We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful home with bubbly sweet hostess!”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #7 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home with bubbly sweet hostess!”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Martin House! It is situated on a beautiful flower-lined street with a short walk to Nantucket town. Skye, our hostess, was accomodating and kept us laughing and having fun! She baked delicious homemade pastries for us every morning and had cookies and tea, or wine and cheese for us in the afternoon. Don't miss climbing up the "widow's walk" to enjoy the beautiful view of the bay from the roof. Enjoy!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Explorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    47
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
109
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed two nights here in July 2009. Breakfast was a dismal and unhealthy affair with little selection except for fatty pastries ("gourmet pastry chef"? -- they have got to be kidding -- any 10-year-old can make chocolate chip muffins) and wilted, mainly melons, fruit salad. One cereal -- only -- offered. First room we were put in was in the "attic," painted a dark color, very gloomy with very small bathroom. Room was dirty and dusty, sand on the floor. Discovered that room had not been cleaned at all: used toiletries in the shower, hair and stain on sheets -- sheets from J. C. Penny rather than the advertised Frette linens. No afternoon tea as described on their website -- innkeeper stated it was "shoulder season" so no tea served; however, it was early July which qualifies as "peak season." Overall, we were quite disappointed; the inn did not come up to our expectations based on the inn's website and comments we viewed on this site prior to making our reservation. To their credit, we were moved to another room with a larger bathroom. However, we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank DiamondGirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The Martin House Inn is in a quiet, pretty neighborhood and the house itself is quite charming. We reserved the only room with a TV as we wanted to watch the U.S. Open and to keep up with news and weather. It was the only room of the 13 rooms available that has a TV. We had a big living room with a couch, two loveseats, a big coffee table and a big entertainment center. When we opened the doors to the entertainment center, there was a 13-inch TV – obviously very old; turned it on; picture so dark it was difficult to see; turned sound up to 100 with little sound – could hardly hear it. Then, we went to the bathroom and there was our beautiful vanity – 6 inches wide and about 15 inches long stuck in a corner with all the pipes showing. When we brushed our teeth, we had to bend over (with our heads hitting the brick wall) to keep from spitting on the floor. My husband (who is 6’5” tall) could not get both hands under the faucet to wash them. It was such a disgrace that we got tickled and laughed rather than cried. There was barely room for a cake of soap on the sink and the towels were a good 4 feet from the sink. Had to put our toiletries’ bags on the back of the toilet. No mirror there except the long one on the bathroom door which was far away from the toilet where we had to reach for our personal items – to shave –makeup, etc. There was no use to complain as the B&B was full for the weekend. I took pictures of the sink and TV so our families can see what we paid $400 per night for. It was hilarious and a shame. That particular room should be discounted big time.

I must say the breakfasts were wonderful; the proprietor was bubbly and friendly but would not accommodate us when we asked if we could have breakfast early one morning (out of the five mornings we were to be there). We asked for breakfast 20 minutes early as we had a tour to get at 8:45 that morning – we knew the pastries would not be ready but we thought she could put out the cold cereal and milk, but she wouldn’t budge.

We loved Nantucket, but will pick a B&B or hotel closer to town if we visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burrusscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The home-cooked breakfast was delicious including scones, apple turnover, yogurt and fruit. The innkeeper, Skye, was a pleasure and could not have been more helpful. The view from the widow's walk of Nantucket was great! The front porch was very relaxing and you could easily walk downtown for shopping & meals and to/from the ferry.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cheriedBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed just one night last August and everything went smoothly. We had a beautiful room with private bath. There was a nice roof deck to get a view of the bay. Conveniant walking distance to downtown and area beaches. We rented a scooter to get around the island and explore the other areas of the island. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, MA
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2009

My boyfriend and visited the island for the first time during daffodil weekend. Not only had neither of us ever been to Nantucket be we had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast as well, and what an experience!! Skye was an absolutely fantastic inn keeper. She was extremely personable, hospitable, and just an over all joy to be around. She made us feel right at home. The inn was very presentable as opposed to the first inn we had checked out. It was very clean, and we got an adorable romantic room with a canopy bed, which was unbelievably comfortable. It was also in a perfect location for us to walk around. Wouldn't think of staying at any other inn the next time we visit!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OoKaitlyn126oO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

I found this inn by reading the reviews from tavelers here. I am so glad I booked this inn for my trip to nantucket.
When first arrived Skye helped me with getting info on the area and places I might want to try for luches and dinners. I had a wonderful room with a canopy bed with a nice feathertop on the mattress which made me fall right to sleep. The living room area was great, I would sit at night in the window seat and relax watching TV or reading a book. In the mornings she would have to fire place going and have fresh yummy pastries (awesome apple turnovers and rasberry crumble), fruit and yougurt, and what ever drink you like. Skye was very sweet to sit with me at breakfast and chat since i traveled alone and no one else was at the inn at that time. She makes yummy cookies in the afternoon for a quick snack.
I think the day I was leaving would have been really stressful if not for Skye. I went to airport to leave and the flights were canceled so I called her and asked to stay another night and she was sooo sweet and picked me up from the airport so I didn't have to pay for another taxi ride. She then took me around the island for my own little tour of the area and got to see the coast and some local places I would never had a chance to see without her. It was a very unexpected adventure that really made the trip so much more special. I want to go back again and look forward to staying at Martin house again. Very clean and well run inn. Skye is a huge part of my great inn experience and my first solo travel adventure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauhlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#9 of 38 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous homemade granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is just a short walk from all the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing