We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable!”
Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My stay with the White Elephant was an experience in comfort and superb relaxation. The friendly and present staff applied consistent attention to assure that all of my needs were met, from extending initial warm greetings upon arrival, to providing detailed guidance as I navigated my stay on Nantucket, to providing pleasant room surprises that I discovered upon my return. I had consistent feelings of security, warmth and comfort throughout my stay. The rooms and grounds are impeccable, the amenities plentiful. The extra effort that the White Elephant management and staff made to ensure that my stay was as enjoyable, personal, and pleasant as possible made all of the difference in my stay on Nantucket. Highly recommended for luxury, comfort, quiet, convenience, and wonderful harbor views!

Room Tip: A room with harbor view is fantastic for the full Nantucket experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aspentravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Jodi O;

Thank you so very much for your review. We love hearing that you felt taken care of and relaxed throughout your stay. We try to balance being available and throughtful without coming across as overbearing, and it sounds like the staff did a wonderful job. I do have to say that the team really is amazing this year in particular.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went to the White Elephant with my husband to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. We were expecting a nice, relaxing, romantic get-away and we were NOT disappointed! We were greeted by a friendly driver at the dock , transfered to the beautiful hotel. Our room was absolutely perfect, with a nice view of the harbor, nice balcony, beautiful furnishings and a welcoming anniversary cake! Our fireplace was not working properly and we had a bit of trouble with the balcony door- but the staff fixed both small problems very quickly. The weather was not at all cooperative during our Nantucket stay but that was not much of a problem because the staff was always ready to drive us to our destination, or offer us umbrellas for the short misty walk into town. It is an expensive destination (the hotel and everything on the island!) but it was worth it and we hope to be able to go back again soon!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are nice and quiet. Corner rooms have the most windows and the best views. I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review!

20 years is a wonderful achievement! Congratulations! I am happy to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay and we do hope you make it an annual event.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the White Elephant for a short vacation. It was an expensive indulgence, but it was great. The staff was wonderful, and the room was very comfortable. Also, the location is great. Very close to town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGator_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Travelgator_10;

Thank you for posting a lovely review! We are happy to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is so nice and close to town, it is great to walk everywhere.

I hope you can find time to come again!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The other weekend, I took my husband and two young sons (2, 4) to The White Elephant for an impromptu birthday trip for my husband. The staff did not leave any stone uncovered. From the free room upgrade, to the welcome toys left on the bed for my sons, to the surprise birthday cupcakes for my husband, everything was perfect. A shuttle welcomed us off the ferry and all of our needs were met. Best of all (with our kids), we were able to check in super early and get our Nantucket trip started. We will absolutely be back!

As for travelling with kids, they also thought of everything. A nice, wooden crib was left in the room as were different sized diapers plus organic kid toiletries. When initially booking, I was unsure if it would be 'kid friendly' enough. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage and I would definitely do that again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bweg762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear bweg762

Thank you for your lovely review. Travelling with kids (I have two under five myself) can be a bit intimidating, so we do make it a point to help in any way we can. I love the amenities for kids we have this year. They are from this amazing company called "Little Twig". I am delighted you noticed! We also have umbrella strollers if you don't want to bring your own next time.

We are glad your husband's birthday trip was a success and we hope to see you again sometime, with or without the kids!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It does not get much better than the White elephant. The staff, the room, the food, the location, the over all experience was wonderful. We have recommended the White Elephant to several of our friends and relatives. We loved the white car.

Room Tip: we were lucky, we got a free upgrade, but I do not have knowledge of other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Mantoloking;

Thank you for posting a review on the White Elephant. The white car is a 1939 LaSalle that is apparently one of only 185 made that year! It really is amazing. It prouldy rode in the Daffodil Parade this April and has already driven one bride and her dad to St. Mary's church this season!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerley,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We traveled to Nantucket with a group of six couples. From the moment we stepped off the ferry the White Elephant was outstanding. They greet you at the ferry, check in is simple, they accommodated getting six rooms in the same area. The staff learn your name and whether it's a strange request for drinks or a last minute request for a dinner reservation for twelve they never failed to go out of their way to provide service with a smile. And the price for the location, accommodations, and service is a huge value.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear WadeW;

Thank you and your friends for choosing the White Elephant for your Nantucket Vacation. It is always fun to travel with a great group. While we do get lots of families and couples, we often see groups of friends like your crew really enjoy the island. There is truly something for everyone and we are such a short distance from town too!

This time of year, last minute reservations are generally not a problem (even for 12!), although in the summer I would advise making those reservations ahead of time through our pre-arrival concierge.

I am thrilled you all had such a good time and that my team helped make your visit such a success. Please come again!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I were married on Nantucket 35 years ago and visit as often as time will allow. We have stayed at the White Elephant twice before during the quieter seasons (which we prefer) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn is spotless and the service exemplary. The Brant Point Grill and bar serve fabulous food and drinks and the location can't be beat. It's hard to break away from for other dining options, but Nantucket has so many great choices. When we venture out for the evening, we always stop by for a nightcap before turning in. We're looking forward to our upcoming visit in May - only a few more weeks to go! Pat & Bill, Hopedale

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 685,978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Pat & Bill;

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor! I hope that you have the glorious weather on your next trip hat we have today for Daffodil Weekend! It is amazing!
I cannot wait to hear what you think about our enhanced menu selections at the Brant Point Grill! Chef worked very hard on adding more items and on making sure everyone's favorites (including his own of course!) are available. Have a look on our website ... we have had great feedback so far.

See you soon!

Bettina Landt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Address: 50 Easton St, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554-2258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: $255 - $1,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing