We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Nearby Hotels
Nantucket Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
$478
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
76 Main(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Periwinkle B&B(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
$496
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Wauwinet(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
$775
$650
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
$895
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jared Coffin House(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
$460
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brass Lantern Inn(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherburne Inn Nantucket(Nantucket)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
124
32
10
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
32
10
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving room and kitchentraditional hotelin townawesome locationdog bedmy favorite placeprivate deckdinner reservationscan't wait to go backperfect place to staywe loved our staydowntown arealoftswharfbikeswoofdock
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 179 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a unique property with cottages located over several piers on the Nantucket Waterfront.

My cottage, the Young Hero, was small but very well appointed.

The air conditioning worked very well and kept the room comfortable.

The bed was very comfortable and had great pillows and a duvet.

There was a Nespresso coffee machine, a fridge, stove and small fridge as well as a small table for two.

It took a bit to get the TV working but it otherwise worked quite well.

There was no desk and the internet was quite slow, but at least it was free.

The bathroom was clear and everything worked well.

There is no restaurant associated with the cottages but staff was able to recommend a great local one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seafoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Seafoodtraveler - what a great review, straight forward and to the point. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin. We hope to see you again on a return visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I are on Nantucket constantly - every other week in the summer. Having stayed here before (8 years ago) and where it is a NIR property, we had high expectations. What we found in our one-bedroom cottage was simply a run down and outdated space. There was a single sofa to sit on in the living/kitchen area and it was so uncomfortable we couldn't even watch the news before bed (and there was no tv in the bedroom). The kitchen was probably okay when it was newly installed, but it reminded me of something you would find in a 'cabin' on a campground in NH that you can rent for $45/night. We though, 'okay, the view will make up for it' but the unit we were in only had tiny windows so the only way to enjoy the view was on the deck - which was spectacular once outside on - but you can't eat and relax on a narrow deck with only two simple chairs and not even an small table in between. We just expected so much more from a NIR property. If the bed was typical opulent pile of white down and the mile high feather bed on top of the luxury mattress we are used to from the White Elephant Inn and Residences (a sister property), we probably could have forgiven all else. It wasn't. And it sqeaked loudly when either of us moved an inch - all night long. My husband said he doesn't think he slept more than an hour. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. We want to encourage NIR to plan a major renovation of the cottages so we can look forward to going back.

The cleanliness rating was not because of the service people, but the rundown condition kept them from being able to clean it well. The dishwasher wasn't even able to be loaded, the dishes did not fit in it. We tried to help housekeeping before we checked out but couldn't because of what we had to work with.

All of the very pleasant people working there from the porter who met us at the ferry to the front desk folks - just fantastic.

Room Tip: White Elephant Inn and Residences - also a NIR property - is comparably priced and much more luxurious and peaceful. We are skipping the Cottages until they renovate. The cleanliness rating was not because of the service people, but the rundown condition kept them from being able to clean it well. The dishwasher wasn't even able to be loaded, the dishes did not fit in it. We tried to help housekeeping before we checked out but couldn't because of what we had to work with.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NancyShener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Nansully - I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback as it is very important to us. We appreciate all your constructive comments as well as your encouraging feedback regarding our team. Thank you for staying with us. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We came to Nantucket on a warm spring day with all the trees in blossom. That, together with our stay at The Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin made my 2-day vacation on Nantucket just fantastic. The Cottages and Lofts has superb location close to the main street, lovely cottages, and warm and friendly staff. I was also visiting Bostion and New York, but it is Nantucket I tell my friends about.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunafishOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear TunafishOslo - all of us at the Cottages and Lofts are happy to hear you enjoyed Nantucket and your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in mid-May at the Cottages, along with our standard poodle, Putter. Our suite on the second floor overlooked the bar on the little plaza just at the entrance to the ferry and docks. The three of us really enjoyed the people watching from the deck. The location could not have been better with the downtown area within easy walking distance, including the local supermarket. Each morning, early, Putter and I walked to Brant Beach and the lighthouse where he could have a good rum. Rented a car one day to drive around the island, stopping for walks along the beach, or a good hike. The staff at The Cottages were friendly and responsive. A question on our bill was resolved with no fuss. Easily five stars for us!

Room Tip: Might want to be careful about being too close to the bar on the plaza during the season.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Mike C - thank you for sharing this review and thank you for the kind comments regarding our team here. Glad Putter had a good time as well. Hope to see you on a return visit to the island. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I brought our toddler to Nantucket and we stayed at the Cottages. My parents also joined us for a few nights. Staying at the Cottages at Boat Basin was the best choice could have made. The location is perfect. It's right on the water and a stone's throw from the action on main street, children's beach, whaling museum, the grocery store, etc. It's about a 10 minute taxi drive from the airport. Also, there is a great restaurant/bar on the property called Slip 14 along with shops and so many beautiful boats to admire. We stayed in Meridian, which is a very family-friendly (bathtub, tons of open space to play, full kitchen with dishwasher, etc.) two-bedroom cottage on commercial wharf. It is the furthest wharf from the bars/restaurants/shops and is wonderfully calm and quiet. Each morning we watched the boats from our deck and fed the ducks. The staff at the Cottages is hardworking, friendly, and accommodating (especially Rosie!). The cottages themselves are well-maintained, clean, and charming. I cannot make enough wonderful comments about this place! My family and I will be back! Hopefully sooner than later.

My one recommendation would be to post detailed information and photos of each cottage so that people can make an informed decision on which cottage meets their needs. I had to dig around a bit to land on Meridian. I'm glad I did the research though; it worked out SO well.

Room Tip: Commercial wharf is the quiet wharf. Meridian is a lovely 2-bedroom with a great view and large/open family room. It works well for 4 adults and has a wonderful location. Meridian also has a bathtub, which was necessary for our toddler. It is a beautiful cottage. You won't be disappointed... that is, unless you require more than one bathroom. My friend stayed in Grampus (sp?) another 2 bedroom. Grampus is on the wharf where Slip 14 is located as well as the Hotel's reception office. It's has 1.5 bathrooms, which is great. The main room is small- kitchen and sitting area are all the same space but it has a wrap around porch with beautiful yacht views, a deck on the second floor, and a sitting space in front of its front door. Enough space for 4 adults to sleep, but not to hang out inside the cottage all day (why would you do that on Nantucket though?!).
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear PeachRH - all of us at the Cottages and Lofts are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing this review. We hope you get a chance to visit us again before the summer is over. Thanks again! Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews