We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”
Review of 76 Main

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
76 Main
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
2 reviews
“Oasis”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It's rare when you find an inn that has so much character and personality. The welcoming and friendly nature of innkeepers Dan and Korin Matter is unique. Korin is great with her homemade breakfast items and Dan wears lots of hats as well as making a really nice cup of coffee. It must be the restaurant background.
Our room was very comfortable and proved to be a nice tv venue for The Bruins beating up on the Red Wings while it rained outside.
We've already booked our return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We so appreciate your lovely review and recommendation. It sounds like Korin and Dan took great care of you during a day of rain and that you greatly enjoyed our Nantucket boutique hotel's welcoming decor. Our goal is to make you feel like you are visiting the upscale Nantucket home of a friend, and it sounds like we succeeded! It is great hear that you've already booked your next visit. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
162
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at 76 Main Street for the Christmas stroll in December 2013. We had stayed here in previous years before it had new ownership and was renovated. They did a great job with the renovation. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and had plenty of seating. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The location was very convenient to the shops. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath5181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourself at our Nantucket boutique hotel during Christmas Stroll. Our new decor and great new staff would love to welcome you back for the 2014 season. Please come visit us again as soon as you are able. We have some great deals right now in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I am a global event planner-I like to preface my reviews-because I have an in depth knowledge of high end hotels, travel, events & the service industry. Since I loved 76 main, my tiny tiny but awesome room at the top and especially the managers Scott and Katie I couldn't wait to rebook.Lark (management company) ruined it all.Katie and Scott have left, the first big Lark mistake-managers that anticipate your needs and make reservations for you without you asking are rare in this business.Next mistake-I had been given a $30 credit to come back to Lark and there was a deal online I received via email from them.I tried to book really early for august 2014-October 2013 & I was told by the head of Lark Rob- I "couldn't use the deal" when I wanted to book- even though I wanted to book 3 nights-exactly as the deal said,there were no blackout dates or expiration or limits on it-and that I could only use my $30 as a credit back AFTER I paid.My favorite part was the tiny tiny room I wanted to book apparently went up in price by $80/night (a huge jump for a b & b in a matter of months) -only that room-"because people liked it last year"-but I was only notified of all of this once I had my booking in and room held-plus the website was still showing the original price. All of this is appalling and more than that underhanded and a sure way to drive business away.In this industry the main objective especially in high end- is return guests.Lark hotels will never see me or any of my many clients and contacts again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Dara22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robblood, CEO Lark Hotels at 76 Main, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Dara22 and other potential guests reading this review,

Being in the hospitality business, we always hope to meet or exceed expectations and the bottom line is that we want to make people happy. We go to great lengths to be flexible and accommodate guest requests. We regret that Dara22 will not be staying with us at 76 Main in the 2014 season after having such a positive experience with us in our inaugural season. We very much value input from our past guests and we worked with Dara via phone and email to resolve the items that she brings up in this email. Katie and Scott were wonderful managers and they are off on new adventures for 2014. We are lucky enough to have a talented and deep pool of caring innkeepers within Lark Hotels. Our 2015 hosts, Dan and Korin will bring a warmth and service focus to 76 Main that will be sure to impress.

In regards to the rate and the special that Dara22 mentions: It is true that we have had a rate increase in 2014 (after our inaugural season at below-market rates) and that we reclassified one of our guest rooms based on guest and management feedback. That said, we did have another room available for Dara22's stay that would have been closer to the rate she had hoped to pay. The account of the "Lark Card" or "credit" is absolutely correct. In 2013, every guest that stayed at a Lark Hotel was offered a $30 off card that would be redeemable, "at check-in" for a future stay…our only condition is that it must be presented at check-in and cannot be redeemed over the phone. This may be old fashioned but we don't feel that it is unfair.


The special offer that Dara22 is referring to was sent out by email in September 2013, offering 20% off for reservations of 3 nights or longer. The conditions, laid out in the offer email were as follows:

"Extend your summer deal* August may be passing into memory, but that doesn't mean summer has to be over. Extend the season with a September getaway to Newport or Nantucket. Stay two nights midweek(Sunday-Thursday) at either The Attwater or 76 Main and get 10% off your room rate. Stay 3 nights or more and get 20% off. " *New reservations only. Not valid with any other offer. Available midweeks (Sunday-Thursday) only September 3-30, 2013. Subject to availability. Must mention at the time of booking or enter "EXTEND" in the notes section when booking online."

All of this was discussed during the phone call. In fact, we were more than willing to honor the rate of $333 a night that was guaranteed at the time of booking in October. We were, however unable to lower the room cost to $269, which was the request. At the end of the day we offered to asset Dara22 in her search for other accommodations on Nantucket. Again, we regret that we were unable to accommodate this guest's request and hope that she finds other suitable lodging on the Island.

If any reader has questions about this review, I welcome you to reach out to me directly at rob@larkhotels.com

Sincerely,
Rob Blood
CEO and Founder | Lark Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were sent here by another Inn owner over the thanksgiving weekend. We come to the island this time every year for over 20 years. Room 1 was nice, but you do ave all traffic fron the inn goin by your door. Continental b'fast ok on Saturday, but NO ONE( managers) was around on Sunday check out day. Nothing in kitchen was prepared, we had to go out for b'fast. Had a wonderful cooked b'fast at THE MET ON MAIN, a little pricy but better than nothing. Got back to inn at 0915A
Still no kitchen set up, very disappointing for the price. Will probably go to another Inn next year.

Room Tip: No fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jfmipak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the beauty of Room 1. However, we terribly sorry for your experience on Sunday. One of our managers did not appear for breakfast on time on his scheduled day. He did follow up with all guests by email offering to reimburse the cost of your breakfast out, and we hope you will take him up on the offer. Again, we apologize and hope you will give us the opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln RI 02865
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

First off, excellent boutique hotel. The people running it are great. Could they have done something above and beyond, most definitely. We arrived on the Nov. 14th for 1 night . The hotel had 4 rooms occupied that day, granted we did not book the most expensive rooms in the house but it would have been nice to upgrade to a little bigger room when you have 17 unoccupied rooms with nobody using. We had 2 rooms and we did not want to seem pushy at the upgrade idea.That 's what should have been done . But it wasn't ,so be it. Great location, very clean. All the extras that make it fine. Nice little breakfast ,juice, coffee, muffins ,bagels ,cereal,and fruit. Nice touch. Next time maybe and upgrade at this time of season?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamerica34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so pleased that you found our Nantucket boutique hotel to be excellent and that you enjoyed the service of our exceptional managers. While we encourage guests to book the room that they want in advance, we do sometimes offer upgrades as part of special packages. To ensure that you receive an upgrade upon a future stay, we invite you to join our "On a Lark" Club. Members not only receive free upgrades (when available) at 76 Main, but at all Lark Hotels in New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Definitely the place to stay in Nantucket. Easy access to the ferry. Small hotel with beautiful rooms. Recently remolded. Stayed the Sunday of stroll weekend. Nice breakfast. Great staff!
Will definitely stay here the next time we are in Nantucket.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clover1646745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic review and for calling our boutique hotel "THE" place to stay on Nantucket. That is a wonderful compliment. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our designer decor, plus the easy access to the ferry and all the shops and restaurants of downtown Nantucket. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family recently stayed at 76 Main Street in Nantucket for the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. We felt the Inn was meticulously maintained, that the three rooms we reserved were comfortable and nicely decorated and that the staff were pleasant and accomodated any needs. The Inn is situated on a lovely street close to town shopping and resturaunts. A highlight of the trip was meeting Vice President Biden and several of his secret service staff who were in Nantucket for the holiday. In addition, we found all aspects of this community (retailors, resturaunt staff, ferry personnel) to be friendly and welcoming. We will look forward to a future stay at the Inn and would highly recommend it to potential guests.

Room Tip: I believe any room located at the Inn would be a good choice. Personally, I would not want to be pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBellardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are so pleased that you chose our Nantucket boutique hotel for your family's Thanksgiving getaway. It is gratifying to read your compliments on 76 Main being "meticulously maintained" and your praise for our decor and service. Thank you for your kind words and may you have a joyous holiday season. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 76 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 76 Main

Property: 76 Main
Address: 76 Main St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 76 Main 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit and discover an impeccably designed Nantucket boutique hotel offering exceptional rooms and amenities; the ultimate relaxing “Nantucket getaway” courtyard; an all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and exceptional (yet unobtrusive) service. Located in a landmark neighborhood in the heart of town, this luxury Nantucket hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation. Book now and be one of the first to experience the comfortably refined sophistication of this intimately sized and design-driven boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 76 Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
76 Main Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing