We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B Location for Nantucket Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #21 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B Location for Nantucket Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

The Anchor Inn is a historical Bed and Breakfast on the island of Nantucket about thirty miles off the coast of Cape Cod, Massachusetts. It sits quietly on Center Street amidst the old grey and white wooden homes that give Nantucket its character. The Inn is a short and pleasant walk (about 5 minutes) from where you disembark from the Steamship Authority ferry.

When arriving at the Anchor Inn the friendship steps, soft lights in the windows, and the sound of classical music playing in the background immediately greet you. We felt like we were stepping into a part of whaling history. There are old wooden floors, antique furniture, nautical decorations, and a garden porch for breakfast and tea. Our room, named Cyrus, was on the third floor of the house up the charming staircases and through the perfect hallways. Each room has its own name, in honor of the nautical tradition of naming your home on a quarter board posted above the doorway. It had a colorful rug on the wooden floor, a soft canopy bed, little lights throughout the room, and a feeling of being transported back in time.

The Anchor Inn is in the perfect location for spending time on Nantucket. It is across the street from Benjamin Franklin grandmother’s home and next door to a beautiful white church surrounded by the bright blue and purple hydrangeas. The Inn is literally two to five minutes walking distance from the main part of town including bike rentals, restaurants, specialty shops, the Jetties beach (about 10 minutes) and the local bus station (for getting anywhere on the island).

We had the privilege of staying at the Anchor Inn for two nights. Ann and Charles Balas, are two of the few owner residents still on Nantucket and meeting them alone is worth a stay at their Bed and Breakfast. They have owned the Anchor Inn for over 27 years and are two of the kindest people you will meet. Their knowledge and passion for Nantucket is infectious and every visitor should spend time chatting with them. If you want to know where to eat a romantic dinner or which beach to watch the sun set they will know. One highlight of our stay was spending each morning leisurely eating delicious home mad muffins (specialty of Charles), fresh fruit, and sipping coffee in the kitchen patio area while talking with Ann, Charles, and other guests. If you are considering a trip to the Nantucket we highly recommend staying at the Anchor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesrhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woonsocket, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Anchor Inn's annex site at 72 Centre St. on September 22 through the 26 and enjoyed the spacious (for Nantucket Inns) room. If you're looking for a Holiday Inn or Sheraton type of Inn or room these Inns are not for you. If you like the quaint charm of historic homes in an historic New England town you'll appreciate just how these Inns fit in to the surrounding town. We received an excellent rate for the room and thoughly enjoyed fall on the island. We've stayed on Nantucket numerous times and our room, the Essex, was the largest that we've been in so far. Breakfast was served at the Anchor Inn just three doors up the street but we didn't find that to be a problem. We ate and continued on our way to downtown and our day on the island. The Inn is just far enough from downtown to afford itself a quiet area just past the Jared Coffin House. The only sounds we heard were from the cars that passed by the Inn though they were by no means annoying. They were the sounds you'd hear if you were home and you lived by any street. We never did hear anyone talking outside the Inn. The staff was polite at our arrival and departure and we would only see them when they changed the towels and made up the room each day if we happened to be at the Inn. The room was just as pictured on their website. More than likely we'll stay again at this Inn.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croix49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at this establishement 2 years ago and it was "sub par". The location was perfect; right in the down town area and some room to park your bike if you bring it over to the island.
They had put us in the Annex down the street ont eh first floor, 1st room on the right. The room was clean and small. Now, if you stay at a B&B all rooms tends to be on the smaller side which is fine. It smelled not so friendly, but mostly musty. I agree with one of the other posters that the AC was loud, bathroom was very small, smelly and was an old converted closet to a bathroom. The outside courtyard at the main part of the inn was very nice. Now the innkeepers, lets just say that she didnt give us the warm and fuzzies. I had left my cell phone charger behind by accident and when I called to let her know, she told me that in order to mail it back to me (back in Boston) that I'd have to mail her a check for $1.00 first..How tacky and cheap can someone be?? After dropping some serious dough on the dump, she was cheap enough to demand a buck for postage.. you have to laugh. Now when we've stayed at other B&B's, its all about "staying in your home away from home" creating a family atmosphere, making us feel at home.
Now, if I ever have guests stay at my home, and they forget something that I can easily mail them, I won't be tacky and cheap to demand a check for $1.00 before I do it... I'm sure you'd all agree...
BOTTOM LINE, PASS on this one,,, I'd rather camp on the beach. Its smells better!!!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the innkeepers
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DG1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Buyer beware!!! My wife requested a 2 night stay this coming July at the Anchor Inn and received a written quote directly from the hotel (not a computerized service) for $145 per night. When she called to book the room she was told the rate was now $225 and that the $145 wouldn't be honored as the person giving her the quote was new. In my line of work you honor your mistakes-especially if it's a customer error. The worst part-once my wife found out they would honor the quote she was not able to find suitable lodging for her vacation and she's scambling to find a new location. If a place won't honor a written price it's not a place I would want to stay.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jr2002Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantucketanchorinn, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
All of our rates can now be viewed online for each room by date. This situation was based on misinformation of a rate quoted for mid-week in early June rather than peak season in the summer. The June rate of $145 was not available in July or August. With our new online reservation capability hopefully any misunderstandings will be avoided and all parties involved will now see the same information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed just one night here last week (April 2008) We had researched all the Inns that are open this time of year on Nantucket and picked this one because they had a reasonable mid week special ($85) and it was within walking distance from the pier. The Inn is lovely and well maintained. We had a great room with a comfortable queen canopied bed. The bathroom is small but adequate and they had Evelyn & Crabtree toiletries, something I have never seen in any hotel. There is a large but cozy breakfast area on the porch with several small tables. The continental breakfast was just enough to get us out and on our way: fruit, muffins, juice and coffee or tea. They have a refrigerator for guest's use in the breakfast area. You can also make yourself tea or coffee at any time of the day. The Inn was a comfortable walk to the shops and whaling museum. Since we were only there for one day we didn't get to meet the innkeepers (no doubt they were getting their other Inn ready for the busy Daffodil weekend coming up) but we met their friendly employees who had just arrived from New Zealand and England. Two restaurants that we enjoyed while on Nantucket were "Brotherhood Of Thieves" and "Even Keel Cafe".
We highly recommend the Anchor Inn.

  • Liked — close proximity to town
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursenancy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

We were in a queen room in the annex at 72 Centre st. The room was stuffy when we arrived although it aired out once we opened the windows. The bed was creaky and not the most comfortable, and the mini fridge was extremely loud. The bathroom was small and not particularly nice; the shower had only a thin shower curtain with no liner - the kind of curtain that blows into the shower and sticks to you. The location of the Inn is great, and the people who worked there were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triponthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantucketanchorinn, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
The building at 72 Centre St was an annex to our Anchor Inn for a few years. This arrangement was concluded in 2008. The building is now closed.
ANCHOR INN at 66 Centre St has 11 guest rooms, each with a private bathroom, and has the same resident owner innkeepers since 1983.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

Great location, friendly and helpful service. We found a great internet special on their website and found the anchor inn to be a great value. The bathroom in our room was a bit small, but that just adds to the charm of the place. The innkeepers were very knowledgeable about the island and they were always ready to answer our many questions. We'd stay there again any day!

  • Liked — staff & location
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cpienk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#15 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Roberts House
The Roberts House
#19 of 39 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summer House - India Street Inn
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#13 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Property: Anchor Inn
Address: 66 Center St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3605
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic whaling inn, built in 1806, located in-town...an easy walk from the ferry, convenient to restaurants, shops , museums, and beaches. ALL private bathrooms in eleven guestrooms.,FREE WIFI, new TV's, Air Conditioned in season, includes a continental breakfast featuring Charles' homemade muffins. Each room with a queen bed, double occupancy only. Great location next to the Old North Church. Garden patio, breakfast porch. See our internet specials. Open spring through fall and Christmas Stroll Weekend (in early December). Call or reserve on-line anytime. Resident owner innkeepers on site."feel a part of a country houseparty in an atmosphere that cannot be matched by larger inns or hotels..." Washington Post, The Boston Globe" We loved the peaceful hospitality and classical music. We will be back!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing