We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but check the bathroom before booking”
Review of Ships Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ships Inn
Ranked #13 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in Neptune room for 3 nights.

Like:-
Very comfortable bed (we had the best sleep in our trip)
Location (close to main street and shopping, quite, and safe to walk at night)
The historic feeling (old but charming)
The decor(Rustic/English/Nantucket style)
Spacious room

Dislike:-
Our bathroom is very bad (poor asset condition, very cramped, no bathtub, much worse than 3 star hotel bathroom)
Breakfast (quiches, boiled egg, cereal, yoghurt, toast) would be nicer if it could be changed to English styled one/ more tailored made breakfast
Expensive considering our poor bathroom conditions

Room Tip: Avoid Neptune Room - check out bathroom before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 80 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had reservations at the Ships Inn on Nantucket for Memorial Day weekend and the "Figawi" race. My contact person was Mary Lou, the manager. She was delightful to speak to during our numerous phone calls. We made our reservation and friends that we were traveling with made a reservation for a room near ours. I threw Mary Lou a curve ball when I called and inquired about the possibility of our daughter "crashing" on the floor of our room. Our daughter decided at the last moment to join us. Mary Lou was most accomodating and gave us permission to bring her along. While traveling to Cape Cod on Friday morning, I received a call from Mary Lou apologizing and telling us that our room had flooded. The Inn had made reservations for us at the Nantucket Hotel and were assuming all costs. I assured her that we were easy going and we appreciated their efforts. These things happen. Early Saturday evening we went to check in to the Nantucket Hotel, only to discover there was not a reservation for us. We found out that we did indeed have a reservation at the Nantucket Inn. Oops!!! We headed there and found a comfortable, clean room; but the Inn was quite far from the boat basin. We were happy to discover that they offered shuttle service. "We can make this work!" While on the shuttle to town on Sunday morning, I recieved a call from Bob, who owns the Ships Inn. He apologized profusely for the error in hotels and our adventures around the island. We told him that things were ok. He then stated that he was "mortified" and not only was the Ships Inn responsible for our emergency accomodations; but he was crediting our account for our stay with him!!!! We were stunned and most appreciative! We considered his gesture to be incredible customer service! Our friends stayed there and said it was one of the most comfortable beds they have had the pleasure to sleep in and they also said Mary Lou's breakfasts were "to die for". They did mention that rooms on the third floor were a bit challenging with a steep staircase. No problem! When we book again, we'll look for a room on a lower level. The Ships Inn is walkable and close to town. We definitely plan to book with them again on our next adventure to Nantucket! Thank you for taking care of us Mary Lou and Bob!!! We look forward to meeting you on a future stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinelectronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Most accomidating place.We have made it a tradition. We have always enjoyed are stays here. The hotel is very well kept and I would and have. told many people how well we have always been treated.I recommended this hotel to several friends and family.This is where we wanna keep coming for the next many years..It's a place we Love to Be!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1031ccDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

For the second consecutive year I stayed at the Ships Inn. I love this place. The breakfast...is worth the price of admission alone. At least a dozen offerings including homeade quiche (different varities), egg casseroles, homeade muffins and sweets, fresh fruit, granola, cereal, coffee, tea, juice...it's all delicious.

I have stayed in the single room and a double. The double had a fireplace, a private bath, TV, fridge. etc. This year my room faced the street, but because the Ships Inn is on a small side street there is no noise. It's an easy walk to either of the wharfs and less than a minute walk to the main street where all the action is.

Mary Lou is very nice and accomodating and makes you feel right at home. I highly recommend this very charming B&B

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo...there are two private single rooms that I prefer over the double. Extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Ships Inn for 3 nights. Mary Lou, the Innkeeper, helped us with our booking prior to our arrival and we were happy to meet her when she greeted us at the door. She is very extremely helpful and patient in recommending us places to eat and visit. The Inn has a long history where it was once a residence of a very famous whaling boat captain. The rooms are charming and decorated in different themes. Most things are functional considering the age of the house (and the location of nantucket island). The only odd thing was that our wash basin is outside of the bathroom.

We were very happy with the location of the Inn, it was literally 1 minute away from the main street. The restaurant in the basement served up some solid new england fare. All in all we have a very good experience at the Ships Inn.

Room Tip: The stairs can be quite steep leading to the 1st and 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Ships Inn in August of 2012 and were really happy with the Inn. I didn't realize it at the time, but having a restaurant in the Inn allows for a spectacular breakfast! Who wouldn't like hash brown casserol? The Inn Keepers were very kind and friendly but not over bearing. Our room was quite spaceous for a Nantucket Inn and I was told all the rooms are spaceous, a big plus when two people are staying together but not a couple! The decorations of the Inn are sophisticated, not an overwhealming amount of flowers on the walls or bed spreads (which I was happy to see!). This is the Fourth Inn I have stayed at in Nantucket and probably my favorite.

Room Tip: Top Floor room w two double beds has AC and long, narrow, dark bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

With 8 of us, service and delivery of food were terrific. Waitress was exceptional in her attention and reading when she needed to stop by and when to to. Lobster bisque was terrific as was the tuna special. Duck and and short ribs were excellemnt.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank xx_familyguy_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.5 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
195 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ships Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ships Inn

Address: 13 Fair St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $306 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ships Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ships Inn represents a unique piece of Nantucket history while providing the comfort and convenience essential to visitors.Located in a quiet historical neighborhood near town.The sought after combination of a historic inn and an acclaimed restaurant serving fresh local ingredients. A truly memorable Nantucket experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ships Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ships Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing