We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an astonishing display of inn keeping as it should not be.”
Review of Century House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century House
Ranked #5 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What an astonishing display of inn keeping as it should not be.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

First, the good: The little Century House is very pretty, and is not too far from the main part of town. In its day, I'm sure it was nice, but time has not been kind to the house, nor to the innkeeper, I'm afraid. Next the bad: the tiny room had no place to put our clothes, so we had to put them on the floor after unpacking. The breakfast (the other B) was by a long shot the most modest I've ever been served in a B and B. Yikes! Tepid oatmeal and store bought muffins and granola that was not very good. That was it! Also, wi-fi service was spotty. And finally, the ugly: We needed assistance from the innkeeper and rather than being helpful she was profoundly insulting and abusive (she seemed to be "not at her best" as my mother would say). Even at the end, we needed a place to store luggage while waiting for the ferry, which was an hour and a half from the mandated check out, but she made us store our luggage outside the room and cheerfully told me she could not guarantee it would not be stolen when we returned. We LOVED Nantucket Island, but we have since been advised by a local that there are far better B and Bs on the island in a similar price range. Next time, we will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 22fast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    27
    5
    10
    13
See reviews for
47
148
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cazenovia, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Century House is wonderful ! Clean, bright and a wonderful breakfast. I especially appreciate the early morning coffee, I grab a cup and walk down to the beach and watch the sunrise. They think of everything. We have tried other places on the island in past years and none compare. I think this will be our 8th year. Need I say more.

Gerry and Jean are the nicest couple and think of everything. What a great place to stay
We totally recommend.

Room Tip: Leave your cares and car on the mainland,take the Ferry & walk to eveything In Nantucket. All t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've wanted to go to Nantucket ever since watching "Wings" 15 years ago on TV, and what better place to stay than the Century House, depicted in several episodes. The REAL experience did not disappoint. Jeanie, the inn "keeperette" was wonderful, rooms were great, and the location perfect. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This well run B&B is welcoming and bright, immaculately clean, and very well located within walking distance to town. I especially love the porches where you can always find a shady corner and a comfortable chair. Take time for breakfast in the cozy kitchen where you will often find good conversation as you sit among a gallery of original art work furnished by painters who have visited this well regarded inn for working holidays. This is a very special place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very well run B&B. Innkeeper and staff do a terrific and unobtrusive job of making all guests feel comfortable. Our room, Black Orchid, was immaculate with heavy, beautiful moldings on ceiling, sparkling chandelier and newly renovated bath room. Softest bath towels looked brand new and bed linens were clean and pure white. Appreciated the cleanliness throughout the house. Living room upholstery looked newly done. Books abound. Daily afternoon chocolate chip cookies are a nice treat! Side porches make a perfect place to meet other guests before going out. Just outside of Town, house is an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants. Would recommend as a good find.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocketcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great location- about a 2 minute walk to town this B&B offers excellent customer service and food. The orange juice served in the morning is some of the best I've ever had. They also provide fresh baked cookies in the afternoon that can't be beat. The staff is knowledgable and always ready to help and offer suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I had a great time staying at the Century House on our "mini-moon" to Nantucket. The inn is beautiful, with a traditional yet breezy feel, and is only a 10-minute walk from the ferry. The decorations veered to the formal side - there is lots of floral wallpaper - but this is still unmistakably a beach house, with books piled everywhere and beach towels in a tote in your room.

We stayed in the Day Lily room, which was on the small side but had a private bathroom and porch. The room was air-conditioned, although we didn't really need it because of the sea breeze.

The "inkeeperette", Jeanie, was a warm and enthusiastic presence at breakfast every morning. She remembered (and sometimes forgot) everyone's names, shared stories, and gave us tips on what to do on the island. The food was delicious - secret-recipe oatmeal, yogurt (regular and Greek), granola, nuts, raisins, berries of all types, pastries, and more. You can either eat indoors and enjoy Jeanie's company or move outside to quieter locations on the inn's veranda.

The other guests were all very friendly - a mixture of couples and families with teenage/college-age children. Many of them were repeat guests.

The inn is close to downtown restaurants and the harbor-side beaches. It's easy to rent bikes or use Nantucket's bus system, the WAVE, to get elsewhere on the island.

We both heartily recommend the Century House and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
463 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century House

Property: Century House
Address: 10 Cliff Rd, P.O. Box 603, Nantucket, MA 02554-3640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breezy, wraparound veranda, top cliff historic residential location preferred for sophisticated travelers looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Century House provides the classic Nantucket experience. Located within walking distance to beach, restaurants and town tucked away. Luxury renovated rooms, patios, and gardens. All rooms have private baths, complimentary buffet breakfast, snacks, gourmet coffee and tea, soft drinks, beach towels and beach bag. Free Wi-Fi. Century House is the oldest continuously operating guesthouse on Nantucket. Built in 1833. Completely renovated since 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Century House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing