We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Nantucket”
Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Heaven in Nantucket”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hubby and I went to the White Elephant Inn and it was outstanding. From the time that we got off the ferry, the black SUV was waiting for us with a nice driver and water. Once we got to the resort, the front desk staff welcomed us with delicious lemonade and an upgrade. The room was lovely, very Nantucket in decorations...The resort is walking distance to all of the main destinations, Main Street and the best restaurants. Make sure that you take advantage of the great restaurant on site, we had a great breakfast with an even prettier view. I sprained my ankle while we were there and the staff was quick to provide ice and popcorn for movies...This is much more lovely than the Vineyard, make it a must to go!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear MCastle83;

Thank you for posting your tripadvisor review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and I do hope your ankle feels better!
Arriving by boat is a wonderful way to ease in to the Nantucket frame of mind. Coming around Brant Point as you pull into the harbor is so spectacular. Did you know that it is customary to throw a penny into the water from the ferry just as you round the point when leaving to ensure a return visit?

Hope you did and we will see you again soon!

Sincerley,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    59
    30
    23
    11
See reviews for
87
216
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the White Elephant the end of September and I cannot say enough wonderful things about it. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with very friendly staff. There was nothing they would not do for us. They upgraded us to one of their lovely cottages even though there were only two of us. We even ordered in one night and ate by the fire place. The food in their restaurant was very good and the view, from there on the water, just added to the delight. I would love to find that kind of service everywhere we travel.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages. Wonderful,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatAustin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear PatAustin2012;

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really love our two bedroom cottages. They are so nice, with the kitchenette, the living room, the den, the two bedrooms and that lovely fireplace which is such a great feature this time of year. We do try to upgrade our guests when we can. Let's face it, we all like an upgrade when we travel! (Myself included, I'll admit it...) So when I can I try to make that happen.

September, October, November, these are all wonderful months to come and experience a quieter and beautiful Nantucket.

Thank you again for your stay and your review.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

All of our expectations were met when we arrived at the White Elephant. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the service exceptional, and the atmosphere as serene or flamboyant as each guest chooses. The concierge was very helpful in arranging bike tours, sunset sails, and restaurant reservations. This hotel served as home base to a unique, charming locale whose history and pride of ownership is rich and extensive. The folks at White Elephant continue that pride in their desire to offer their guests a wonderful Nantucket experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJJaneEyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear NJJaneEyre;

Thank you for your review. We do get many guests who come here for a variety of reasons, some to get away quietly, others to enjoy the outdoors, some prefer history, others shopping and dining. There really is something for everyone. Our pre-arrival and our on-site concierge teams can set up an itinerary that is customized for everyone.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The manager Kelly handled an embarrassing situation with aplomb. She came to our cottage personally, spoke to us professionally and remedied all of our concerns. Food, library, room all first rate. Would recommend and will come back again next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear richard c;

Thank you! Yes, our work involves many situations, the vast majority are wonderful, and then there are a few that are best handled privately. I am glad you and Kelly worked it out and it sounds like you had a wonderful stay. Kelly has been working with me for almost twelve years and she is a true professional and a real asset to the team.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. A great location a block from town and right on the water. The staff is very attentive and every staff member provided us with warm smiles and truly great service. The room was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. We could not recommend the White Elephant more enthusiastically. A world class hotel that knows how to offer the finest service possible without being the least bit pretentious.

Room Tip: A water view is always a nice way to go if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear E R;

Thank you for your review.It sounds like you had a lovely stay. Yes, our location (just a few short blocks from town and right on the harbor) is amazing. We consider ourselves very lucky. Our staff is a wonderful mix of long time returning seasonal employees as well as some that are here for the first time. Our goal when training (and training, and training, and training) our team is to make our guest feel comfortable and relaxed, while looking after them in the utmost professional manner. This is a vacation destination after all! I am glad we hit the mark and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is a well kept secret that October and November are two of the best months to visit Nantucket, so when the White Elephant offered some specials, we decided to end my wife's birthday week at the White Elephant and were not disappointed. Great room with a view of the harbor, wonderful staff, complimentary transportation from ferry and about town, great concierge. We had a fabulous time, would highly recommend the White elephant for a quick get away this fall.

Room Tip: When making reservations ask for assistance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRoger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear CRoger2013'

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful time. Both October and November are wonderful times to come and visit. We have great rates, the sales in town are on, the restaurants are super easy to get in to and the weather is nice! (This Fall in particular has been nothing short of spectacular!)

Thank you for letting everyone know!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked a stay for my wife and I (first wedding anniversary) at a quaint little inn. We were there for two minutes and knew we could not stay! The walls were paper thin, the room was EXTREMELY small, it was a little too quaint. I told the manager I wanted my money back, then me and the wife started walking aimlessly, hoping to find a nice place to stay. (I was worried this Nantucket trip was going to fail miserably) We walked two blocks and found a hotel called the White Elephant. The staff was extremely pleasant and professional. They informed us there were no rooms available, that they were booked solid. However, they allowed us to stay at one of their cottages, which were prepared and reserved for upcoming Thanksgiving reservations. They could have taken advantage of us with the room rate, because we were desperate. Instead they gave us one of their best available suites at the price of an average room to help us with our situation. WHAT A BLESSING! The room was absolutely gorgeous, romantic fire place, spacious. modern, luxurious, everything I dreamed of for our anniversary. From the accommodations, to the staff, to the hotel van transporting us into town, to the awesome meal we had at the White Elephant restaurant, it was all 5 Star. I highly recommend this hotel as one of the best I have ever experienced all around. : )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Daniel L;

I am so happy that we were able to accommodate you and your wife. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have a lot of Bed and Breakfasts on Nantucket and they are lovely. Some are more quaint than others, but it is a certain type of stay. Both the White Elephant and our sister property, the White Elephant Village sound like they are more your speed. The White Elephant stays open on weekends through Christmas Stroll with Thanksgiving and Stroll being four day weekends. So we are about to close this Sunday for the first time and then reopen on Friday the 1st. It is amazing how busy we do get doing it this way. It is probably the great rates we have out there. :-)

We hope to see you and your wife again soon and please let me know if I can assist with reservations. blandt@niresorts.com is my e-mail address. We can always open up a cottage here and there for an extra day..

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
5.9 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton St, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing