We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #17 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
North Dighton, MA
1 review
“The best of the best”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was our second stay at Hawthorn House and was again very happy with our choice.
It is about cleanliness and location. We did more research for our second stay and Hawthorn House was at the top as far as location and price. The owners were as gracious and accommodating as the first time. The rooms are very comfortable and the cleanliness is outstanding. It is on a quiet street, however, you are less than a 5 minute walk to Main Street and the docks. Great for shopping and dining. We will continue to stay at Hawthorn House any time we venture to the great island of Nantucket.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linlee122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    27
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
56
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I had decided to take a weekend away from it all away from all the hustle and bustle of daily life as a Mom and business owner. It was spontainious and well deserved. My husband and I stay on Nantucket 2x a year. We've stayed at alot of the up scale B&B's that are well worth the price but this time I really wanted to stay at a place in town and different than I'm used to. I found Hawthorn House on the web. It looked perfect. My room was #2. When I got there I noticed a little walk way leading to a couple of chairs and a small screen door. I saw on the outside a sign reading "cubbyhole" I asked the gracious inn owners, Mitch and Diann,lovely couple, if I could see the cubbyhole. They said of course. When Diann opened the door I was in love with it. It awas perfect for my little stay. The rooms were super clean. Mitch andDiann were very accomidating and helpful. I will come back when I want some quality time to myself. It was a gem. Iwould have to say the only small drawback was having a hard time connecting to the internet. I'm sure if I brought it to their attention they would have helped. It wasnt that important.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcajewela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Natucket was on our "Bucket List" and since we only had a few days we wanted to stay right in town. We left our car in Hyannis and were able to walk from the Steamship Authority dock to the Hawthorn. We walked to all the shops, resaurants and many historic sites. We were in and out all day dropping off shopping, changing clothes and resting up for more.

Our reasonably priced rooms were bright, attractive and not overly frilly. With the money we saved we had lots of chowder and lobster at Sayle's Seafood. The breakfast option was great and we particularly loved the blueberry stuffed french toast at Arno's.

If you are looking for a sleepy "tea and cookies in the afternoon" B&B you better stay out of town. If you are upright and mobile, active and inquisitive you should stay in town at the Hawthorn. We are 68 and glad we chose the latter. Nantucket is back at the bottom of our list. Hopefully we'll make it back to the Hawthorn.

  • Liked — Location and price.
  • Disliked — Limited space for socializing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmymac328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Although our stay was only one night, we found the Hawthorn House to be a great place to stay. The inn was convenient to everything downtown- close to the ferries, all the shops and restaurants. The room was cute and we felt a great sense of privacy; our room (#2) even had a little porch with rocking chairs, which made up for a lack of indoor common space. Definitely would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank smapdi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My Husband and I stayed at the Hawthorn House two weeks ago. It was our first trip to Nantucket and we were blown away by this little gem of an island.
The location of the Hawthorn House can't be beat. It is walking distance to everything in town. I mean it is right there. That said it can be noisy but we put the fan on in the air conditioner and we heard nothing from that point on. We stayed in room 3 which is one of the larger rooms on the second floor. It was quite spacious and we had a King bed. I have to say the bed was the only downside, it was extremely uncomfortable for me. It is either really old or not very high quality or both. My Husband was fine with it though so it may be fine for some. All things equal it was a great value and location in Nantucket.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cheriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man-from-Nantucket, owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, September 30, 2008
The bed in question was purchased in 2005.
Both the boxsprings and mattress were replaced at that time. The model is a Serta Perfect Sleeper Five Star Hotel series.

Honestly, this is the very first complaint we have received regarding this bed, Most people who sleep on it tell us it was the ..."best nights sleep they've had in a long time. " That being said. We always buy extra firm matteresses because most of our clients prefer them. Maybe this was the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We just returned from our stay on Nantucket Island having stayed at The Hawthorne House. The accommodations were very beautiful and homey and the decor was absolutely exquisite. The innkeepers Mitch and Diane were very accommodating and helpful making our visit to Nantucket a very enjoyable one.
We will be recommending the Hawthorne House to our family and friends. We have stayed at many B & B's over the years and we must say that this was the best by far.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Cycliststwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2008

My friend and I arrived on Sunday afternoon and were met by one of the owners. This is our second time staying at the Hawthrone House and for the second time we were very impressed with the service and the room. If there was any problem, it was addressed right away.


We had a more than comfortable room w/ a bathroom and the porch on the side of the house is perfect for an afternoon nap ,reading or relaxing. We especially liked the nine dollar breakfast coupons to two great restaurants on Main Street.

We highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a charming Nantucket Bed and Breakfast located close to the center of town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank awesome123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Roberts House
The Roberts House
#18 of 38 in Nantucket
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Property: Hawthorn House
Address: 2 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3507
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing