We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder inn and innkeeper”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #8 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent this last weekend at the Cliff Lodge. I can't say enough good things about this inn. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by the innkeeper, Sally. If you like a B+ B experience you will love this place! Breakfast ,although continental , was wonderful; fresh fruit and tasty homemade goodies. The wine and cheese party friday night was fun and we enjoyed the peanut butter cookies when we arrived back from sightseeing Sat. night. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Cliff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We just returned from our first Nantucket visit. Sally was a great host and quickly made us feel right at home. She was able to accommodate our late arrival (10:30pm) on Friday night and was happy to let us leave our bags in the living area while we explored more of the town after our checkout time on Sunday. Loved the afternoon cookies, cozy fire place, complimentary wine, yummy breakfast/coffee, the widows walk and the location (less than 10 minutes from downtown!).

Our room, Number 9, was small but didn't pose a problem for us as we aren't very tall. I wouldn't recommend that room if you are over 5'10" or have difficulty with stairs. Our room also only had one outlet accessible and it was in the bathroom. The hairdryers also aren't great for anyone with a decent amount of hair to dry as they overheat and shut off easily. We could also hear our neighbors in the room so privacy isn't great, but it is a B&B after all. Thanks again, Sally!

Room Tip: Low ceilings on the 3rd floor would not be ideal for those that are tall.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malmal113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sally runs a very welcoming B & B in Nantucket. The inn has lots of character and was very clean. The continental breakfast was very tasty and there were freshly baked goodies to welcome us home after a dy of sightseeing. Sally had lots of suggestions for things to do and places to eat. All in allit was a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnthetrailCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. The rooms were clean, Sally, the Innkeeper was extremely welcoming, the location was great, and the prices were reasonable. The beds were comfortable and the lighting was adequate. I can't wait to return to Nantucket....and when I do I'll most definitely be staying here!

Room Tip: Good water pressure
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms were old but well maintained, the breakfast and snacks provided were great, and Sally the inkeeper was super friendly. It's about a 10 minute walk from the ferry drop off point. The only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom in the room used to be a closet, so it's tiny, and the 'door' is actually like a cabinet door, so there's no real privacy when using the bathroom. I loved that the place has a Widow's Walk, we got cold cuts from the local market and ate sandwiches while watching the sunset.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yara T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Cliff Lodge is warm & inviting. The rooms and gardens are beautiful. Sally is a gracious, friendly proprietor with a wealth of information of the area. The location is central to walking to town or the beach. I highly recommend staying there and experiencing the delicous breakfasts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisbeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We just stayed here for the second time - I guess I could stop there! The location is great. The house is historical,lovely, clean quiet, and well furnished. There is a beautiful deck on the roof for great sunsets or great view anytime of day. And a sweet backyard where you can take your favorite beverage and enjoy the peace. The coffee is out at 7:30 and breakfast includes really tasty handmade scones! Good wine is in the fridge the first day. We were able to check in early and leave our bags until the end of the day when we checked out, Sally is welcoming, friendly and helpful. We hope to go back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivanigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#6 of 38 in Nantucket
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beachside
The Beachside
#12 of 14 in Nantucket
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 9 Cliff Rd, Nantucket, MA 02554-3639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $188 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood on a meticulously landscaped property, the inn is within easy walking distance to all downtown shops, restaurants, beaches, museums and ferry services. Although best known as a summer resort, Nantucket Island is extraordinary in every season, and the Cliff Lodge welcomes you with crackling fireplaces, down comforters, homemade afternoon treats, and special activity weekends during the quirt season. Experience the leisurely ambiance and delightful charm of the Cliff Lodge as a special place that always beckons you to return. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful garden patio, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Cliff Lodge is a place of easy elegance that can make you forget that you have ever worked for a living. We take pride in offering our guests personal service in a warm and friendly setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing