We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Fifth Year in a Row! Exemplary, Bien Sur !”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stay here. I travel the world (if you look at my other reviews) and am usually found at either 5* city hotels or luxury venues throughout France, Europe and the World. I've stayed at the George V in Paris to the most luxurious Game Lodge in South Africa. Why do I mention this? Fine..I'll tell you. Each year when the summer roles around, my partner and our Golden,Cara, enjoy our favorite trip of the year which is our visit to Nantucket and a large part of that is the amazing 'Brass Lantern'. The Inn has a very unique ambience that just enchants, relaxes, soothes and makes me happy, every time I am there. If you need service or help with anything, there is either the wonderful Emily or Sharon to help you. In their manner, they add to the wonderful ambience of the Hotel. Suddenly there when you need them....and letting you feel like it is your 'home' when you want to search through the well stocked pantry for some Champagne glasses for sitting out in the stunning garden before going done the street to the best Restaurants in Town. You might come back from the beach and be rinsing off your dog and suddenly Sharon will appear with a bowl of water for your thirsty canine, without you even being aware that she knew you returned. As for the Owner Michelle, I always believe that the 'air' of a Hotel/Inn/Lodge is set by the Owner or the General Director. I have become good friends with people in this position at the 'Paris Le Grand' as well as other top hotels in the world. In relativity to her small boutique inn, Michelle sets the tone of 'Easy Going Nantucket warmness infused with the best of everything'. It is hard to put into words how this magic Inn has managed to find the perfect balance of laid-back luxury with top service and help at your fingertips...but Michelle...with the help of Sharon and Emily has done so and it shows by the many repeats guests that I recognize over the years. The Inn is Historic with a Garden addition added that actually houses out favorite and one of the biggest rooms, 'Sconset Rose', We had stayed in the Top floor penthouse with a view the first two years until we discovered our favorite rom and it is going on three years now. The rooms are charming and done in casual New England Nantucket style with hints of luxurious amenities. The linens and duvets on the beds must be the most comfortable and 'top-of-the-line' i've experienced at a small hotel/inn. They are wonderful to feel after a day of sun, surf, dining and exploring. Crabtree and Evelyn products are in the bathroom on your arrival and two bottles of water are brought to your room each day...all included. The delicious breakfast and a tea service that includes wonderful scones and cookies (I think it starts at around 3 or 4) are all in the price of the room! Michelle has branched out in the breakfast spread and in addition to the fresh Scones, muffins, yogurt, juices, top-line teas and coffee, toast, granola and fruit..she has added a lovely cheese plate. Honestly, it is a bigger spread than you receive at some top end Inns in France! Sitting in the garden for breakfast is a wonderful way to start the day and I always dawdle for to long as you feel such a sense of peace and 'wellness'. If you want to talk with Michelle about..anything..anything..as she is not only a very good Inn Owner but is a walking font of information for issues that you would address to a concierge, the best time to find her is at breakfast, either greeting guests or working with her staff in the kitchen. The main sitting room is my favorite place to take a pre-dinner glass of champagne as there are small coolers in each rom and i always bring splits of champagne. This can save you tons at the wonderful but pricey restaurants on Nantucket where the Wines tend to be the most over-priced. Indeed, we hd champagne and some Rose (with a store bought appetizer) out in the garden before going to dinner at 'Straight Wharf" and must have shaved $50 off of our dinner bill. Other things to note: The Inn shines it is so clean and there are tons of books at your disposal made available throughout the hotel as well as a flat-screen TV, free Wi-fi and an offer for a reduction on the Ferry service to Nantucket. Oh...the location cannot be beat for walking to everything in town! For al that this includes, if you look at the prices of the other top-end Inns and Hotels on Nantucket, Brass Lantern is second to None!
As always...we are already looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Wow - thank you for your fabulous review - and for acknowledging our top notch staff! You have articulated perfectly the best kind of experience that we try to offer our guests - elegant but casual, present and helpful but not obtrusive - a holiday that provides relaxation, renewal and really good breakfasts! As always, we look forward to your next visit - see you on Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 372 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

The brass lantern is a must stay. The inn is exceptional in service, hospitality and cleanliness The inn has parking which is a must with young babies. The fresh muffins, fruit and fresh squeezed juices and Pastries and homemade granola and yogurt where delicious for breakfast. located downtown made it easy to navigate to anything. We will definetly be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkarademos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your kind words - We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you another time at the Brass Lantern. We love to watch our littlest guests grow...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Nantucket, I have had 2 great stays at the Brass Lantern. The Inn is very well situated within a five minute walk to either Main Street or Children's Beach.

The rooms are impeccably maintained and beautifully decorated in New England style. The owner and staff are very welcoming. They cook their fantastic granola every night before breakfast, and muffins are fresh in the morning. Don't plan to lose weight here! The inn is especially pet-friendly.

The inn is not inexpensive - but that is true of all Nantucket! Enjoy a stay here for a haddle-free, relaxing time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutetia75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

good location
very small cramped rooms
restrictive 2 night minumum obnoxious
help seemed friendly enough
bed takes up whole room no where to sit
bathroom tiny and shower didnt work properly only had a light screen so water all over floor
loud first room avoid at al costs

Room Tip: dont stay on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackinnkeeper, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, this guest booked just a few days before an annual business conference that takes over Nantucket - and got the last room available, a cozy, well-appointed but small room, just off our Sitting Room. It is 'in the middle of things' - although some guests like to be near the Sitting Room and the Dining Room for congeniality and conversation. Fifteen of our seventeen rooms are either on the second or third floor or in our Garden Wing at the back of the property - if one of these had been available, it would have provided a quieter stay and would have been a better choice for this guest. Maybe next year...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Highly recommend staying at the Brass Lantern Inn on your next trip to Nantucket (voted the #1 Island by National Geographic). Staff members were very friendly and helpful. The rooms exceptionally clean. Centrally located, we were able to find restaurants and shops very easily. Don't wait, make your reservations and see why Nantucket is #1 for yourself!

Room Tip: Make the Whaling Museum one of your places to visit! Very informative and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieFrMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

wonnderfull stay. hose a room in back with easy acess to the side yard. spotless and comfortable. only negitive is that the room has only one window and an air conditionerin it. so rather than fresh sea air, we had to run te air to keepthe roomfrom becoming suffy. dog welcoming. helocation is perfect to use as a base to wonder around. we skipped bringing the car, and did not miss it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This inn is very conveniently located in the center of town. We walked from the ferry with our luggage to the inn, walked only a couple of blocks to the bike rental place, and had only a short walk to all the restaurants that we ate at. We were quite happy with the breakfast options. The website was quite clear in indicating that a continental breakfast would be offered, so we did not expect bacon and eggs! The sheets on the bed were quite nice and the toiletries offered were high quality. We really enjoyed having (our own) cocktails out in their garden as well. Overall, a good experience and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#6 of 38 in Nantucket
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 11 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $171 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nantucket the way it should be, warm hospitality and a gracious and classic setting. The Brass Lantern is a 17 room boutique hotel and offers superb accommodations, a fresh and plentiful breakfast and afternoon tea, a lovely patio and garden and a perfect 'walk to everything' location for couples, families and groups. The Brass Lantern is pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing