We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”
Review of The Barnacle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Barnacle Inn
Ranked #9 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Barnacle Inn in Nantucket.
As soon as you enter the walkway heading to the front door, take in the beautiful landscaped grounds and various seating areas, you feel right at home.

I had such a great time in Nantucket and I have to say a big part of it was due to my experience at The Barnacle Inn. The innkeepers make it their priority to provide exactly what you need to enjoy your stay with them and also your time in Nantucket. The location couldn’t be any better; it’s close enough to the cobblestone streets that you can walk to the ferry, yet private enough that you don’t hear any traffic from town.

Each morning started with a tray of fresh brewed coffee, some “Barnacle Juice”, Phil’s homemade pastry, fresh fruit, cheese, and a yogurt. Does it get any better than that? The price is very reasonable for Nantucket; bedrooms and bathrooms are extremely well kept, very clean and that’s big for me…one of the most charming things about the Inn is that each light in the hallway needs to be turned on individually as they’re original to the Inn. I loved staying there; I slept well as the beds are great; if you’re looking for a warm inviting environment where you can come and go as you please without feeling any pressure, this is your place. I honestly don’t think I’d want to stay anywhere else.

Thanks guys! It was awesome; can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vtroamer, Manager at The Barnacle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the nice comments you posted for the Barnacle Inn. We also had a wonderful time during your stay with us. We hope to see you in the fall for scallops, blue skies, and easy days as the seasons change. Thank you again, from the crew at the Barnacle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

This Inn is old (we knew that) and run down. The breakfasts were excellent but the cost is way over the top. We have stayed in Inns and B&Bs all over the world and would rate this as the most over priced, disappointing one EVER!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vtroamer, Manager at The Barnacle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed our signature continental breakfast served on a tray to the front patio. Guests love being outside.
Nantucket is full of old historic buildings. Our Inn is full of original furnishing, although the Barnacle Inn is only 83 years old.. This island ,former whaling capitol of the world is so magical and has become so exclusive. Unfortunately, the prices here on Nantucket are in the high end- not for everyone . Fortunately, we still have some lowest rates of all the Inns on Nantucket! We try to keep it affordable for our guests to enjoy.
We hope you come again ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I come back to Nantucket summer after summer, and I always stay at the Barnacle Inn. Terrific location on a beautiful, quiet side street right near the town center. The Barnacle Inn is the perfect size -- small enough to provide guests with personal attention, but just large enough to feel like a small European hotel. Lovely, homey touches -- delicious continental breakfast on the wrap-around porch or in the garden; home-made cookies set out for guests each evening. The owners, Susie and Phil, take pride in this family-owned gem of an inn. They and their well-trained staff make each guest's stay a special experience. Stay here once, and you will want to return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are charming. There are two floors, so if you prefer upstairs, ask for an upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vtroamer, Manager at The Barnacle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you so much for saying such nice things about the Barnacle. We hope you can visit us again soon as we enjoy seeing return guests and keeping up on their travels and destinations. Fair tides and smooth sailing from our crew to yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by this Inn, located just steps away from the center of Nantucket action. Suzie and Phil made us feel like we were friends staying at their home. The continental breakfasts were a delight and the serving/maid staff were very friendly. A few minor upgrades and repairs should be done to complete the picture.

Room Tip: Some rooms share a bathroom down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vtroamer, Manager at The Barnacle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. We try to keep the prices down and are encouraged by your response that we offer a good value. Safe travels to you, and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great place located in the heart of Nantucket. Suzie and Phil are amazing, they made me feel at home. Everything was excellent, but what I liked the most were the two Bulgarian girls, they are so outgoing and helpful and they make the most delicious breakfast ever. Thank you guys, i will gladly come back to ACK and stay at the Barnacle.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duhamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been visiting Nantucket for much of my life, one or more visits per year for over 22 years. Being exceptionally knowledgeable about Nantucket and what it holds I can tell you hands down that this is the place to call your home away from home when you visit this beautiful island 30 miles out to sea. Nantucket is a second home to me.

While visiting The Barnacle Inn you can begin your day with a charming, plentiful homemade breakfast. It will be served along with a delightful greeting and a glowing smile. You can choose the ambiance of the outside porch or sit on the peaceful, quiet, comfortable terrace with wonderful views of the immaculately well kept colorful gardens. Overlooking the elegant glass-paned St. Paul's Church, the historic road and nearby homes will delight you. You may prefer to eat inside the beautifully appointed nautical themed sitting room which will temp you to stay long hours into the morning with it's vast collection of Nantucket books. This very welcoming atmosphere is a gathering spot, with it's enormous fireplace that you will look forward to warming yourself by late at night after an adventurous day. You may also have your breakfast brought to your cozy room if you prefer, anyway you cannot go wrong.

After your day's explorations, you will be treated to a variety of delicious homemade cookies that will leave you begging for more. Perhaps a fire in the stunning brick fireplace. When ready, you will retire to your room for the night which is always very comfy and private. The nautical theme of the rooms, from the wooden sign on the door with a distinctive ship name, Nantucket artwork, designer pillows, local shells collected over the years, and old time Nantucket furniture will have you ready to sleep like a captain returning from a whaling expedition. If you are a city dweller and crave air conditioning each room has it. However, open windows with Nantucket ocean breezes are truly spectacular.

Located at 11 Fair Street, it is a 2 minute walk to town. You could not be in a better location. You have the luxury of being in town but still having privacy, not many people venture up Fair Street due to it being a residential area - absolutely a hidden gem. The owners as well as innkeepers, Phil and Suzie Kiendl are delightful and extremely accommodating and considerate. They are always intriguing to converse with, whether it is a story, fact, Nantucket history, suggestion, weather, or current news it is always a pleasure and a learning experience. You could not ask for a more well-bred couple, truly wonderful people that will take excellent care of you during your holiday. Remember, this is a generational business, Phil Sr. started it over half a century ago.

Everything at The Barnacle Inn is marvelous. I have stayed over a month at times there and am never disappointed. I always become melancholy when getting close to leaving but find comfort in knowing I will return soon again to a place I have come to love so much. I highly recommend The Barnacle Inn to anyone who is looking for a true Nantucket experience as it has brought me so many fond memories of the Inn, Phil, Suzie, and Nantucket Island.

Sun rising over the gardens while you eat your breakfast sets the tone of this quiet, precious family owned Inn. Come and ruggedly explore, but know that The Barnacle Inn is your comfort zone away from home. Exceptionally well priced, completely a steal for your dollar value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Coatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Happily, we stumbled onto this inn! Very homey with everything you need. Slept like a baby in the comfortable beds. Greeted in the mornings with a beautiful homemade breakfast which included freshly caught(by the innkeeper) Nantucket bay scallops served in their shell with a wedge of lemon, alongside a colorfully decorated napkin wrapped around a surprise assortment of freshly baked homemade pastries or muffins of the day. Like a little gift each morning! Each night upon returning to the inn, we were greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies or brownies. Grounds are well maintained and beautiful. Old school Nantucket style, freshly painted inside and out, well kept and tidy. The innkeepers, Suzi and Phil are super friendly and accommodating. On our last night there, they even built a fire for us in the oversized fireplace located in the great room! Reasonably priced, and excellent location. You are in good hands at The Barnacle Inn...

Room Tip: We stayed in Harmony which provided us with a beautiful sunrise and view of town. Also Enterprise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
455 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barnacle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barnacle Inn

Address: 11 Fair St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $179 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Barnacle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 15 room Inn in the heart of Nantucket. Individual rooms and suites with private, adjoined or shared baths available, bear the names of whaling vessels that sailed from Nantucket over a century ago. Built in the late 1920's, our amazing summer Inn is ideal for large groups, families and weddings. Our signature continental breakfast is included and served either to your room, or on our beautiful patios and spacious gardens. We have beach towels umbrellas and chairs and parking available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Barnacle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing