We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute inn in a great location...”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #17 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute inn in a great location...”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This inn is in a great location, right in the middle of everything but still very quiet. My friends and I had a bottom floor room (larger bed) and an upstairs room (smaller bed). Both were small but comfortable. The inn was quaint and the owners kind. All in all, a great deal to spend a weekend in Nantucket.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
58
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

At Hawthorn House we were in easy walking distance to the ferries, shops and restaurants.
It is an old house with very steep and narrow staircases..Lord help you if you stay on the third floor.
The propriators were very nice and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentlearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I stayed at Hawthorn house last month for a weekend. The place is nice and the owners even nicer.

I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mclawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

After viewing dozens of inns on the Island we selected the Hawthorn House based on the pics from their website. We arrived at the house just after lunch time and were well "unpleasantly" suprised as the exterior was yes old but needed some touch ups. Paint was peeling and the appearance of "needing some TLC" abounded. Anyway the innkeeper was friendly and helpful. Our room to the right of the innkeepers office offered a private porch, well private with the exception of the two drunk married couples that decided to argue on our porch at 2am. Otherwise the room was "ok" but needed some updating. Although clean it had the appearance of needing to be cleaned again. At 250 per nite I would have hoped for a little more. Without a kitchen/breakfast offering we were given 2 x 9 dollar vouchers for two restaurants downtown. being centrally located and the best part of the "inn" we ate at both places. To put it this way... 18 dollars does not cover, coffee, pancakes & juice. We ended up dropping another 25-30 bucks and were even charged for syrup, butter and coffee refills. Anyhoo... Next time I will look for another place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for taking your valuable time to give the Hawthorn House a favorable review. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you visit Nantucket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Last week I finished my fifth consecutive three week stay at the charming Hawthorn House, which is a lovely and extremely well maintained 1849 inn. In fact, I have already booked my next three week vacation for August 2010. The common areas as well as all the rooms are well appointed, with lovely antiques as well as artwork from various Nantucket artists. Additionally, there are all the modern conveniences including a small refrigerator in each room, tv, and wifi service.

Diane and Mitch Carl are excellent innkeepers, who always have a ready smile and plenty of good advice should one need it for all the activities and restaurants on the island. Any small issues (such as requesting an additional towel or needing a beach blanket) are handled immediately and with good grace.

I would HIGHLY recommend anyone staying at the Hawthorn House, whether it is a single traveller, couple, or family. You will be very happy and satisfied in a lovely room, with friendly service and pleasant public areas. Additionally, you will be in the middle of historic downtown Nantcket...what could be better than all that?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonDoctorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Just returned from a much needed vacation--my partner and I were SO pleased with our stay at the Hawthorn House. The rooms were quaint, a beautiful hodgepodge of antique furniture and art. In an industry where it is easy to subscribe to a generic template for decor, these rooms are full of personality! Best of all, however, is the management. The owners are extremely helpful and accommodating; I felt like family! I've been coming to Nantucket my whole life, and have stayed in many different sorts of lodgings, but this is by far my favorite for its personality and charm!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dighton, MA
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was our second stay at Hawthorn House and was again very happy with our choice.
It is about cleanliness and location. We did more research for our second stay and Hawthorn House was at the top as far as location and price. The owners were as gracious and accommodating as the first time. The rooms are very comfortable and the cleanliness is outstanding. It is on a quiet street, however, you are less than a 5 minute walk to Main Street and the docks. Great for shopping and dining. We will continue to stay at Hawthorn House any time we venture to the great island of Nantucket.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linlee122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vanessa Noel Hotel
Vanessa Noel Hotel
#13 of 14 in Nantucket
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#21 of 38 in Nantucket
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Property: Hawthorn House
Address: 2 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3507
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing