We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is my third time staying at the residences and I can not say enough! The combination of the amazing staff and the most luxurious accommodations makes it a place hard to leave. The staff anticipates your every need with efficiency and a true love of their job. The addition of the new hotel and lobby elevates the experience to a new level. It was great to have the lobby and staff so close at hand. Lilly and Aly always had a welcoming smile and were very knowledgable about the island and special spots to see. Visiting Nantucket and The Residences is not just a trip it is an unforgettable expierence!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tania j, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Heather D,
We are so pleased you love our new lobby! We have had many positive comments from past and new guests so it really has been an exciting addition. I dont know if you got the chance to tour, but along with the lobby, we also added 14 suites and 6 rooms to the Inn at the White Elephant Village. Next time you will have to stay in one of those. Aly and Lilly were delighted to read your comments. Thank you for being our guest many times over.
Sincerely,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
55
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a tremendous property complimented by an extraodinary staff. The accommodations are first rate. We took "grandpa" and everyone was so helpful. Kids loved the pool. Best place to stay in ACK. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful visit. Love the can do attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tania j, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had such a great time. We hope you, Grandpa and the rest of your family will be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the White Elephant residences for 4 nights, in a 2 bedroom apartment with our 2 kids. The location is very good, a short walk from both town and Children's Beach, and the property is generally lovely. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and helpful with maps, dinner recommendations and reservations, and island information. Complimentary coffee, cookies, etc were always available in the office. The property has a beatiful pool for residence guests only, complete with deck chairs, cabanas, and a lifeguard on staff. The hotel has complimentary bicycles as well, though the availability was somewhat limited.

Our room was very spacious, with 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, a large living space, and a small kitchenette. The room had 3 big screen TVs with DVD players, and the office had at least 100 movies available for use. The quality of the furnishings and finishings was very high.

All in all, we loved the Residences. Great location, great room, excellent service. The experience is somewhere between staying in a hotel, and staying in a serviced rental condo, and we liked that. At times, we did our own thing, and at times, we used the services offered by the staff. The property is currently expanding, and there was a decent amount of construction going on when we were there. It was generally unintrusive, but it was definitely going on. It didn't take away from our great experience at the White Elephant, though, and we hope to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are so pleased you enjoyed all the services and amenities we have to offer. Once again, our apologies about the construction. We had believed it would not continue this far into the season, but unfortunately they did get behind. The good news is it will all be over by June 30th so a very short time to go. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our friends told us that when visiting Nantucket, there was only 1 place to stay which was the White Elephant! They have either the White Elephant Hotel or the White Elephant Residences. We stayed at the Residences in a 2-bedroom residence with our adult children. Everyone each had their own perfect space, with every amenity you can wish for in a deluxe property! The unit itself is beautifully furnished in cape cod style with the finest linens and furnishings! The bathrooms were bright and filled with wonderful towels and products! It was great having a small kitchen too where you can make coffee, and enjoy some food at home.

We rented bicycles from the residence lobby area, and rode along the trails to the various beaches, etc. A lovely way to explore Nantucket, in addition to walking!

Room Tip: We had a 2-bedroom residence on the first floor, which was a great location right down the driveway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passionate1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tania j, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. The bikes are definately a big hit with all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This five star resort is the most comfortable place I've stayed in 28 years on Nantucket. Our two bedroom unit had everything, including the most comfortable robes and slippers. The staff was incredible, friendly and wonderful. Each night bottles of water were left in our unit and beside our beds. The pool is wonderful, the staff there is incredible too. I might suggest to the staff to tell guests not to play foot ball in the pool, but I still relaxed. I hope to return next year and every year to the White Elephant Residences.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Authorspurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tania j, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your point about football by the pool is very valid and we have had a staff discussion about suggesting to our guests the better locations for such activities. We hope to greet you as our guests again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My Sister and I went to visit Nantucket for the first time ever. We went to see the Daffodil Festival April 27-29, 2012. The festival was wonderful. The hotel gave us a bad taste for Nantucket though. We thought White Elephant would be one of the better establishments and we paid a pretty penny to stay there. It was one disappointment after another. The first problem we had was transportation upon exiting the ferry. The White Elephant Hotel "Residences" van, we reserved to pick us up, had already left before we even got our luggage. So we asked the van driver for the White Elephant "Hotel" if he could give us a ride. When we told him we were going to the "Residences" he just looked at us and said that driver already left and could not take us. So we were left there stranded with no ride to the hotel. There is no excuse for such poor customer service! Why was the driver not checking off guests names to make sure he had everyone on the van that made a reservation?

Then we were so hungry when we got there we decided to get a quick bite to eat right at the hotel restaurant, Brant Point Grille. We paid a whopping $90 for LUNCH and it was by far the most horrible, poorest quality, lunch I ever had. I paid $18 for a frozen patty hamburger that came with no sides and my Sister had a personal sized pizza and it came with a salad on TOP of it for $15. Appetizer crabcake was cold in the middle for $15, plus chowder with no taste or clams for $13. One cannot get Zinfandel wine, frozen drinks of any kind or blue cheese dressing at this restaurant. Are you kidding me? This hotel is several blocks from the ocean and guest stay there mostly in the heat of the Summer and they do not serve any frozen drinks!

Then the hotel staff placed a family with young, screaming, running, children right next to us. The walls were so paper thin you could actually hear someone using the toilet. So when we mentioned the noise to the staff the manager called us and asked US if we wanted to be moved. You should move the noisy guest with children, not ask us to move.

This hotel really spoiled our first ever visit to Nantucket. I'm not sure if I would go again. But if I do, I will not stay at any of the six White Elephant establishments for fear of getting the same poor customer service and very poor quality food. This includes Wauwinet Hotel, White Elephant Hotel, Villages & Residences, Jared Coffin House, The Cottages & Lofts and the Nantucket Boat Basin. Plus, the Residences are not close to the ocean or the downtown area.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadybugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tania j, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, while it was indeed very hard to read you definately gave us some valuable insight. I know Nantucket was on your bucket list and it really isnt fair that so many things went wrong. My only wish is that I knew of your disppointment while you were here so I could have made amends immediately, but I will reach out to you directly to do so.
My sincere apologies,
Tania Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed at the residences twice: The first time my husband and another couple shared a two bedroom on the second floor during the Christmas stroll of 2010 and the second time four of my girlfriends and I shared a two bedroom on the first floor in June of 2011. Both rooms are absolutely STUNNING. From the moment you pick up your keys to your stylish getaway you will be overly impressed! The service...Cavel at reservations is absolutely amazing! She knew with 4 adults and a 2 year old we would be very comfortable in the residences and she was absolutely right! The bathrooms were my favorite part! Two huge sinks, a well lit mirror, and a huge tub to boot! AMAZING! The residences will never disappoint! Also, the residences are across the street from Lola 41. YAY!!!

Room Tip: The second floor lofts all have vaulted ceilings and fireplaces. If you can afford it I would opt fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tania j, Manager at White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much and hopefully we will see you again in 2012! We are currently adding 14 suites and 6 deluxe rooms so will have even more options for you by early summer this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn

Property: White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Address: 19 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Elephant Village on Nantucket Island.The Village comprises the intimate Inn and the spacious Residences where guests enjoy all the pampering, amenities and services ofthe acclaimed White Elephant Hotel.Ideal for a family vacation, a couple’s getaway, or a weekendescape with friends, the Village offers accommodations from deluxeInn guest rooms and suites to three–bedroom Residences, each with aspacious living room and pantry.Set amidst beautiful gardens and beckoning pathways, theVillage offers guests exclusive access to a stunning lobby, the hub formorning coffee and afternoon snacks, the heated outdoor poolfor treats like ice cream served from an old fashioned cart, to a poolcabana for an afternoon nap. Guests can also access the White Elephant Spa and Brant Point Grill-both just a block away at the White Elephant Hotel.When not relaxing, guests can work out in the fitness room,set off on a bike ride (bikes on us), or meander through townbrowsing the unique shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing