantucket with little tidbits of information from Gail. We did briefly stop at Old Mill and Sankaty but you could do that on a bike ride. She passed many homes and pointed that "such and such celebrity' lived there, many celebrity names that I did not recognize. My 12 year old son was absolutely bored. She seemed to focus on showing all her favorite gardens and would drive slowly so we could look through bushes to see the gardens. I didn't pay for a garden tour. It was ok but not work $100 for a family of 4. I felt robbed once it was over. I have taken tours in many places (DC, Maine, NYC, Boston) and this was the worst one I have been on. Do your research first!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tljapan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
811 reviews
349 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The van is ok but windows are not Polaroid so pics are mirroring... Like all tours, this is covering just the common interest but she can be flexible if will notice an interest. We all tent to expect to take a tour and to get everything from that... During the Tour Gail was great but commercial. She looked bored and interested in the next tour passengers. Anyhow Nantucket is overrated in my opinion. A beautiful island with rich guys and erosion. A nice marina but nothing so wow.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gail's Tours of Nantucket also viewed

 

Been to Gail's Tours of Nantucket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing