We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Ranked #11 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

we just returned home, after 3 nights at Three Brothers, a 2 bedroom cottage right on the wharf at the Boat Basin. we, being a group of 2 couples, each with their dog, had a fabulous time! the staff is super....picked up our luggage from the ferry, loved our dogs, made dinner reservations for us, and gave us an extended check-out to accommodate our ferry departure time . great kitchen, keurig coffee, tiny, but functional. very comfortable beds, fabulous views from the front patio.....watching the boats in the harbor, sunrises on the water. great location--only a 2 minute walk to main street.

i would have titled this review "absolutely perfect" if the cottage had some hooks on the wall or doors to hold towels/robes. we will definitely return, maybe after a stop at the hardware store.

Room Tip: go on-line to see the site plan. if the complaining commenters had done that, they might have known...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capecodbob41545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear capecodbob41545 - thank you for sharing this review. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your idea for hooks on the wall is great, thank you for the suggestion. Also, great Room Tip: our website has a map and floor plans for each Cottage and Loft so that interested parties can see the specifics of each indiviual unit. Hope to see you again on a return visit to the island. Kind regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
69
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I found this place on the internet and booked it based on someone else's review. And boy am I glad I did. We stayed in the Crow's Nest a second floor loft with a 360 degree of the harbor. And the interior was almost as nice as the view. The place was very well put together, clean spacious and convenient to everything in downtown. But...but; the shining quality of this place was its people. When I got there, the young lady behind the desk, spent 15 minutes going over the amenities, showing me on a map good place to eat, providing us with popcorn for our evening free movie checkouts, crayons and coloring books for our grandkids, candy, coupons for around town, mink coats, diamonds...okay maybe not diamonds, but by the time we left for our room, we were overloaded with goodies and kind words from our hostess. We stayed 3 nights and we're contemplating forwarding our mail, when our time was up too soon. We will definitely be back for more next spring and look forward to the fresh sea air wafting through our room.

Room Tip: Spend the extra couple bucks and get the Crow's Nest! The porch outside is perfect for sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamDork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear TeamDork - we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments, especially about the team we have in place at The Cottages! Great to hear your thinking of a return trip next spring, we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently stayed at a beautiful cottage (Aurora) over Labor Day near Straight Wharf and I can't say enough good things about my experience. I've also stayed at this cottage a couple years ago for Christmall Stroll & have stayed at a smaller loft (Phebe) right where the Hy-line ferry comes in numerous times over the past 6 years. The staff is amazing & so accommodating, they will bring you to & from your ferry in a golf cart, they have a fun beach bus as well as discounts for local restaurants. The cottage is impeccably clean, very modern, has all the ameneties you need (coffee/tea/washer & dryer/hair dryer/ipod docking stations/bath products) and I will continue to come back for years to come. The location is perfect being right in town, amazing views of the harbor & the staff is truly genuine, so friendly and will help you with booking restaurant reservations or any other travel arrangements that you need. It is my favorite place to stay on this beautiful island!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BYC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear BYC78: thank you for the kind comments and for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. All of us at the Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you on a return visit Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Would you stay in a room over a bar and busy kitchen (in Boston, Gloucester, Newport)? Probably not in Nantucket either if you knew about the large industrial kitchen fan that vibrates the entire room (avi not up-loadable to demonstrate water bottle moving about counter top), or the pic ante of a kitchen grill (fish of course) both inside the room and on the balcony, and a complete lack of sleep courtesy of the bar (with cigarette smoke and loud voices) until the wee hours. Then it starts all over again with a garbage truck at 7 a.m.to service the already humming kitchen preparing for lunch and the coming evening.
Moreover the staff really do not care…we arrived in the pouring rain with no help with bags…a blocked stairway (dogs, bowls, blankets from the bar) and left without so much as a how was your stay? We were booked for three days and stayed less than 20 hrs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Deb D - I urgently would like to talk with you regarding your review. Please contact me at 508-638-2332 or jstorey@niresorts.com - thank you, Jim Storey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
327 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at the Basin and really enjoyed our time. It is different then most places in that check in is a small shack with a front desk. The cottages line up and down the marina. The cottages are quiet quaint. We had the one bedroom with a small kitchen and bath. Although small, it was perfect size for my wife and I. They provide coffee/tea through the single serving machine.
The service was great. They have a van that will take you to beach and provide beach chairs, umbrella, football,(and other toys) and cooler for your time at the beach. They will pick you up in Golf Cart at the Ferry as long as it is Hyline. They provide reservations and the concierges are very helpful(have to call as they don't really have them at front desk).....We loved that we could take our dog and Nantucket is very dog friendly(even on the beaches without life guards and with a leashed at beaches with lifeguards). Walking up and down the marina and looking at the boats was fantastic as there were several 75 to 100 footers.....It is on the pricey side 400 - 600 so just be prepared but otherwise would recommend a different type of lodging experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnPM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear JPM098 - thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing this review. We appreciate your kind comments and are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again on a return visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited Boston, the Cape and Nantucket last fall for my genealogical research, but also for a second honeymoon for my husband and I. We sought a romantic hideaway, but within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants around the harbor. The Cottages and Lofts worked out perfectly for us! We booked a loft, and received a terrific mid-week special rate. The loft felt like home away from home (though be prepared for steep stairs- about 2 stories worth) set directly above boats and yachts quietly coming and going from the docks... The views, as high as we were, were heavenly. We could see the town, the neighborhoods and their magnificent houses, the sea.... and watched a seal play and fish just below us. It was a feast for the senses... and were impressed by the amenities, terrific bed, modern décor, the beautiful, new kitchen.... We sat and sipped wine on our private deck under the moonlight and felt all alone... It seemed like it must be the most quiet place we'd been to maybe ever in our lives. This was an amazing first experience of Nantucket, and we traversed as much as we could by foot! You can take advantage of all the special features this property offers (a bus for getting around? we never tried but it would've been nice for exploring more...) and we would LOVE to return, hoping to stay at the Lofts again soon!

Room Tip: A loft on the 2nd floor was perfect for us, as a couple. We loved the gorgeous views and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFleure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear JFleure - thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves especially on such a special occasion. Hope you can return to Nantucket and the Cottages and Lofts again soon. Regards, Jim Storey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights. Service was warm and friendly and location was fantastic. The accommodations are unique over water cottages with lovely balconies overlooking the Marina. We had been warned beforehand that our particular room was in a busy part of the marina and could be noisy - they were right, but since we had been forewarned it really didn't bother us. Noise was mostly from the bar next door so we really only heard it on the Saturday night.

We found that we could walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go and used the complimentary hotel shuttle a couple of times. Actually one time we asked to use the shuttle but the driver wasn't available so the hotel ordered and paid for a taxi for us - we thought that was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Next time we will probably ask for a room further down the marina away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breezer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brihgid R, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottages! The Beach Bus is certainly one of our most popular amenities - I am glad that you took advantage of it!

Kind Regards,
Brihgid Rogers
Innkeeper
The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin

Property: The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin offer a front row view of the island's natural wonder. Enjoy waterfront cottages and lofts with decks and harbor views, kitchens, free Wi-Fi, bicycles, a beach bus and pet friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing