We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Families”
Review of Nantucket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nantucket Inn
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Families”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Other than renting a house, the Nantucket Inn is the best option for families. It is affordable, includes great amenities, including an amazing "free" breakfast, and is situated in an ideal location. I was hesitant about staying across from the airport when there are so many beautiful locations on the island, but it was perfect. We rented a car and spent most of our time on the beach. We ate at a variety of restaurants and picked up picnic supplies at the the store. In the past we have stayed in town, which has its virtues, but in doing so it kept us in town every night shopping at the same stores and eating over exaggerated prices because we were in town.

Our next visit to the island we will rent a house or stay at the Nantucket Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in courtyard 1 on the bottom floor. I believe rooms have been renovated in this courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you hellcatt for the very nice review. We agree that there are lots of lodging options on Nantucket and they all have pros and cons. And we always appreciate hearing about visits that represent a happy change from previous visits to the Island. We look forward to your next visit with your family. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    32
    11
    12
See reviews for
100
68
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I was little nervous about booking near an airport and being away from town. But once We arrived at the Inn, we knew it was a great decision ! When I made the reservations with Clarissa in June, I just assumed I was calling A "Call Center" out of the country. Who greeted us at the front desk -Clarissa ,she had remembered all the fine details of our conversation. I was very impressed.
Our Room/suite Cisco was very nice & charming. Loved waking out into the courtyard. I saw one review re: the breakfast that wasn't rated high, so I figured it would be just bagels & cereal, my husband was thrilled to see a beautiful Buffett of eggs, bacon ,pancakes, waffles, and fruit. The Staff was amazing, especially Courtney & Norris very attentive to All our Needs, loved seeing lifeguards at the pool , a rarity these days. We are Very Fuzzy Guests and Nantucket Inn scored high on our list!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
...and we loved having you as our "fuzzy" guest Mb L! Thank you! We are always happy to hear of our guest's pleasant experience but even happier when we hear it was a pleasant surprise! And we will be certain to pass along your kind words to Carissa, Courtney and Norris. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We just returned from spending 3 days at the Nantucket Inn and I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone traveling to the island. The staff was more than accommodating. They went above and beyond to meet and exceed all of our requests. The same is true for the shuttle drivers. It was never a problem if they diverted from the route and dropped us off for dinner. The housekeeping crew did an amazing job cleaning the room. We will be back again soon.

Denise L.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sumer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Denise for your very kind words regarding the facility and our staff - we will be sure to pass them along! Just to be clear, as a general rule our drivers are asked not to divert from the prescribed route and stops. We are glad that they were able to accommodate your requests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed 5 nights check in on Sun and out on Friday. Weather was iffy so we made great use of the indoor pool...such a plus! AND the indoor pool has slider doors so you don't feel super enclosed and allowed for fresh air as it wasn't cold.. high 70's. Staff was fantastic! Shuttle service was PERFECT allowed us to navigate Nantucket completely car free! Breakfast buffet - amazing!! Didn't need lunch after that! :)

Accommodations more than adequate. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. A lil wear but not shabby by any means.

Be sure to walk over to the Crosswinds Cafe at the Airport - great meals for excellent prices!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in courtyard 1 - will put you close to Main Lobby and shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you Vicki! We think your headline says it all - but we certainly appreciate the entire review and all the kind words. (Yes! the Nantucket Inn is the island's only hotel with an indoor pool) Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful mid-week stay at the Nantucket Inn. It's an affordable option for the island- not luxury by far- but lovely (I found the main house/reception area particularly charming and cozy), clean, and accommodating. It's a bit off-putting to see the airport when you drive up, but the property and the shuttle (which is fabulous) more than make up for that. The room was very clean (including the bathroom, which I am fussy about), with clean and inviting white bedding in the oversized double room. The staff- from the front desk, to the shuttle drivers, to the bartenders (my husband enjoyed chatting with Wendell at the bar)- were attentive, warm, and professional. My only complaint was about the written presentation/advertising of "Mom's Breakfast" as something special- it was simply your typical, hotel breakfast buffet, with the standard choices. I'd have no complaints if it were simply advertised as "full buffet breakfast" or something of that sort, but billing as is implies (to me) that there will be cooked-to-order options, or at least an omelette station. So, despite the rave reviews on the breakfast, we were the least pleased with this. But, don't let this deter you- it's still a great place if you are looking for something more affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pympkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you Pympkin for your very kind words - especially regarding our amazing staff! Although it seems that perhaps you have been reading the wonderful tripadvisor reviews of our free Mom's Breakfast. As I think you will find that we actually keep our description quite simple - as you suggest. In any event, we thank you very much and look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has a lot to offer. But there are some down sides as well.

The pros- The staff was extremely friendly! The lobby, check-in and indoor bar areas were very pretty. The room price was reasonable. The free breakfast was wonderful! Shuttle was convenient -but perhaps they could add a stop somewhere else on the island. Two pools to choose from. Nice toiletries from Bath and Body Works!!


The cons-The grounds have plenty of flowers but the buildings are a bit run down. They need better building maintenance on the outside. Lots of mold...needs a good power washing! The walk ways are trimmed with old wood that really needs upgrading. The outdoor furniture in the courtyards could use replacing with nicer furniture.

The room was ok, but the bathroom needs nicer floors and updating. Room in general needed upgrading. The television was a large screen but not HD. The walls in the rooms are very thin!
In the middle of the night, some rowdy neighbors were outside our room, or perhaps in their room, screaming/carrying on all night. I called down to request that someone speak to them. The noise continued! In the morning I was told someone went looking for them but could not find them!!! What?? They were so loud, it was impossible not to hear them!!! I was told in the morning upon asking, that I could be moved within the same courtyard, but that would not have helped. Thank goodness they seemed to leave the next day! It was very disappointing-sleepless night! I know it was not their fault, but I really wished someone would have quieted them down! :( Maybe they need a bouncer at night! ;)

It would be nice to have a larger bar menu for the outside pool. A few of beers to choose from and one mixed drink of V8 Splash and a TINY bit of Malibu rum.

All in all it was a nice stay. The staff were VERY nice. I would only suggest that the owner of the property invest some money into upgrading some things. It seems the staff does well with what they have. This is a great place for people with children and the two pools are nice activities for the kids. Breakfast is VERY good...and I'm not even a breakfast person. My kids kept asking if there was a gift shop...not necessary but if people need sunscreen, goggles, snacks etc. for the pool, that would be helpful! I know it's not the White Elephant, but if the OWNER invested in a few things it would be right up there! ;)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank krisiek22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottWThomas, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear krisiek! Thanks very much for the nice and detailed review. We won't hit every point you mention but we did want to touch on one in particular. Our ownership is committed to reinvesting in the property and providing a quality product for our guests. After funding important infrastructure projects such as roofs and mechanicals, the vast majority of our capital investment each year is earmarked for guest related improvements. This includes an on-going multi-year bathroom renovation plan. The Nantucket Inn fills the important affordable niche in the Nantucket lodging market and has no desire to compete with our high dollar luxury neighbors. But we appreciate the thought. And thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with these wonderfull people over july 4th weekend . We were on the island for a wedding . The rooms were clean and just the right size . Moms breakfest was awesome ! I would like to say how WONDERFULL AND COURTEIOUS the staff was ! Extremely accomidating .the outside pool with bar was def the coolest along with the inside lounge bar . Thank you mr wyndell , brent , patricia and peter for making us feel at home ! Great job ! ! We will be back to see you for sure !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.6 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantucket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantucket Inn

Property: Nantucket Inn
Address: 1 Miller Lane, Nantucket, MA 02554-2898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nantucket Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Nantucket. 100 room resort nestled among three landscaped acres just outside the hustle and bustle of downtown. Indoor and outdoor pools, lighted tennis courts and complimentary shuttle service to historic downtown and nearby Surfside beach (ferry and airport transfers too). All rates include complete Mom's Breakfast. Great package plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nantucket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing