We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love Love Love!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottages at The Boat Basin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottages at The Boat Basin
Ranked #11 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Love Love Love!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the Loon cottage at the beginning of June and couldn't have loved it more. The two decks were fantastic, and we had to fight over who got the hammock on the lower deck. The half bath on the upper floor was great, especially with the whole family there. The staff was amazing, so friendly and helpful, plus we couldn't get enough of the dogs on staff (seriously we were heartbroken we didn't get a chance to say goodbye to Ellie when we left!) We loved that the cottage came with two bikes already, so we didn't need to beat other guests to the main stash of bikes. And obviously the views cannot be beat!

We cannot wait to stay here again. Of all the places we've stayed on the island this is by far our favorite!

Room Tip: The Loon was AMAZING. The two decks and the hammock make this one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dms622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear dms622 - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing this review. Hard to beat the hammock on the lower deck of Loon. Sorry you missed Ellie upon departure, rest assured she'll be here to greet you upon your return. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
69
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Loon cottage - several employees mentioned that it was their favorite. It's now our only place to stay when we return to Nantucket. Incredible views, comfortable bed, very well appointed kitchen and living space. Location is perfect. The staff is efficient and attentive. Spoil yourself and book your next trip to Nantucket here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DianeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear DianeC - Loon is one of the many favorites here at the Cottages and we're delighted you discovered it. Thank you for your kind comments about the Cottages and the team here, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comment regarding your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back! Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose the Cottages and Lofts at The Boat Basin for our recent visit to Nantucket primarily for the location but also because the unit could accommodate 5 of us which was preferable to 2 separate hotel rooms.

Our family arrived at the Hy-Line dock after a short stay in Martha's Vineyard and, as we were traveling with suitcases and bikes, at our request, we were met by one of the staff of the Cottages & Lofts on a golf cart. They drove our luggage to the reception area on the next wharf while we followed on our bikes. Very convenient.

The cottage assigned to us was named "Grampus" which my boys quickly renamed "Crampus." These cottages were built to house the wharf workers not families of 5 which include 3 very tall teenage boys! And while the cottages have been renovated with small kitchens, and somewhat modern furnishings, they are cramped. On the first floor, there was a very small bathroom, an open area with a small but adequate kitchen, a convertible sofa and a small round dining table with four chairs. Not conducive to a family dinner or movie night.

Fishing poles were provided by the concierge along with bait for 2 of my boys who wanted to fish off the wharf. No fish were caught but they had fun anyway! The concierge also had DVDs and games to lend their guests.

Up a very narrow staircase were 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with 2 twin beds. And a very small bathroom with one of the smallest sinks I have ever seen! But one of the best views out a bathroom window ever -- the harbor, ducks, yachts, seagulls -- all with total privacy!

We also had a small deck in the back with a round dining table which was lovely for wharf-side breakfast and evening cocktails.

Since we were only staying 2 nights, the cottage was fine. The supermarket is a 2-3 minute walk away and the town of Nantucket is practically at your doorstep, making walking to everything so easy.

The Cottages & Lofts provides a beach bus for those who need transportation to the beaches.

Overall, we had a lovely stay although I am not sure I would jam 5 of us in one of the cottages again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear elinmd - thank you for your comprehensive review and all of your feedback. Love the nickname for Grampus and that you had an enjoyable stay with your family. We hope to see you and your family again on a return visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a unique property with cottages located over several piers on the Nantucket Waterfront.

My cottage, the Young Hero, was small but very well appointed.

The air conditioning worked very well and kept the room comfortable.

The bed was very comfortable and had great pillows and a duvet.

There was a Nespresso coffee machine, a fridge, stove and small fridge as well as a small table for two.

It took a bit to get the TV working but it otherwise worked quite well.

There was no desk and the internet was quite slow, but at least it was free.

The bathroom was clear and everything worked well.

There is no restaurant associated with the cottages but staff was able to recommend a great local one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Seafoodtraveler - what a great review, straight forward and to the point. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin. We hope to see you again on a return visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I are on Nantucket constantly - every other week in the summer. Having stayed here before (8 years ago) and where it is a NIR property, we had high expectations. What we found in our one-bedroom cottage was simply a run down and outdated space. There was a single sofa to sit on in the living/kitchen area and it was so uncomfortable we couldn't even watch the news before bed (and there was no tv in the bedroom). The kitchen was probably okay when it was newly installed, but it reminded me of something you would find in a 'cabin' on a campground in NH that you can rent for $45/night. We though, 'okay, the view will make up for it' but the unit we were in only had tiny windows so the only way to enjoy the view was on the deck - which was spectacular once outside on - but you can't eat and relax on a narrow deck with only two simple chairs and not even an small table in between. We just expected so much more from a NIR property. If the bed was typical opulent pile of white down and the mile high feather bed on top of the luxury mattress we are used to from the White Elephant Inn and Residences (a sister property), we probably could have forgiven all else. It wasn't. And it sqeaked loudly when either of us moved an inch - all night long. My husband said he doesn't think he slept more than an hour. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. We want to encourage NIR to plan a major renovation of the cottages so we can look forward to going back.

The cleanliness rating was not because of the service people, but the rundown condition kept them from being able to clean it well. The dishwasher wasn't even able to be loaded, the dishes did not fit in it. We tried to help housekeeping before we checked out but couldn't because of what we had to work with.

All of the very pleasant people working there from the porter who met us at the ferry to the front desk folks - just fantastic.

Room Tip: White Elephant Inn and Residences - also a NIR property - is comparably priced and much more luxurio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nansully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Nansully - I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback as it is very important to us. We appreciate all your constructive comments as well as your encouraging feedback regarding our team. Thank you for staying with us. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We came to Nantucket on a warm spring day with all the trees in blossom. That, together with our stay at The Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin made my 2-day vacation on Nantucket just fantastic. The Cottages and Lofts has superb location close to the main street, lovely cottages, and warm and friendly staff. I was also visiting Bostion and New York, but it is Nantucket I tell my friends about.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tunafishOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear TunafishOslo - all of us at the Cottages and Lofts are happy to hear you enjoyed Nantucket and your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in mid-May at the Cottages, along with our standard poodle, Putter. Our suite on the second floor overlooked the bar on the little plaza just at the entrance to the ferry and docks. The three of us really enjoyed the people watching from the deck. The location could not have been better with the downtown area within easy walking distance, including the local supermarket. Each morning, early, Putter and I walked to Brant Beach and the lighthouse where he could have a good rum. Rented a car one day to drive around the island, stopping for walks along the beach, or a good hike. The staff at The Cottages were friendly and responsive. A question on our bill was resolved with no fuss. Easily five stars for us!

Room Tip: Might want to be careful about being too close to the bar on the plaza during the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at The Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mike C - thank you for sharing this review and thank you for the kind comments regarding our team here. Glad Putter had a good time as well. Hope to see you on a return visit to the island. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at The Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at The Boat Basin

Property: The Cottages at The Boat Basin
Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554-3834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages at The Boat Basin 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cottages at The Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing