We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

It was a nice, quiet inn and a quick walk to downtown. I liked that a continental breakfast was set out buffet style for several hours during the morning and you weren't forced to eat at a certain time and share tables with other guests. You could eat at the big table with others if you wanted to, but you could also eat in the living room, on the porch, or in your room.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    47
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
107
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

We just returned from a two night stay at the Martin House. It is a very comfortable, pretty inn on a quiet street and an easy walk to the ferries, the restaurants and the shopping. I appreciated the attention to detail. The linens were Ralph Lauren and the bathroom was well stocked with everything you could need....lotions, shampoo, shower cap, make-up remover cloth. Everything was very clean and the sheets and towels always had a just washed smell and feel which made it easy to relax and enjoy our time inside. Our bathroom in room 23 was tiny so I'd recommend a different room. We're very happy we discovered Martin House.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — very, very small bathrom in our room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2006

We enjoyed four days at the Martin House Inn in Nantucket. The beautifully restored Inn is well appointed with New England furnishings, luxury linens, and paintings by local artists. By day our favorite spot to enjoy the Inn's delicious "tea time" pastries was the wicker furnished sun porch overlooking the hydrangeas and garden. In the evening we experienced the sunset view of the harbor from the "widow's watch".
The staff was very accommodating. A wealth of information and referrals were provided for restaurants, merchants, island events and recreational options such as the most scenic rose lined cliff walk. In room massages were perfect for tired muscles after a long day of bicycle touring of the island.
As the Inn is centrally located, we appreciated being within walking distance of restaurants, shops and many points of interest.
We highly recommend the Martin House to anyone wishing to experience Nantucket from the New England perspective of a gentler, simpler time.

Helpful?
2 Thank 6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

We spent a two day corporate retreat on the island of Nantucket, Mass this past April 2006. Our accommadations were excellent. We stayed at the Martin House where the Innkeeper, Lee, was so warm and gracious.The rooms were absolutely beautiful and perfect for our staff. Everyone had their own room each decorated entirely different The Inn is so well maintained and appointed. Breakfast was fresh fruit, coffe, and delicious pastry. The afternoon tea was equally well done and Lee also included wine and cheese for our group.... the overflow stayed at the Cliff Lodge,where the Innkeeper, Sally made us feel so welcome. The Cliff Lodge is located very close and is equally as nice. We would highly recommend both Inns on the island of Nantucket. The attention to detail is amazing ..a very successful two day retreat was enjoyed by our entire staff.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2005

We enjoyed a terrific stay at the Martin House Inn. The rooms were beautiful... quintessential New England decor... lovely bedding and colors! The Common Room was bright and very inviting. Inn Keeper, Lee Sylva was so gracious, not to mention an unbelievable baker! Each afternoon warm cookies were waiting in the hall, and the morning scones were incredible. Highly recommended! Looking forward to a return visit!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

Last winter our family visited Nantucket the week of the Christmas Stroll had the distinct pleasure of staying at the infamous Martin House. We actually stayed at the Martin House due to its solid reputation and the fact that other friends of ours who are unusually critical of most things just raved about their stay at this the winter before we visited.

Lee was our Inn Keeper who took care of our every need and then some.
He was an excellent baker and certainly one of the more professional individuals we have had the opportunity to meet in our travels.

The Inn itself - words can not describe. Several fire places scattered throughout the Inn (in fact - we even had a fire place in our bedroom). The Inn was very comfortable and we felt very spoiled of having the best of everything from use of the fine China, enjoying the talented artwork and enjoying the fine baked goods Lee always seemed to have around for us.

I recommend this Inn to anyone and assure that you will be very pleased with the Inn atmosphere, high level of customer service and top of the line rooms.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2005

Just a few blocks from the shops and restaaurants of Main Street, this Inn was charming! We had a wonderful sunny room upstairs with corner windows overlooking the town. It's on a quiet residential street near other Inns. We walked around the other Inns and were very happy with ours - we liked the large rooms and the large common sitting/breakfast area. We stayed here during a mother-daughter trip in June 2004. We will definitely return! Be sure to bike out to 'Sconset (but put on plenty of sun-screen, especially on your thighs...).

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#13 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#2 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing