We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nantucket Inn - affordable”
Review of Nantucket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nantucket Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nantucket Inn - affordable”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Inn was affordable since the wedding I attended was held at the Wauwinet. It's more of a motel setup. I entered in the front door with my group returning from a wedding and there was noone at the front desk. Granted it was around 11pm. I stood there talking in because I couldn't tell if there was someone in the back room and wanted to make sure they could hear me. Once she did she came out, was pleasant and attended to me. We then went to find my room. It was 2 buildings back. this was unexpected but fine. But when I walked into the room it smelled of stale smoke to me. The decor was very 70's gold waffle bedspread with a blanket and sheet. I'm afraid the carpet and walls seemed to hold the smoke smell from bygone days of when folks could smoke in there. The towels were rough and a bit overused. I don't expect lush...but rough....time to get new ones. I did appreciate the bathroom haveing seperate space for someone to be inside using the shower and toilet and an outside space with mirror and sink as well. It was affordable and did offer van service to and from the ferry as well as a great free buffet breakfast., waffle station-made on the spot. french toast, home fries, sausages, bacon, fruit,etc. Just make sure they know you are staying there. We were charged but luckily we said something at the front desk asking them "wasn't breakfast supposed to be free if we stayed here?" they said yes, so we ran up stairs and got our monies back. Didn't get a chance to try out the pool but nice to know that was an option since they're not situated on the ocean. The airport was right across the street, luckily didn't hear any planes flying. Sculpture Park up the street was nice as well. enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PVonn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket Inn, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
We are so glad you found the Nantucket Inn an affordable choice on Nantucket - and we certainly hope you enjoyed the wedding. Design is certainly a subjective choice but wanted to make clear to our tripadvisor friends that all of our guest rooms have been updated with new beds and bedding, carpet, lighting and even flat panel television in the past few years. Obviously we need to address the issue of the smoke smell as well as the bath linens in that particular room. And if we could leave a traveler tip it would be "please don't forget your breakfast vouchers" to enjoy your complete Mom's Breakfast that is included in most room rates. we are glad you enjoyed your stay overall PVonn and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    85
    32
    12
    12
See reviews for
100
71
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I am a 22 year veteran of the hospitality industry. This is not an Inn it is a hotel.
I agree with some of the other comments about "updating". The plastic plants need to go in Mom's, curtains in the room did not match, could not turn off the fan in room, needed a soap dish, staff needs to smile more, front desk staff no name tags, the croissants were stale, musty smell in room, bill folder was very worn (they are free on the Amex website) and the shuttle stop was used as storage space.

On the positive side, the shuttle van drivers were so nice! Please tip them. You are saving tons of money on cabs. They deserve at least 2.00 a ride. The pools were clean, the rooms were big, mattresses were comfy, towels were fluffy, Mom's breakfast was bountiful, lots of comfy places to sit and relax!


Quite location not too far away from town.

Room Tip: Room 109 had windows on both sides of the room, near the main building, near shuttle stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caelan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket Inn, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks Caelan! We appreciate the kind words and constructive criticism. We agree the name is a bit confusing (and getting more so with the addition of the Nantucket Hotel to the island) but we've always represented ourselves as the complete resort hotel (with comfy beds and fluffy towels!) that we are - and not a guest house or inn. I believe you were with us during the first week of our new season, so there are always a few glitches that need to be worked out. But I can assure you that they are being resolved - except for the plastic flowers in Mom's, that's by design - don't all Mom's have a vase of plastic flowers in their kitchen?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Nantucket Inn has the best of both world. The location is away from the downtown but that it not always a bad thing. My sisters and I (six in total) spent a weekend in Nantucket. During the day we could take the shuttle to the beach or in town for lunch and shopping. Yet, in the morning we could swim, play tennis, ride bikes or go for a run. In the evening we were able to gather in the courtyard for a recap of the days events. The size of the rooms, the restaurant and bar and the outdoor space are a big plus from anything you would find in the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake577105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket Inn, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thanks Jake! We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We think your description of the Nantucket Inn as "the Best of Both Worlds" is particularly apt - the comforts of an inn with the amenties of a resort! What a perfect combination. Thanks and we look forward to seeing you - and the family - again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Each spring The Nantucket Inn runs special packages until the first week in June.. The rooms are clean, quiet and newly renovated. The Mom's Breakfast Buffet included in my package, was enough to hold us over till mid day, with plenty of "fuel"( coffee, fresh fruit, eggs, waffles & muffins etc.) to get you walking, bicycling, or riding around the island on the local transit, The Wave. Daily or multiple day passes can be purchased at reduced rates as you board the bus. If you're like me and want to save money, beat the heat and summer crowds, this is the place to be. The Inn is located by the airport, just a few miles outside of town. ( The Nantucket Inn is a value and is convenient for those who have the time and prefer being just far enough away from downtown, without having it at your doorstep). Their courtesy van runs early morning to late night to the downtown shops, restaurants and ferries on the hour and returns from the Visitors Center on Federal Street at quarter past the hour . Nantucket is called "The Gray Lady" because all the structures are weathered gray. This is one of my favorite places to visit, especially if you're looking for quiet times with nature. great food, quaint shops, poolside rest and relaxation or swimming at the many fine beaches. I choose to take the fast ferry out of Hyannis, which gets you to the island in an hour.. if traveling by car, then The Steamship Authority's regular ferry , also from Hyannis, is your only choice. I love the first week in June and can't wait for my third return!

Room Tip: I stear clear of the ice machines and high traffic of elevators.. every room has been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytravelerUSA0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket Inn, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you happytraveler for your extensive and very kind review! We agree that, as your schedule permits, early summer and fall are the best times to enjoy Nantucket without the crowds. And to save some money! All of our wonderful staff will be returning for the 2012 season - we can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We came here for my birthday last summer. What a disappointment. It's not close to town, you have to take a shuttle to town. The rooms are horrible, they are like 1970's hotel rooms for 200-250 a night, not worth it- you can hear everything and they smell funky-- Pay a little extra and stay in town! Trust me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket Inn, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Hi jennifer! Thanks for taking the time to write down your thoughts! We are sorry that your birthday getaway didn't live up to your expectations. We hope that you were aware that the resort is not located within walking distance of main street before you arrived. We think the free shuttle service makes us pretty convenient but we understand if that doesn't for everyone. We wish you had contacted us regarding any problems with your room. We feel confident that we would have resolved any deficiencies. Except for our location - unfortunately we can't change that! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Its located a little way out of town near the airport but there is a free shuttle that will bring you to/from town. Staff are very nice. Outdoor pool and hottub were nice. There's a little snack/drink bar at the pool. Rooms were clean and nice. There was a full hot breakfast that was really good.Overall I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket Inn, General Manager at Nantucket Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks cg! We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed there on Columbus day weekend. The room was a nice size and had a mini fridge. Hotel was quiet with several quaint courtyards. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was very good. The only draw back was that it was a few miles from town, but they do have a shuttle that runs every hour.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarawilson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.6 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
2.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
2.4 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantucket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantucket Inn

Property: Nantucket Inn
Address: 1 Miller Lane, Nantucket, MA 02554-2898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nantucket Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Nantucket. 100 room resort nestled among three landscaped acres just outside the hustle and bustle of downtown. Indoor and outdoor pools, lighted tennis courts and complimentary shuttle service to historic downtown and nearby Surfside beach (ferry and airport transfers too). All rates include complete Mom's Breakfast. Great package plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nantucket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing