We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hideaway at it's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin
Ranked #14 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited Boston, the Cape and Nantucket last fall for my genealogical research, but also for a second honeymoon for my husband and I. We sought a romantic hideaway, but within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants around the harbor. The Cottages and Lofts worked out perfectly for us! We booked a loft, and received a terrific mid-week special rate. The loft felt like home away from home (though be prepared for steep stairs- about 2 stories worth) set directly above boats and yachts quietly coming and going from the docks... The views, as high as we were, were heavenly. We could see the town, the neighborhoods and their magnificent houses, the sea.... and watched a seal play and fish just below us. It was a feast for the senses... and were impressed by the amenities, terrific bed, modern décor, the beautiful, new kitchen.... We sat and sipped wine on our private deck under the moonlight and felt all alone... It seemed like it must be the most quiet place we'd been to maybe ever in our lives. This was an amazing first experience of Nantucket, and we traversed as much as we could by foot! You can take advantage of all the special features this property offers (a bus for getting around? we never tried but it would've been nice for exploring more...) and we would LOVE to return, hoping to stay at the Lofts again soon!

Room Tip: A loft on the 2nd floor was perfect for us, as a couple. We loved the gorgeous views and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFleure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear JFleure - thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves especially on such a special occasion. Hope you can return to Nantucket and the Cottages and Lofts again soon. Regards, Jim Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights. Service was warm and friendly and location was fantastic. The accommodations are unique over water cottages with lovely balconies overlooking the Marina. We had been warned beforehand that our particular room was in a busy part of the marina and could be noisy - they were right, but since we had been forewarned it really didn't bother us. Noise was mostly from the bar next door so we really only heard it on the Saturday night.

We found that we could walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go and used the complimentary hotel shuttle a couple of times. Actually one time we asked to use the shuttle but the driver wasn't available so the hotel ordered and paid for a taxi for us - we thought that was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Next time we will probably ask for a room further down the marina away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breezer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brihgid R, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottages! The Beach Bus is certainly one of our most popular amenities - I am glad that you took advantage of it!

Kind Regards,
Brihgid Rogers
Innkeeper
The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We are returning patrons of The Cottages and stayed at Meridian for the first time this recent visit. I think I'm in love with this cottage! The large open living area and sliding glass doors opening to the deck overlooking the marina was just paradise to wake up to each morning. Our dog loved it too! I can't say enough about the cleanliness of this property as we have stayed in many pet friendly places in the past and this surpasses them all by far. Rain or shine, there is never a lack of things to do on the island. Can't wait for our next trip! When's the ferry leaving?...

Room Tip: Cottages on the cobblestone street behind Swain's Wharf are the quietest and more private as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmzkmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brihgid R, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Cottages on Tripadvisor! I am pleased to hear that you loved your accommodations in Meridian. Our housekeepers take such pride in the cleanliness of their rooms and the comfort of their guests & furry friends- your review brought a smile to all of our faces here at the Cottages! We are proud to be listed as one of the top 10 pet friendly hotels in the United States. Our staff is comprised of lighthearted, energetic pet-lovers!

We hope to welcome you and your pooch back soon!

Kind Regards,
Brihgid Rogers
Innkeeper
The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the second we stepped off the ferry we were taken care of by the Cottages & Lofts staff. Picked up in a van, taken to check in and directed to our cottage (Catawba) located on Straight Wharf right behind the Gazebo it was the perfect location for us 20-somethings. Walkable from the best bars and restaurants on the island we didn't have to worry about renting a car to get around or even calling a cab since we were in the heart of the fun! 3 BR cottage for 3 couples was perfect, 2 full bathrooms and a full kitchen (we cooked one night and all the amenities were there). Highly recommended for a weekend filled with fun (and wine!!) on Nantucket.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brihgid R, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I am so glad that you had such a nice time in our Catawba loft. The lofts at our property are such perfectly placed hidden gems, aren't they? Many do not realize that we offer lofts on top of Vineyard Vines, The Black Dog Shop, the Provisions shop behind the Gazebo, and even on top of the Hyline office on Strait Wharf!

Thank you for staying with us- We sure hope to see you back!

Kind Regards,
Brihgid Rogers
Innkeeper
The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a week in Kittiwake cottage with our two adult children, and we all had a wonderful time. The cottage is at the end of the wharf and has a great view of the harbour. It's an easy walk to shops and restaurants, and there are bicycles available. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The two bedrooms are on the lower level and the upper level is accessed by a narrow spiral staircase which could be difficult for some people. The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Our stay at the Boat Basin was a really different and fun experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brihgid R, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the Cottages & Lofts! I am so happy to hear that you loved Kittywake. It's such a unique upside down styled cottage -the living rooms placement on the 2nd floor certainly offers a spectacular ocean view for the whole family to enjoy.

Kind Regards,
Brihgid Rogers
Innkeeper
The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location is absolutely perfect - though I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a relaxed/quiet getaway. You're in the middle of all of the fun - but that also means hearing it (they do thoughtfully provide ear plugs!). The Crows Nest is beautifully decorated and central to it all - that said the three flight climb up can be a little challenging after a few beverages so be careful of that. The patio offers gorgeous views of the harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brihgid R, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Cottages! I am so happy that you enjoyed Crows Nest- it is a personal favorite of mine! Once you master the stairs on up you are certainly in for a treat, as it is one of the best views on the island.

I hope to see you again on the Crows Nest porch in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Brihgid Rogers
Innkeeper
The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

To celebrate our 10-year anniversary, my boyfriend and I took a vacation to one of our favorite places, Nantucket. Every time we have visited the Island, we have stayed at the Cottages and Lofts at the Boat Basin....they never disappoint. We enjoy being right on the water and seeing all the boats....it is the most tranquil and beautiful place on the Island, in my opinion. We arrived on 5/27 and got one of our favorite cottages, Willet. We have only stayed at Willet and Rambler, and love them both. When we walked in it was quite warm.....could swear the heat was on. We quickly fixed that. This was the first time we experienced using the Keuring coffeemaker. So nice and easy. Love having a full kitchen, utensils and microwave. Love the big screen TV and mostly loved the queen size bed. I only wish they would fix up the bathroom floor a bit....quite a bit worn and stained....otherwise, our 4 nights were heavenly and we look forward to coming back HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nydeb413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brihgid R, Manager at The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you so very much for your review of the Cottages. We are so happy that you chose to spend your 10th anniversary with us! It is such a beautiful spot to relax out on the cottage porch and take in the beautiful Nantucket scenery. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom floor and will be discussing future renovations with our management team.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your 11th Anniversary next year!

Kind Regards,
Brihgid Rogers
Innkeeper
The Cottages & Lofts at the Boat Basin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
202 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin

Address: 24 Old South Wharf, Nantucket, MA 02554-3834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $197 - $852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin offer a front row view of the island's natural wonder. Enjoy waterfront cottages and lofts with decks and harbor views, kitchens, free Wi-Fi, bicycles, a beach bus and pet friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Cottages at Nantucket Boat Basin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Boat Basin Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing