We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmospheric” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hawthorn House
Ranked #18 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

If you're looking for a place to experience Nantucket in an atmosphere of simpler times, Hawthorn House is the place for you. My husband and I enjoyed our 3 night stay here in mid-September and the quirkiness of the Cubbyhole was pitch perfect for us - just the right amount of modern convenience while maintaining character and charm of days gone by.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
55
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Arrived on the 21st for our daughters wedding and were met by the owners Mitch and Diane Carl along with their dog,Rue. They were very helpful in getting us acclamated to the island and offered a few helpful money saving tips. We had an opportunity to see all the rooms as our friends and relatives took up all the rooms. They were quite nice with many antique furnishings the beds were quite comfotable and the rooms were very clean. Also, the location of the inn is central to everything shops restaurants the Whaling Museum gallerys the wharf etc. The weather was overcast and cool and the wedding turned out great which was at the White Elephant which you should take a walk to see.You should also go to the Whaling Museum which was quite informative as well as take a short tour of the island.
I would highly recommend the Hawthorn House.
Burt Kelman 9-26-11

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I would absolutely recommend the Hawthorn House. It is a very pretty building with 3 floors, and the rooms are all different and very nice. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. It is also right downtown all along the pretty cobblestone roads. The breakfast voucher was muchly appreciated, and we dined at Arno's which we loved! Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEC921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We love staying at Hawthorn House because of their extremely convenient location....a short walk from the ferry and literally around the corner from the downtown attractions, shops and restaurants....yet it is located on a quiet, peaceful street. Mitch and Diane are gracious hosts who know the island well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I have been coming to Nantucket for over 40 years. I have owned houses, been a house guest and stayed in many of the Inns and hotels.
on July Fourth weekend I stayed (my first time) at the Hawthorn House, and most importantly in the Cubby Hole. Loved it! The room is totally separate and detached from the rest of the rest of the Inn- very private, very cute, a big room with a kitchen and little sitting area. The Inn keepers were fantastic. Most inn keepers on ACK get a bit cranky on really crowded weekends. Not our hosts. Helpful, Happy, and just plain accommodating. They were even instrumental in helping me receive a critical FedEx package. The Inn is dead in the middle of town but on a quiet street - Location is perfect. this place is great and will now be the first call I make whenever I need a room on Nantucket!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidWeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I visit the island almost every summer and have stayed at many Inns/Lodgings and Hawthorn House is the best of all. The central location and being on a quiet side street was a bonus, Service was excellent The price was reasonable and the accommodations were comfortable and superbly kept. I plan to be in room 2 the same weekend next June! I better be careful so that the best kept secret on island doesn't become too popular!
Jean Bailey

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I travel frequently to Nantucket Island and always enjoy my accommodations at the Hawthorn House. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with a variety of paintings, lamps, and antiques. And the showers have excellent water pressure with plenty of hot water. There is a nice porch with rocking chairs and also a lovely backyard sitting area. Although I am sharing the house with other guests I feel that I have my privacy. The breakfast voucher that the Carls give are a great treat with your choice of two very nice restaurants that offer a variety of options. It is a pleasure to be in the heart of the town because I can walk to the restaurants, shops, wharves and many other charming points of interest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liserdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Property: Hawthorn House
Address: 2 Chestnut St., Nantucket, MA 02554
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing