We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Pineapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pineapple Inn
Ranked #26 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Creepy, almost abandoned setting.We had a keyed lock but no dead-bolt on bedroom door so we never felt safe at night. Our room was on the first floor,almost directly opening to a secluded small courtyard area. Scary at night ! Very little sleeping done during our two night stay.We came home exhausted , not refreshed from our stay on beautiful Nantucket.Don't trust the website-READ THE REVIEWS !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another inn !
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wearywanderer249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at Pineapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you felt unsafe in your room at the Pineapple Inn. We often recommend that our guests call us in advance and share their room preferences before we book a room for this exact reason, since everyone's needs are different. Because we offer a wide variety of rooms and Inn types, we would be more than happy to help you find a room that suits your wishes for your next visit to Nantucket. Please call our reservations manager, Carisa, at 508.257.4577 and she will assist you in finding the perfect room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Pineapple Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 47 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

You pay a lot to stay at a B&B in Nantucket, that's a given. But one would expect something for your money. At the Pineapple Inn, we shelled out too much money for a room we could barely pass each other in, let alone find anyplace to unpack and store our suitcases. In this, the smallest and least expensive room, there was no closet, no dresser, not even a single drawer. And there is no one to talk to because there are no innkeppers, no front desk, there is no customer service whatsoever. The cleaning staff puts out breakfast every morning and cleans it up...that is the extent of hospitality at this poor excuse for a B&B. Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TLVGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at Pineapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Guest,

I am sorry to learn that we weren't able to meet your service expectations. The Pineapple Inn is a very tiny inn and provides guests with an experience differentiated from those of larger properties. It's reminiscent of having your own space for the weekend; a private guest experience without extensive staff attention. Some of our other Summer House properties do have the experience you are describing.

Guests at the Pineapple Inn are invited to take advantage of the amenities offered by our resort property in Sconset. We will make it known to guests that if they need services for the day, this is the best route. As to those guests that enjoy privacy, the Pineapple Inn provides it!

Thanks again for your note!

Summer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This Inn is not owner occupied as the others mention - meaning no innkeeper. There is no one to help you with your luggage. No Innkeeper to answer your questions, help you with directions, assist you with daily activities. The place feels like it is owned by a corporation rather than a homy feel. Clearly not worth the price of admission, even at half the price.

Room #7 is appointed with antiques. But the sconces and bathroom is sub Home Depot-esque. The bathtub/shower is plastic.The sink stopper doesn't work. The bedroom air conditioner is right by our ear - three feet from bed's left side so you have the noise and air flow to deal with. The room's light dimmer is either on or off with nothing in between.

Breakfast is only basic continental. No steaming hot pancakes or eggs - nada! The Breakfast room is in the basement with tacky, dingy, dirt stained carpet.

The stairway walls are in dire need of a simple paint job to hide the dirt, holes and scuffs. This B&B feels neglected...

Bottom line - there are other owner occupied B&B's with a personal touch on this beautiful island that have a vested interest to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DPNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

During our stay encountered a significant security issue while staying in a first floor room.

On Friday night we were awakened by someone coming into our room at 3am. We had made sure that we locked the door before we went to sleep and were very conscious of this because we were on the 1st floor near the entrance to the inn. This person was not dangerous and mentioned that they were sorry, however, the fact that the lock was not working on our room overnight was very disconcerting.

After the person had left, they remained in the lobby of the inn right outside our room for at least another 45 min. to an hour making significant noise. I believe this may have been the result of the front door of the inn being left open late at night allowing others who were not staying at the inn to enter.

We reported this issue to the office the next day. We had requested to move to a different room, but were told there were none available and the lock to our room would be changed. While picking up the new key to the room, we spoke to the concierge on duty at the time who not only did not make any effort to address our concerns, but let us know that “something was wrong” with our story. Although we appreciated the effort was made to address the lock issue, we were still concerned about safety, and left the hotel as to not have to stay a second night, knowing it would be difficult to sleep.

In addition to safety concerns, the air conditioner in our room only had one setting that was working, which was extremely loud; leaving it difficult to sleep when on and difficult to breathe with no air circulation when it was off. The TV in our room was also not working, My traveling partner had stayed at the Pinapple Inn a number of years ago for business on Nantucket and had a wonderful stay. Looks like the property has definitely gone downhill.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 60745Bostontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

With cozy, well-decorated rooms, good service, a central but quiet location, and a delicious breakfast, the Pineapple is everything you could want in a bed and breakfast - plus there's one glorious extra: a secluded courtyard that's a mini-oasis, where you can eat, read, lounge, or just veg out. I'm a writer and when I'm sitting there working, I never want to leave - not even to tromp around Nantucket, one of the most beguiling getaway towns in America.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at Pineapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks for your kind note! Our courtyard is among the island's best and we love to hear when guests enjoy it.

Cheers,
Summer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was our 3rd trip to the lovely Nantucket where in the past we stayed at a hotel and a B & B. After much research we selected the Pineapple Inn. To our surprise there was never an innkeeper present. We asked where they were and we were told "he" was managing one of there other properties. If you wanted or needed anything- good luck. Although the limited staff was helpful, you had to look for them. Also, some wee students from other countries that could not make recommendations because they were not familiar with the businesses. We were concerned for the evenings when all the doors were left wide open and noone was there to monitor who was coming in and out. The courtyard in the back was NOT maintained. The fountain was green with algea and never worked. Plantings and flowers were weak.

Breakfast was fair. Room was fair. However, your money would be better spent somewhere else where there is someone who cares.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samoa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Went for Christmas Stroll weekend. Was with 3 other couples. Not one complaint. Sarah the hostess was very accomodating. The owner Chris was a personable gentleman with great stories and tips. The staff was attentive. Overall good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JGP351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at Pineapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks for your kind words! We look forward to having you to the Pineapple Inn again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Summer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 mi away
The Summer House - India Street Inn
0.2 mi away
Barnacle Inn
Barnacle Inn
#9 of 38 in Nantucket
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
27 Fair Street Inn
27 Fair Street Inn
#34 of 38 in Nantucket
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Century House
Century House
#7 of 38 in Nantucket
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#17 of 38 in Nantucket
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#18 of 38 in Nantucket
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Address: 10 Hussey St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3612
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $278 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pineapple Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Distinctive Nantucket Inn in the heart of the Nantucket Historic District. The Pineapple Inn offers suites for all needs and tastes, and our guests also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, our beautiful private bricked patio, and inviting common areas. We offer a range of amenities to offer you the perfect Nantucket vacation. Enjoy complimentary jitney access to our ocean resort in 'Sconset. Other amenities include air conditioning, priority seating at some of Nantucket's best restaurants, breakfast and more... Each room at the Pineapple Inn offers a distinctively Nantucket experience on a quiet street in the heart of the historic district. Learn more and view photos of each of our unique rooms, or call our helpful staff to be matched to your perfect room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pineapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing