We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wauwinet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wauwinet
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Wauwinet for the last two nights of our Nantucket honeymoon. The location is unbeatable- it is out on the island, away from town, right on a beautiful cove. The staff were friendly and totally accommodating (e.g. they packed a perfect picnic dinner for us to take down to the beach, even though we didn't realize we needed to place an order for that early). The concierge, Lula, was genuinely friendly and helpful. The bartender, Mitch, knew a lot about music and we had a great evening just sitting chatting and having cocktails. We took the bikes (included in the rate) out to Sconset for a great afternoon excursion. The Spa was a dream. Thank you to the entire Wauwinet staff for making our honeymoon relaxing and completely enjoyable!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 215cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    25
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
134
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were first timers on Nantucket Island, & thoroughly enjoyed our brief (3 nite) stay at the Wauwinet. Our room was rather small but comfortable. This wasn't a surprise-- we consciously did not book one of the more expensive suites. Our room had a magnificent view of the Bay during the day, and of an incredible sunset each evening. Staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive. Seemed like our room was unobtrusively tidyed up nicely each time we left it. Complimentary coffee, pasteries & newspaper each morning in the library. Free WI-Fi throughout the resort. We enjoyed a complementary private tour of nearby historical 'Sconset'. Our guide (Rob) was very knowledgeable abt Nantucket history. The 2 hr tour was well worth the time. While the resort is abt 20 minutes by car from town, the Wauwinet provides a convenient hourly shuttle for downtown shopping/dining. Outstanding (although very pricey) dinner at Toppers Restaurant. Very nice complementary continental breakfast each morning (juices, coffee & tea, hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, various fruits, yogurt, cold cereals, etc). Also complementary wine & cheese in the late afternoon. The Whaling Museum downtown was a nice surprise - and not too expensive. All in all, this is a great spot for vacationers who'd like a quiet, restful stay on Nantucket Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lponsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I visit Nantucket often, but I have never stayed at the Wauwinet. Although it is not located near town the shuttle offers you a great service. The hotel rooms are very clean, but my room was very small and cramped. A bit disappointing. The hotel staff were all very nice and accommodating . Most hotels offer some type of coffee maker in the rooms this hotel does not. They offer cider and port wine in the afternoons. Being a coffee drinker we asked for 2 cups which they did serve us. Little did I know they would charge for this....$14.00! The breakfast was delicious when ordering off the menu. Toppers is a beautiful restaurant but the selections are not great. The food was good, but not as outstanding as I expected.
The grounds are beautiful with beaches on both sides. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. If you like to work out do not expect much! The gym is a little shed with 2 machines and a mini fridge. Also, there is no pool. The staff was so helpful with beach chairs and bikes which they do not charge for.
I just don't know that I can justify the price for this hotel. It was expensive and not as exceptional as I thought it would be. Although it was a great time and a nice relaxing weekend, I would look for a better deal with more amenities closer to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just1Rhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've been to Wauwinet several times over the past 5 years and it is always incredibly relaxing with an enormously accommodating and responsive staff. We always make use of the free bikes and enjoy the trip to Siasconset and the new-ish Lifesaving Museum. Just a great way to get away from the hectic pace of life elsewhere.

The rooms are nicely updated and cozy--especially the cottages, where they've always accommodated me. Each afternoon they serve a version of "high tea" with port, sherry and light snacks. Even on the rainy evenings, watching a video from their library with a complimentary silver punchbowl full of warm popcorn is lovely.

If you want nightlife you have to go into the city but the regular shuttles make that easy and just a quick 15 minute or so ride.

The restaurant, Topper's, is a destination spot on the island, so be sure to make dinner reservations.

Room Tip: give them a call and they'll help you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCafficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Haughty restaurant manager for whom everything seems to be a huge invonvenience. Zero flexibility in the menu which is extremely limited during the day unless you want to eat a full meal in the restaurant. No snacks, no drinks service on the feted lawn, attentiveness doesn't even figure - there is just a total absence of service. This is an expensive restaurant for whom the lodging guests are an awkward sideshow. I won't write about the positives because that awful standardised response that tries to refocus the reader on the positives will irritate me! At this price level the guest had to be at the centre. We were here six nights and have no idea who the manager was. At no point were we addressed by our name; the staff had no clue. The Wauwinet could offer world class service and complete the package but a lack of basic, guest focused service leaves it woefully short of other hotels at this price point. Very frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bytheway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Came here with my husband only a month after our honeymoon to reconvene with friends. The staff could not be warmer and they seem to be really genuine too. There is no pool, but there are 2 beaches and a van service should dismiss any concerns that it is not close to town. The gym is small but if you play tennis there are 2 nice clean courts and the location is a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superpup212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location that is truly one of a kind. The view of the harbor is breathtaking. Although the hotel is nice, I much preferred it prior to the renovation when it was a family hotel. The dining room used to have sweeping views of the harbor. The way they have re-done the hotel you can't see the water from the dining room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second and third floor on the harbor side have beautiful views. The cottages are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bondoobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
5.9 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
6.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
6.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wauwinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wauwinet

Property: The Wauwinet
Address: 120 Wauwinet Road, P.O. Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02584
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantucket
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Wauwinet 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WAUWINET is situated in between the Atlantic Ocean and Nantucket Bay, The Wauwinet is the island's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. An adults-only escape, it is the stuff of storybook romance. Its grounds are beautifully landscaped, with unmatched views and access to two beaches - one on the ocean and one on the bay. The 33-room inn is a study in luxe comfort, from Pratesi linens to antique furnishings and private sundecks. TOPPER'S, its New American cuisine restaurant, is consistently ranked one of the top in New England. A continual recipient of Wine Spectator's "Grand Award," the restaurant features over 1,400 American and international wine vintages. Guests who want a casual open-air lunch can linger on TOPPER's Deck before ambling out to the beach for sunbathing, a little fishing, or a boat trip. The relaxing and effective menu of treatments features therapies using locally-sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wauwinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wauwinet Hotel Nantucket
Wauwinet Hotel Nantucket
Wauwinet Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing