We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Stay”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #8 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming Stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Cliff Lodge for a much needed retreat. The property is conveniently located for anyone taking a ferry to the island. You can walk from Main Street in about 10 minutes. You can also walk to Jetties Beach in about 15 minutes. The property is well-kept and clean. The grounds are dotted with beautiful flowering shrubs and trees. There are several nice outdoor seating areas for reading or relaxing. We stayed in one of the suites so the room was plenty big. The bed was very comfortable. The furnishings and decor are a bit dated, but in a quaint fashion. The bathroom would benefit from some updating, but it was clean and functional. Sally, the inn-keeper, was very hospitable and put out plates of homemade cookies every afternoon. Breakfast was also very good with fabulous homemade muffins and scones. All in all, a very nice place to stay. This property is for someone who enjoys charm over luxury.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    61
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
169
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We stayed at Cliff's Lodge in early August. Here is a breakdown of our experience:

Pros:
* The innkeeper was friendly.
* Breakfast, which mainly consisted of scones, cereal and coffee was OK.
* General use rooms are well maintained.

Cons:
* Our room was incredibly small. I'm 5'7 and could literally reach my arms from one end of the room to the other. If you book a room on the third floor, you need to be aware of this. This was our #1 issue with the Lodge [we expected small and got tiny].
* While not my highest priority, you should be aware that the TV is tiny (about 10") with no remote.
* Our bathroom door would not stay shut.
* The room looked old and it looked run down.

While we mainly explored Nantucket and did not spend much time in our room, the accommodations were below our expectations.

  • Liked — Location was good.
  • Disliked — Shabby small room.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fletch608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We LOVED The Cliff Lodge. We stayed for 6 days - The owner, Sally, made us feel like we were staying at a friends house! She baked awesome home made granola, scones and muffins each day for breakfast. In the afternoon we looked forward to her delicious baked cookies and lemon bars. We walked to dinner, wharfs and shopping. There is no need for a car because of the location in town. The rooms and the entire Cliff lodge was bright and clean. We especially enjoyed afternoons on the back lawn on the hill in the comfy chaise lounge chairs. We met so many nice people as we joined them for breakfast in the outdoor terrace. We can't wait to go back!
-- Greg and Mary, NJ

  • Liked — Loved the location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marygreg1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My husband booked the Cliff Lodge for our 20th anniversary getaway. We arrived on our first day and were warmly greeted by the Innkeeper, Sally to get us "settled in". Our room was small. I would book a slightly bigger one next time, but it was very comfortable and clean complete with the fluffiest designer towels and bathrobes I have ever felt! Breakfast was wonderful - fresh fruit, cereal, granola, juice, coffee, and still warm homemade pastries brought in every morning. We ate our breakfast outdoors in the garden patio area and had a lovely conversation with several guests each morning. Sally came out each morning to greet her guests and she was around when you needed her, but not intrusive at all. She is a delightful hostess with lots of great island recommendations. The Inn is just a very short walk outside of town. I thought is was perfect - just outside of the town enough to get away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to get there when you need to. The Cliff Lodge is a wonderful B&B and I highly recommend it. I will definitely go back! Thanks to Sally for a wonderful getaway!

  • Liked — The garden patio areas, breakfast, Inn's location, and the Innkeeper, Sally!
  • Disliked — Nothing...everything was perfect!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Outstanding Stay ! This was our 5th time on Nantucket and our 4th at Cliff Lodge. The innkeeper, Sally makes you feel like family. The rooms are all in very nice condition and all have their own baths. None of the rooms have phones but cell service is good at the inn and most of the island. For us, the Widow's Walk is the best place to hang out and catch a sunset, or if you are lucky enough to catch the Wachovia fireworks as we did, it is an added bonus. We plan to on continuing to make ACK and annual destination.

  • Liked — Widow's Walk
  • Disliked — Small Porch area or covered seating during rain
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bgleissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston North, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

What a charming place!! We have stayed at 10 different B&B's on Nantucket over the past 12 years and this by far was the best! Sally is a breath of fresh air and a wealth of information. The breakfast was exquisite and the rooms are warm and welcoming. EVERYTHING was perfect. Everything you would want in a "home away from home". We will be back!!!
~ A Daffodil Weekend repeat visitor~

  • Liked — Sally and breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing...everything was perfect
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank like_a_flower_blooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2008

This was my second trip to the Cliff House, and I can't wait for the next time. What better way to spend a relaxing, romantic weekend, than curled up on the couch in a room from the pages of Elegant Homes, by a roaring fire, and eating homemade chocolate walnut cookies. When ready to venture out, Sally has fantastic recommendations for dining and exploring the island. She's always there at the right time, and yet, let's you feel as if you are the only one in the house when you want your privacy. Even in the winter, the widow's walk is a magnificent place to capture the spectacular ocean/island view, and in the summer it's where you want to watch the sunset with a glass of wine.

Thank you, Sally for a wonderful weekend.

  • Liked — The Location, The Innkeeper, The Rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.8 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
The Beachside
The Beachside
#12 of 14 in Nantucket
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#7 of 38 in Nantucket
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 9 Cliff Rd, Nantucket, MA 02554-3639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood on a meticulously landscaped property, the inn is within easy walking distance to all downtown shops, restaurants, beaches, museums and ferry services. Although best known as a summer resort, Nantucket Island is extraordinary in every season, and the Cliff Lodge welcomes you with crackling fireplaces, down comforters, homemade afternoon treats, and special activity weekends during the quirt season. Experience the leisurely ambiance and delightful charm of the Cliff Lodge as a special place that always beckons you to return. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful garden patio, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Cliff Lodge is a place of easy elegance that can make you forget that you have ever worked for a living. We take pride in offering our guests personal service in a warm and friendly setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing