We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 76 Main Nantucket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 76 Main Nantucket to your Saves list
76 Main Nantucket
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Main Street, Nantucket, MA 02554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel! The guest house rooms were perfect for our family. The location close to all the Main St. shops and ferries is ideal. The exterior, front desk, lounge, kitchen, patio and rooms are all beautifully appointed. I discovered it by searching 'boutique hotels Nantucket' and was delighted with the refurbishment that had been done. The freshly baked muffins and scones, fresh fruit, yogurt and coffee were a great start every morning. We sat outside under gorgeous blue Nantucket skies to eat our breakfast. The beach chairs and nice thick beach towels provided were awesome to take to Madaket for a picnic and sunset. Every evening the candles were lit and there was an inviting fire pit with comfy couches and chairs nearby. It is quiet too, we slept well every night but enjoyed listening to the birds and the church bells in the morning. We arrived early and our room was ready, we got right in and Katie and Scott were terrific about storing our luggage the day we departed so we were able to make the most of our last day on Nantucket. They were friendly and helpful the entire time--inquiring about our day, offering suggestions and calling us a cab. It was so relaxing, like staying at an upscale home, we were sad to leave. Highly recommend 76 Main!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMR245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main Nantucket, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
What a wonderful description of your vacation! We are so pleased that you had such a lovely, relaxing time and that 76 Main could be such a big part of your Nantucket getaway. It is nice to hear that Katie and Scott attended to your needs so completely and that you enjoyed the guesthouse rooms, the courtyard, the beach accessories, and, well, everything! We were sad to see you leave, too, so please come stay at our nantucket boutique hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This original sea captain's house recently renovated on the inside, retains its original charm on the outside. Rooms are small but sufficiently comfortable and the staff goes out of its way to be helpful and see that you have everything you need. Convenience to Nantucket shopping and water front a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main Nantucket, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff met all your needs. Please come visit 76 Main again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are 23 year veterans of Nantucket and have had the pleasure of staying at many, many places over the years. We recently had the unique pleasure of staying at the NEW 76 Main. What a lovely, lovely place it is. The location on Main, can't be beat...just a few steps from all the shopping and restaurants! The interior design plays host to a modern/ contemporary flair successfully integrating the original elements of this exquisite 1860 historical structure. Our room offered a magnificently comfortable king bed, comfy pillows, marble bath and vanity and flat screen TV. The common spaces such as the living room and the kitchen are inviting and cheerful and offer other spots to relax and socialize with other guests. The garden/yard/bar is unusual in that while it does not serve liquor, it offers all the mixes for anyone who wishes to bring their own and enjoy a "sundowner". There is plenty of comfy sofa seating and a fire pit for the ultimate ambience. While all of this is a good as it gets, the best part of the experience is the the couple in charge ...the Innkeepers. Kate and Scott could not be more friendly, more inviting or more courteous. They are present almost all of the time and ready to assist with anything. And Kate is the most incredible baker, so get ready for the constant aroma of freshly baked cookies and croissants in the morning! We give it a FIVE STAR! Enjoy!
Dr. and Mrs. James Lyons Connecticut
While all of this

Room Tip: We had a first floor room right near the reception area and living room and it was quiet and perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main Nantucket, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Wow! Your enthusiastic recommendation means a lot! We are thrilled that your stay was so wonderful and that you enjoyed all the things that make 76 Main so special -- the decor, the vibe, the BYOB mixer bar, the courtyard and Katie's wonderful baking. It makes us blush to make such an impression on a "Nantucket visitor veteran." We hope we have the chance to impress you even more next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn with 2 other couples and are now planning on making this an annual trip!! The rooms, food, courtyard, sitting room, and special ammenities are top notch! Great beach chairs, quality beach towels, and even beach bags are available for the sunny days. We all forward to a return trip in this high quality chic Inn located at the top of Main Street!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tchrkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main Nantucket, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed all the beach gear and our chicly designed (but comfortable) lounge and courtyard! It was fun to have you and your friends visit and we look forward to seeing your annual journey back to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stay on Nantucket every summer for a long weekend. This was our first year staying at 76 Main after reading about it on a blog. The location was perfect since we were interested in being proximate to all the shops and restaurants and the boat basin. Our room was beautifully decorated and we had private access to a patio with a fire pit (room 16). The staff is very friendly and although we went out to breakfast every morning we overheard people raving about the freshly baked muffins. The beds and sheets were so soft and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main Nantucket, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at 76 Main after reading about us on a blog. We appreciate your thoughtful review and are glad that you enjoyed Room 16. That private fire pit is the bomb, isn't it! We're pleased that you found the bed and sheets so comfy and look forward to your return to Nantucket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful stay at 76 Main on Nantucket. We loved our room, the outside courtyard and overall feel of the Inn. You also can't beat the location. Katie, Scott and Matt were incredibly friendly, welcoming and fun to be around. Katie's fresh baked goods were wonderful breakfast treats. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main Nantucket, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We can't wait to have you back! We are so glad you enjoyed Katie's baking, our unique courtyard, and the marvelous location of the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at 76 Main. Stayed there with 2 other couples...it was perfect. Katie and Scott were welcoming, always available and made our stay special. The Inn is newly renovated and the decor is stunning. Loved the outside courtyard with firepits and lounge areas. Having the beach chairs and towels "vineyard vine" was great. The location was wonderful as you could walk into town for quick shopping.
Overall we gave 76 Main and A+.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the King!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at 76 Main Nantucket, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It's always a pleasure to receive such a high grade! Thanks for the A+ and all your kind words. Katie and Scott are knocking it out of the park, aren't they? And, our designer, Rachel Reider, will be thrilled that you loved the newly renovated decor. We look forward to your next visit to 76 Main.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#1 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 76 Main Nantucket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 76 Main Nantucket

Address: 76 Main Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 76 Main Nantucket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit and discover an impeccably designed Nantucket boutique hotel offering exceptional rooms and amenities; the ultimate relaxing “Nantucket getaway” courtyard; an all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and exceptional (yet unobtrusive) service. Located in a landmark neighborhood in the heart of town, this luxury Nantucket hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation. Book now and be one of the first to experience the comfortably refined sophistication of this intimately sized and design-driven boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your 76 Main Nantucket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
76 Main Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing