We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional place, staff, service and atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Elephant

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
White Elephant
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
1 review
“exceptional place, staff, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

we went to nantucket island for 2 weeks. we stayed at the white elephant hotel for 3 nights than moved over to the cottages for the remainder of the stay. I loved it. the accomodation was fatastastic. The staff and management was very helpfull and are doing an excellent job. I also really enjoyed the complimentary coffe, pastry and the cheese and wine. the brant point grill was also amazing. I would definately recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindajamessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    56
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
84
208
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The White Elephant Residences for our anniversary. We stayed in the 1 bedroom unit and it was exceptional. From check in to check out the level of service was superb. The room was beautiful as were the amenities. Having a fire place on a chilly Autumn night was perfect! We had everything we needed for our stay - right in the condo. The kitchen was well appointed including the wine fridge! The sheets and towels were lovely! It seems no expense was spared for the guests comfort.
We dined at the Hotel's restaurant The Brant Point Grill and I highly recommend it! It was delicious!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I went to Nantucket in mid-September with my dad, siblings (all in our 30s) and nephew. We read such great reviews and decided this must be the place to stay. It wasn't bad, but not great. We stayed in the Hydrangea Cottage. Just to note, I was with Kokota, who wrote the previous review.

PROS
*Location location location
*Nice clean large bedrooms / chocolate on pillows at night
*Very comfy beds / pillows
*Coffee maker (though providing only decaf w/ no stirrers or creamer) /microwave/three mini fridges (though one broken--found out AFTER the groceries spoiled)
*For the most part, staff was very attentive when we called to request things (stirrers, creamer, bellhop, taxi etc)
*Free internet access in business center
*Free stacks of Wall Street Journal, NY Times, etc. near business center
*Nice clean gym
*Beautiful surroundings outside

CONS
*Dark outdated living room
*Pretty bad ant problem in bathrooms and living room
*Breakfast muffins/scones are served until they're gone (not refilled for remaining breakfast hours)...though they do serve coffee the whole time.
*Absent minded customer service - For example we requested chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to be brought to the cottage as a gift to our dad for his birthday upon arrival. Since he arrived in town later than us, we asked that the gift be brought later but they brought it earlier. We asked the hotel to pick it up from our room and bring back to the room a few hours later. They only brought two champagne glasses knowing there were four adults so we said to make sure when they come back to bring four glasses. They still brought two when they came back. They had to come back a third time to bring two more glasses.
*Broken phones
*The thing that you twist to open and close blinds were missing from at least three blinds in our cottage

We dealt with two concierges to help us find a nice restaurant, the older gentleman was not very helpful (suggested only the hotel restaurant and one other place), but there was a woman who was very helpful and suggested a wonderful restaurant (Straight Wharf).

Sounds like the hotel rooms and residences are the way to go but residences are even more expensive than the cottages (our cottage was over $1,000/night w/ taxes).

I think the main issue for my family was that the attention to detail was really lacking in many departments. When you're paying that much to stay somewhere, you want to feel like you're staying someplace special and the attention to detail be impeccable, but was far from it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26gark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
I would like to let you know that we have redecorated and updated the one and three bedroom cottages. We will post the pictures! They look amazing!

Bettina Landt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sschonme
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I liked being close to shopping, local beaches, and dining. We stayed in one of the cottages. It was "New England quaint," and the service was personal and prompt. I liked being away from the main hotel so the kids could roam a bit, but did find an opportunity to enjoy the spa! We all wished the weather was a little warmer...but we'll come again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sschonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

For $1,000 a night (including taxes), I would describe our stay at the White Elephant as very disappointing. The grounds are beautiful, they provide luxurious bedding, a nice nighttime turn-down service, and it's in an awesome location. The superlatives stop there.

When we got in the staff was perfectly pleasant, but gave us no map of the grounds, and a very brief overview of what is offered at the hotel (not much).

Disappointments:
1) The hotel staff completely lacked any sense of detail. Example: We ordered strawberries and wine to be delivered to our room at 4 PM. They delivered at 2:30, and only left 2 glasses, when 4 people were staying at our cottage. They had also addressed the card to my sister when the card read "happy birthday, dad". We asked the staff to return with the goodies at 4 PM and with 4 glasses. They were late, and then returned again with 2 glasses!

2) Before I booked the room, I asked the hotel for more pictures of the cottages, since it's difficult to get a sense of how big they are by the one or two pictures on their website. They were unable to provide me with any dimensions or additional pictures. The size of the 3-room cottage was reasonable, and the decor is "rustic" which I didn't mind, but my family was disappointed that the living room was small and dark. The problem I had was that the phones were not working after a day, the mini refrigerator was broken, as well as the blinds. I definitely expect more for the price of this place! We said something about the phones, and they never sent anyone over to fix them.

3) The 6-8 complementary morning pastries are a complete joke. I was there by 7:30 AM, and after the meager plate of mini muffins (half the size of my palm) was eaten there was no refill. You snooze past 8 AM, you lose. I pointed out to the restaurant staff that their literature says they offer this complementary breakfast until 10 AM. He gave me a small plate of about 5 muffins and asked me for my room number!!

These are just a few examples of things I wouldn't expect at a luxury hotel. Unless you have money to burn, I would recommend looking elsewhere for accommodations in Nantucket.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kokota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
I would like to let you know that we have redecorated and updated the one and three bedroom cottages. We will post the pictures! They look amazing!

Bettina Landt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Having stayed at the White Elephant over the years (since 1960's) our recent stay was most disappointing. Our mistake may have ben in expecting the White Elephant to live up to its billing a luxury resort. It is anything but. For a lot of money, you get a musty, damp, dark room, with barely any walking space, unworking shower, very tired and worn furniture.
This would have been ok, if it were not for the cost of the room (over $800.00 per nignt)
For that we expected a relaxing luxury get away. Perhaps we are just out of tune with Nantucket. Our strong advice is to ask to see the rooms prior to commiting $$. Of course that is not always practical or possible. So, I would stay away from the Garden Cottages, unless you are willing to accept a room equal to a $59.00 motel for big bucks. If you have money to burn, don't mind primitive conditions, and just want to be close to downtown Nantucket, then this is the place for you!! Perhaps the main hotel provides better accommodations. Reading reviews, it sounds as if the Residences are up to par. The garden cottage accommodations are NOT up to luxury standards for the rates charged. They should tell you up front that you will be walking down unlit paths to squalid quarters for a lot of money. We have stayed all over the country and Europe and had truly luxurious accommodations for less $$$. For $800. per night I guess we just expected it to be less tired, worn etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overlakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear overlakers;

I am saddend to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the White Elephant. Since your identity is confidential, I would like to offer for you to contact me at your convenience to determine how we can make it up to you.

I can be reached at 508 228 2500 ext. 3418

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

I consider myself a pretty sophisticated traveler, and have been all over the world. Sometimes the best things are close to home. As a MA resident, Nantucket is the perfect getaway. Making that experience second to none was staying at the brand new White Elephant Residences (NOT to be confused with the White Elephant Hotel, which it IS a part of, as the newly added on cottages down the block).

We stayed in a "cottage" that I would describe as beautifully decorated in modern, clean and elegant lines. Every detail is attended to. The staff are extremely eager to help and accommodate every need. The rooms are impeccably clean and the cleaning crew visit at least 3-4 times a day to ensure all is kept that way. Although property management states "there is no kitchen" - there IS. It simply does not include a stove or oven, but you will find every other convenience and appliance a furnished residence would offer, from toaster, paninni maker, Bosch dishwasher, etc. Also included are W&D, central air, lovely window treatments (black-out in the bedroom), umbrellas, blowdriers - beach towels, beach chairs and shuttle to the beaches. You get the idea. Additionally, there is a nice little gym, a lovely outdoor pool with super comfortable chaise lounges when you are feeling lazy, along with pool-side service for lunches, wine/beer and bites.

The property is very conveniently located just across the street from the Cliff Road bicycle path that leads to Madaket, a beautiful stretch of bicycling. The island is of course, known for its extensive bike routes, the two primary ones being the 12.4m round trip (aforementioned) and the easterly 18.2M route, (round trip) between Polpis and Mainline Roads. I would recommend the former if you are interested in a shorter route that does not traverse through town and its extensive deeply rutted/cobblestone roads. We did not mind the long route, as the effort is worth it.

For dining, I would stay away from the Brant Pointe Grille (part of the White Elephant Hotel) unless you are there for dinner OUTSIDE on the deck - and mainly for the view -- we did not find it to be the best meal for the steep price charged. A palate awakening dinner was had at Oran Mor, just steps away for a divine meal in an intimate setting. New French dining, where the crowds get thick after 9PM on weekends. Memorable meal and service.

I am eager to book another stay at this elegant getaway - in summary, I always think of Nantucket accomodations as antique-y B&Bs with "cozy" country and Americana - for a refreshing change, try the Residences.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlauftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton Street, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing