We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”
Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nantucket is a very special island. And the White Elephant is a perfect place to stay when visiting the Island. It oozes charm. It's an elegant boutique hotel that draws you in from the second you enter. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The staff is very helpful. And the lounge and bar harken back to the 1920's. A Must stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SandiS;

Thank you for reviewing us online! It is nice to hear that you had a nice stay with us! I love our bar area (both the indoor and outdoor bars) as they are so different. One has the amazing view, the other is just a great pub!
Our rooms are beautiful, whether you book one with a view or without. We are constantly improving them over the winter months and making sure they are ready and looking great for each season!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    59
    30
    23
    11
See reviews for
87
216
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have a gift certificate to stay here that we have yet to use but we recently stopped in for tea on a rainy summer afternoon and were treated to tea and cake in the Library. The wait staff was extremely accommodating and the tea selection perfect with lovely individual pots of tea. The desserts were swoon worthy (I had the chocolate cake and could not finish it). We now can't wait to stay in this superb hotel. Did I mention the profusion of flowers growing in the immaculate beds and the view of Nantucket Harbor? This hotel is a must stay.

Room Tip: Facing the harbor, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear MiamiOlivia;

Thank you for the lovely review. Our Library is such a cozy place on a rainy afternoon. We are so lucky that our location on the harbor is so great that the view is truly stunning. We serve Port and Cheese in the Library to our house guests each day and as you can imagine, this is a popular event!

Please let us know when you come and stay with us! We will have a delicious slice of chocolate cake waiting for you!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Just a short stroll from downtown to this beautiful resort
The rooms are gorgeous, well kept and spotless
We stayed in a harbor view room and it was gorgeous
Can't wait to return to this gem
You can see the ferries from here, smell the ocean
There is a small beach and a phenomenal restaurant

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleneyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Marleneyi;

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very lucky with our location. The ferries and the Harbor are right in our 'back yard"!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We only attended a wedding reception here, we were not hotel guests.
The setting is amazing, they have a great lawn right in front of the beach.
The hotel seemed very nice, there was a bar and restaurant that seemed fun and the staff was very polite and talkative.
I'm not sure whether the restaurant catered the wedding we attended, but my steak and potatoes was DELICIOUS.
I asked that my steak be cooked 'well done' which I know bothers some chefs, but it was cooked perfectly and I loved every bite.
They also had a cute gift shop where we bought some gifts for our baby's nursery!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daydreamingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Daydreamingtraveler;

Thank you for posting your review! It is always nice to hear from someone who attended one of our beautiful weddings as a guest! Maybe next time we can convince you to spend the night and get the full experience!
Our harborside location is indeed an amazing setting for events of any size. Our talented Chef, Tom Pearson, leads the team at our very own Brant Point Grill, which is where our catering is exclusively done. It sounds like you had a very nice experience at your friend's wedding and we hope it was the beginning of many stays with us.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place is clearly THE place to stay while in Nantucket. The resort is on a piece of land overlooking the harbor and the views are spectacular. This is a high end resort that clearly meets all high end expectations. The staff is all very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are nicely done and very clean. The restaurant, Brant Point Grill, is not your typical hotel restaurant. The food and service are both top notch. Their Sunday brunch is to die for, not inexpensive, but worth every penny of it and with an awesome view. We have stayed at various places on the island but nothing compares to this place.
You won’t be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steaks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Steaks73;

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location and an amazing, caring staff that take a personal interest in every guest experience.

Our Sunday brunch has become a tradition for our hotel and restaurant guests alike. We serve a full buffet brunch from 10AM to 3PM on Sundays and the Harborside location makes for a great experience. We have live music, a raw bar, a bloody mary bar and a kid's buffet. There is something for everyone.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days on a mother / daughter trip. FABULOUS!!!! The room was perfect. Looking out at the boats, hearing the wind blow against the sails, hearing the seagulls....AND THEN THERE's the food!!!! Don't even thinks about diet when you are here. Everything is so good. The staff is extremely helpful, yet unobtrusive. We had spa treatment's that where some of the best we'd ever had. You can't beat this location. We didn't rent a car and never missed a thing. Perfect walking distance to town, shopping, the beach, etc. Easy to get a cab to get anywhere or use the WE car service. It's well worth the price. Planning on going back in the fall with the hubby!

Room Tip: DIdn't use the pool - but I'm sure it would have been lovely. Our room was on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Indydi;

Thank you for coming to stay with us! We love seeing Mother/Daughter getaways. Nantucket is a wonderful destination for so many reasons.

It is great to hear that you both loved your spa treatments! We have an amazing and talented group of massage therapists that have gotten great feedback this year, as in years past. While the spa may not be big in size, the beautiful view from the relaxation room and the great treatments make it a wonderful amenity.

We hope you make it back to the White Elephant with your husband this Fall! (another GREAT time to visit!)

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
1,080 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This isn't the place to find a room $ bargain, but it is a very nice place to stay.

We were here for 2 nights during our Backroads biking tour, and we'd definitely recommend to others. Staff was super helpful. Room very comfortable. We enjoyed our little outdoor patio even though our room didn't have a nice view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rollngstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear rollngstone;

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We love having the Backroads bike tours here every Spring and Fall. Nantucket is one of the most bike friendly places I have ever seen. There seems to be a bike path on all major roads throughout the whole island!

Our rooms are certainly not inexpensive, you are absolutely right, but they are beautifully appointed and our location is spectacular. Even the rooms that do not have a view have great little porches and are just as pretty as the ones facing the harbor.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your Nantucket portion of your Backroads trip!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
5.9 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton St, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing