We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daffodil Weekend Was Great”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We went to Nantucket for Daffodil Weekend. Amazing weather. Felt as sunny and warm as the best days of summer. The Martin House was really nice. Skye, the innkeeper, was super warm and friendly and helpful. The place had a very nice warm and welcoming and casual feel to it. There were tasty hot baked goods fresh from the oven each morning along with great coffee and fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. In addition wine and generous spread of cheese and crackers and cookies later each day. Nights a nice mix of both New Yorkers and Bostonians gathered in the living room around the TV to enjoy the 3 game sweep of the Yankees with a comfortable family feel to the enviroment. The house is old, so its some of the rooms are large even with their own private porches while others are real small with tiny baths, but the innkeeper had explicitly explained all this upfront so no surprises there. Yet it was all super clean, and modern where you need it; like enough hot water and a good strong shower for after a day of biking around the island as well as nice towels and linens. I would definitely recommend it. Everywhere on Nantucket is a little pricey for me yet our rooms at the Martin House were very reasonable compared with other similar places we looked at. And its just blocks off the center of town so available to walk to a lot of things. We would return. Looking forward to next years Daffodil weekend, yet it is hard to imagine it could be quite as hot and sunny 2 years in a row in April.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Martin House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 310 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2009

I stayed at the Martin House Inn for a long weekend in October, 2008. The Inn is beautifully decorated, each room is exquisite. You have a warm, homey feeling the minute you enter. Skye and the staff were wonderful, very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast and afternoon tea's were wonderful. The Inn is centrally located so we were able to walk everywhere. I would highly recommend the Martin House for it's value, comfort and location.
.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The innkeeper, Skye Schuyler, was quite friendly and accessible, and she provided us with lots of information about the island. She provided a pretty good breakfast, and she made us feel very comfortable in the common area. She did make a mistake about our reservation, but this mistake did not end up causing any inconvenience. The inn itself is outstanding, beautifully maintained. The beds were a bit soft for people who are used to firm mattresses, but other than that, we were completely comfortable and well cared for.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Both my wife and I were celebrating our 60th birthdays on Nantucket, one of our most favorite places to visit. The Martin Inn lived up to our high expectations in having a quiet, cozy stay in the middle of Nantucket. We loved our room, especially our two chairs by the fireplace. The high poster bed was very comfortable- we slept like champs.The Innkeeper did everthing she could to make our stay the best, incuding wonderful breakfasts to get us started in the morning. Everything in town is just a short walk from the Inn. We rented bikes and cycled from one end of Nantucket to the other (Young's). Beautiful! Had geat dinners at Dune and the Boarding House, but the best meals were had at Fog Island for lunch, get the wraps. Also burgers at Lola's were over the top, not to mention the truffle fries, yummm.

I would say that this was one of the best birthday celebration ever for us. April is a great month to go to Nantucket (if the weather cooperates) . It was like having your own personal island because of no crowds. We made the obligatory stop to buy fudge at Aunt Leah's. We are going to France as the next part of our birthday bash, hope it's as good.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiperLance78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I've stayed at this inn a number of times, both for business and pleasure. Each room is unique, but the common denominator is the beautiful decor and luxury bedding (among the most comfortable beds ever). Attention to detail is evident in the original artwork displayed throughout the inn and the fresh floral arrangements in the living/dining area. The innkeeper makes you feel right at home, greeting you every morning with something she's freshly baked served served with fresh fruit, cereals and great coffee. You can sit at the large table in the dining room or take your breakfast out to the large veranda. The location is ideal... less than a five minute walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Skye Schuler will make your stay at the Martin House memorable. Her attention to the needs of visitors with regard to housekeeping, meals and snacks, knowing the island, places to dine; is remarkable. The MartinHouse itself with it's old world charm would be enough; the combination of this beautiful old home and accomodating inkeeper make the perfect match for lodging. The place to stay in Nantucket!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creatingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Martin House was wonderful!! The B and B was beautifully decorated and was in a wonderful location. The innkeeper, Skye was so helpful in making the weekend even better. We would go back and stay there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kens183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#8 of 38 in Nantucket
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Address: 61 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $172 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Martin House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and its spacious roof walk featuring panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is a short walk from the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet, in-room hotel safes; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing