We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Brass Lantern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Brass Lantern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I brought my wife here for an extended weekend. We arrived early but we were allowed to leave our luggage and go out and explore the town. When we returned our room was ready. I had also ordered a bottle of wine with some fruit and cheese which we both found to be very enjoyable. The hotel is near most everything but not on a busy street like some of the others we have seen. I have read some of the other reviews about the lack of staff but we found them to be helpful when needed but we were also left alone. Which I liked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riddleofsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your gracious comments about the Brass Lantern and our level of guest interaction. We understand that guests want different levels of attention, information and conversation and strive to strike the right balance. We are glad that you enjoyed the wine and cheese - this is something new for this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    57
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
155
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The reviewer before me, bayfair, is right on. Definitely "old motel" like atmosphere. The furniture in our room was cheap and dated. Some household products like an orange spray might help with the chintzy pine bureau, at least cover up some of the mars and some spray paint might refresh the old wicker (like the cheap stuff I bought in the 1980's to decorate my first apartment). Looked like toothpaste was spilled down the front of the bureau. No view as the one window that one might look out of at eye-level was filled with a noisy, old air conditioner. Thank goodness for the room air conditioner, however, as the rest of the house was not air conditioned which made being in the dining room, hallways, and parlor uncomfortable. Bathroom was small. I'm not sure how a prior reviewer came out with this place being comparable to other 5-star venues. The breakfast was limited with store-bought muffins and some sliced fruit which did not appear to be particularly fresh. Never tried the home-made granola. Some slices of cheese on a tray and some cereal in containers not unlike one uses when camping was available as well. When some of the breakfast items were gone, they were gone and not necessarily replaced which made this a very limited breakfast. The location was right near the center of downtown so if that's where you want to be, and you are willing to pay a good deal of money for a cheap appearing room, then this is your place. If you want some comfort along with your location, I would definitely go elsewhere. The ambience is definitely that of a dated motel. And in my three days of staying here, I only saw one person and that one person checked us in to the room and thusly, the service was not impressive either. Definitely one of the most disappointing stays away from home in years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whitelegsofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Wow! These two reviews are so unlike our usual guest reviews it is hard to know where to start!

The Brass Lantern has been chosen “best on Nantucket” each year since 2009 in a poll conducted by Nantucket’s newspaper and widely read by people who are frequent Nantucket visitors. We received the tripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence since 2010 and have, this year, been invited to join the Diamond Collection of Inns. As tripAdvisor reviewers, perhaps, in planning their visits to Nantucket, these two parties took a look at many positive online reviews?

Our guest rooms are all air conditioned for our guests’ sleeping comfort, as one guest notes, but we intentionally use ceiling fans or table fans in the dining room and sitting room, because this evokes a more traditional Nantucket experience. Our screened windows are all open and there are pleasant ocean breezes to keep it comfortable.

Our breakfast with freshly-baked muffins and scones, home-made granola and yogurt, fresh fruit platter and, new this year and very well-received, cheese and fruit platter – is usually much enjoyed our guests. Everything is made fresh daily, and the spread for the photo shoot was our standard fare. Our buffet is replenished as it is consumed and, toward the end of the breakfast period when it is winding down, guests often ask for particular items which we readily provide.

We have six full time staff and are present and available for questions, information, service and hospitality from 7 am – 9 pm; and by phone after 9 pm.

We are sorry that these guests did not experience the Brass Lantern the way that most of our guests do - and wish that we had the opportunity, while they were here, to address their concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here three days with my family. Owners are on site some of the time but are taking advantage of a good location to charge unsuspecting tourists outrageous rates. No way does this B&B rank anywhere near others in it's price range. Rooms have that "old motel smell" that comes only from poor maintenance. Continental breakfast was taken from the shelves of the local market until the last day, when the owner was doing a photo shoot and sprung for an offering near what one would expect at this level.
Visited other inns on Nantucket and, believe me, there are lots of better choices.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/Westport/Provence
Level Contributor
330 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stay here. I travel the world (if you look at my other reviews) and am usually found at either 5* city hotels or luxury venues throughout France, Europe and the World. I've stayed at the George V in Paris to the most luxurious Game Lodge in South Africa. Why do I mention this? Fine..I'll tell you. Each year when the summer roles around, my partner and our Golden,Cara, enjoy our favorite trip of the year which is our visit to Nantucket and a large part of that is the amazing 'Brass Lantern'. The Inn has a very unique ambience that just enchants, relaxes, soothes and makes me happy, every time I am there. If you need service or help with anything, there is either the wonderful Emily or Sharon to help you. In their manner, they add to the wonderful ambience of the Hotel. Suddenly there when you need them....and letting you feel like it is your 'home' when you want to search through the well stocked pantry for some Champagne glasses for sitting out in the stunning garden before going done the street to the best Restaurants in Town. You might come back from the beach and be rinsing off your dog and suddenly Sharon will appear with a bowl of water for your thirsty canine, without you even being aware that she knew you returned. As for the Owner Michelle, I always believe that the 'air' of a Hotel/Inn/Lodge is set by the Owner or the General Director. I have become good friends with people in this position at the 'Paris Le Grand' as well as other top hotels in the world. In relativity to her small boutique inn, Michelle sets the tone of 'Easy Going Nantucket warmness infused with the best of everything'. It is hard to put into words how this magic Inn has managed to find the perfect balance of laid-back luxury with top service and help at your fingertips...but Michelle...with the help of Sharon and Emily has done so and it shows by the many repeats guests that I recognize over the years. The Inn is Historic with a Garden addition added that actually houses out favorite and one of the biggest rooms, 'Sconset Rose', We had stayed in the Top floor penthouse with a view the first two years until we discovered our favorite rom and it is going on three years now. The rooms are charming and done in casual New England Nantucket style with hints of luxurious amenities. The linens and duvets on the beds must be the most comfortable and 'top-of-the-line' i've experienced at a small hotel/inn. They are wonderful to feel after a day of sun, surf, dining and exploring. Crabtree and Evelyn products are in the bathroom on your arrival and two bottles of water are brought to your room each day...all included. The delicious breakfast and a tea service that includes wonderful scones and cookies (I think it starts at around 3 or 4) are all in the price of the room! Michelle has branched out in the breakfast spread and in addition to the fresh Scones, muffins, yogurt, juices, top-line teas and coffee, toast, granola and fruit..she has added a lovely cheese plate. Honestly, it is a bigger spread than you receive at some top end Inns in France! Sitting in the garden for breakfast is a wonderful way to start the day and I always dawdle for to long as you feel such a sense of peace and 'wellness'. If you want to talk with Michelle about..anything..anything..as she is not only a very good Inn Owner but is a walking font of information for issues that you would address to a concierge, the best time to find her is at breakfast, either greeting guests or working with her staff in the kitchen. The main sitting room is my favorite place to take a pre-dinner glass of champagne as there are small coolers in each rom and i always bring splits of champagne. This can save you tons at the wonderful but pricey restaurants on Nantucket where the Wines tend to be the most over-priced. Indeed, we hd champagne and some Rose (with a store bought appetizer) out in the garden before going to dinner at 'Straight Wharf" and must have shaved $50 off of our dinner bill. Other things to note: The Inn shines it is so clean and there are tons of books at your disposal made available throughout the hotel as well as a flat-screen TV, free Wi-fi and an offer for a reduction on the Ferry service to Nantucket. Oh...the location cannot be beat for walking to everything in town! For al that this includes, if you look at the prices of the other top-end Inns and Hotels on Nantucket, Brass Lantern is second to None!
As always...we are already looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Wow - thank you for your fabulous review - and for acknowledging our top notch staff! You have articulated perfectly the best kind of experience that we try to offer our guests - elegant but casual, present and helpful but not obtrusive - a holiday that provides relaxation, renewal and really good breakfasts! As always, we look forward to your next visit - see you on Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The brass lantern is a must stay. The inn is exceptional in service, hospitality and cleanliness The inn has parking which is a must with young babies. The fresh muffins, fruit and fresh squeezed juices and Pastries and homemade granola and yogurt where delicious for breakfast. located downtown made it easy to navigate to anything. We will definetly be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkarademos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind words - We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you another time at the Brass Lantern. We love to watch our littlest guests grow...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Nantucket, I have had 2 great stays at the Brass Lantern. The Inn is very well situated within a five minute walk to either Main Street or Children's Beach.

The rooms are impeccably maintained and beautifully decorated in New England style. The owner and staff are very welcoming. They cook their fantastic granola every night before breakfast, and muffins are fresh in the morning. Don't plan to lose weight here! The inn is especially pet-friendly.

The inn is not inexpensive - but that is true of all Nantucket! Enjoy a stay here for a haddle-free, relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutetia75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

good location
very small cramped rooms
restrictive 2 night minumum obnoxious
help seemed friendly enough
bed takes up whole room no where to sit
bathroom tiny and shower didnt work properly only had a light screen so water all over floor
loud first room avoid at al costs

Room Tip: dont stay on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ted t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, this guest booked just a few days before an annual business conference that takes over Nantucket - and got the last room available, a cozy, well-appointed but small room, just off our Sitting Room. It is 'in the middle of things' - although some guests like to be near the Sitting Room and the Dining Room for congeniality and conversation. Fifteen of our seventeen rooms are either on the second or third floor or in our Garden Wing at the back of the property - if one of these had been available, it would have provided a quieter stay and would have been a better choice for this guest. Maybe next year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 11 North Water Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nantucket the way it should be, warm hospitality and a gracious and classic setting. The Brass Lantern is a 17 room boutique hotel and offers superb accommodations, a fresh and plentiful breakfast and afternoon tea, a lovely patio and garden and a perfect 'walk to everything' location for couples, families and groups. The Brass Lantern is pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing