We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this B & B”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #18 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I would absolutely recommend the Hawthorn House. It is a very pretty building with 3 floors, and the rooms are all different and very nice. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. It is also right downtown all along the pretty cobblestone roads. The breakfast voucher was muchly appreciated, and we dined at Arno's which we loved! Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEC921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We love staying at Hawthorn House because of their extremely convenient location....a short walk from the ferry and literally around the corner from the downtown attractions, shops and restaurants....yet it is located on a quiet, peaceful street. Mitch and Diane are gracious hosts who know the island well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I have been coming to Nantucket for over 40 years. I have owned houses, been a house guest and stayed in many of the Inns and hotels.
on July Fourth weekend I stayed (my first time) at the Hawthorn House, and most importantly in the Cubby Hole. Loved it! The room is totally separate and detached from the rest of the rest of the Inn- very private, very cute, a big room with a kitchen and little sitting area. The Inn keepers were fantastic. Most inn keepers on ACK get a bit cranky on really crowded weekends. Not our hosts. Helpful, Happy, and just plain accommodating. They were even instrumental in helping me receive a critical FedEx package. The Inn is dead in the middle of town but on a quiet street - Location is perfect. this place is great and will now be the first call I make whenever I need a room on Nantucket!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidWeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I visit the island almost every summer and have stayed at many Inns/Lodgings and Hawthorn House is the best of all. The central location and being on a quiet side street was a bonus, Service was excellent The price was reasonable and the accommodations were comfortable and superbly kept. I plan to be in room 2 the same weekend next June! I better be careful so that the best kept secret on island doesn't become too popular!
Jean Bailey

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I travel frequently to Nantucket Island and always enjoy my accommodations at the Hawthorn House. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with a variety of paintings, lamps, and antiques. And the showers have excellent water pressure with plenty of hot water. There is a nice porch with rocking chairs and also a lovely backyard sitting area. Although I am sharing the house with other guests I feel that I have my privacy. The breakfast voucher that the Carls give are a great treat with your choice of two very nice restaurants that offer a variety of options. It is a pleasure to be in the heart of the town because I can walk to the restaurants, shops, wharves and many other charming points of interest.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liserdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Beautiful weather combined with a comfortable guest house in the heart of town.If being able to walk to everything and getting a great night sleep is on your agenda, the Hawthorn House is the perfect stop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I loved the feel of this place as well as our warm and gracious innkeeper Diane. The staff member who was on duty in the evening was extrememly helpful and courteous as well. For a reasonable rate in Nantucket, I was concerned about the quality of our inn but to my great relief, the place was very clean and charming with great care and attention to details from the quality of the bedding to the original artwork throughout.
It is a smallish Inn and does not provide coffee or coffee makers in the rooms but I loved the fact that you could stroll out your door and be a quick walk from most everything in the morning and does include 9$ vouchers for breakfast a couple of blocks away. We would definitely stay here again upon our return. A cozy gem.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cspunky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#16 of 38 in Nantucket
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chestnut House
Chestnut House
#21 of 38 in Nantucket
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 2 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3507
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $138 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing