We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Home”
Review of Ships Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ships Inn
Ranked #15 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Felt Like Home”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Ships Inn in August of 2012 and were really happy with the Inn. I didn't realize it at the time, but having a restaurant in the Inn allows for a spectacular breakfast! Who wouldn't like hash brown casserol? The Inn Keepers were very kind and friendly but not over bearing. Our room was quite spaceous for a Nantucket Inn and I was told all the rooms are spaceous, a big plus when two people are staying together but not a couple! The decorations of the Inn are sophisticated, not an overwhealming amount of flowers on the walls or bed spreads (which I was happy to see!). This is the Fourth Inn I have stayed at in Nantucket and probably my favorite.

Room Tip: Top Floor room w two double beds has AC and long, narrow, dark bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

With 8 of us, service and delivery of food were terrific. Waitress was exceptional in her attention and reading when she needed to stop by and when to to. Lobster bisque was terrific as was the tuna special. Duck and and short ribs were excellemnt.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xx_familyguy_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had a wonderful two-night stay at the Ships Inn. The inn is a very short walk to town and the perfect spot for easy access to the ferry, shops and restaurants. The proprietors of the inn are gracious and welcoming. We had 3 people stay in a room and it was good sized and tastefully decorated. It also had hotel like amenities including a small frig, iron, blow dryer, cotton balls and shampoo, as well as towels and chairs for the beach. The breakfast was very good and it was a nice selection of pastries, quiche, eggs and yogurt. Coffee is available early in the morning and in the afternoon, homemade cookies, ice tea and lemonade were provided. The Ships Inn is a perfect place to stay on Nantucket. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostontraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I loved the Ships Inn. The location was perfect (a 5 minute walk into town) and our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Bedford room which easily could have accommodated 3 people. But probably the best part was the wonderful breakfast that we had in the pretty restaurant downstairs. I had forgotten that breakfast was included. The hot casseroles, muffins, yogurt, fruit, etc were all delicious. There was also coffee first thing in the morning in the upstairs sitting area. Fair Street is a pretty street with attractive houses and beautiful flowers. We had a great vacation on Nantucket!

Room Tip: Bedford and Nantucket rooms are both on the first floor. I was just as glad not to climb the steps w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3kidsPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I heard about the Ships Inn from our friend of mine who raved about it. I was planning a long weekend with my parents for their 60th wedding anniversary. I needed something close to town because my dad isn't that mobil. I emailed MaryLou about needing the ground floor for them. She was very helpful through the whole process and replied back promptly on any of my questions. Unfortunately, the day before we were suppose to go my dad was hospitalized. MaryLou was very understanding and refund everything but 10% service fee which was very reasonable since it was so late to rent 3 rooms. I hope to get to the Ships Inn one day and meet MaryLou!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank crd1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This well-kept historic house was situated in a convenient location, close to the main town centre, but in a quiet street. Our room was airy and clean and refreshingly bright for a historic house! Mary-Lou was friendly and helpful and the breakfast feast was delicious. They kindly stored our bags after we checked out so we could explore the town before our ferry back to the mainland. Ships Inn is a beautiful house and is very reasonably priced by Nantucket standards! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelldashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My friend and I stayed in the single rooms and shared the bath. We each had a sink in our rooms, a fridge-and let me tell you-the mattress in Aurora was better than the one I have at home. VERY comfortable. The place was spotless and the staff was very attentive while not obtrusive.

We arrived very early 7:30 am! We really hoped only to drop off our bags, but Mary Lou graciously showed us to our rooms since they were available - then invited us to breakfast! The location is wonderful and just steps away from downtown. Bob got my friend a cup of tea each night to take to her room even while working the busy restaraunt. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the breakfast's were wonderful. Substantial, not just muffins, all homemade and delicious!

Highly recommend. This was my first time at a B & B and I will surely stay here agein.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJones29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ships Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ships Inn

Property: Ships Inn
Address: 13 Fair St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ships Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ships Inn represents a unique piece of Nantucket history while providing the comfort and convenience essential to visitors.Located in a quiet historical neighborhood near town.The sought after combination of a historic inn and an acclaimed restaurant serving fresh local ingredients. A truly memorable Nantucket experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ships Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ships Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing