We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthdays in Nantucket”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #7 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Birthdays in Nantucket”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Both my wife and I were celebrating our 60th birthdays on Nantucket, one of our most favorite places to visit. The Martin Inn lived up to our high expectations in having a quiet, cozy stay in the middle of Nantucket. We loved our room, especially our two chairs by the fireplace. The high poster bed was very comfortable- we slept like champs.The Innkeeper did everthing she could to make our stay the best, incuding wonderful breakfasts to get us started in the morning. Everything in town is just a short walk from the Inn. We rented bikes and cycled from one end of Nantucket to the other (Young's). Beautiful! Had geat dinners at Dune and the Boarding House, but the best meals were had at Fog Island for lunch, get the wraps. Also burgers at Lola's were over the top, not to mention the truffle fries, yummm.

I would say that this was one of the best birthday celebration ever for us. April is a great month to go to Nantucket (if the weather cooperates) . It was like having your own personal island because of no crowds. We made the obligatory stop to buy fudge at Aunt Leah's. We are going to France as the next part of our birthday bash, hope it's as good.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiperLance78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    47
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
31
110
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I've stayed at this inn a number of times, both for business and pleasure. Each room is unique, but the common denominator is the beautiful decor and luxury bedding (among the most comfortable beds ever). Attention to detail is evident in the original artwork displayed throughout the inn and the fresh floral arrangements in the living/dining area. The innkeeper makes you feel right at home, greeting you every morning with something she's freshly baked served served with fresh fruit, cereals and great coffee. You can sit at the large table in the dining room or take your breakfast out to the large veranda. The location is ideal... less than a five minute walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suttons bay, michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Skye Schuler will make your stay at the Martin House memorable. Her attention to the needs of visitors with regard to housekeeping, meals and snacks, knowing the island, places to dine; is remarkable. The MartinHouse itself with it's old world charm would be enough; the combination of this beautiful old home and accomodating inkeeper make the perfect match for lodging. The place to stay in Nantucket!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creatingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Martin House was wonderful!! The B and B was beautifully decorated and was in a wonderful location. The innkeeper, Skye was so helpful in making the weekend even better. We would go back and stay there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kens183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My flight was cancelled and I had to spend the night in nantucket. I found out about the Martin House Inn from someone I met at the airport. I got a great rate on the room. I was in a foul mood when I arriived, but the manager was so gracious and offered me some of their home made pastries. The hotel is very close to restaurants but also in a very quiet part of town. The bathroom was small but had lots of hot water and any amenity you could think of. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was lots of fresh fruit, unlimited coffee and more home made pastries. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrightintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Fabulous B&B. The Martin House Inn is beautiful, comfortable and well located. The Innkeeper Sky is helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, and a fantastic pastry chef. My husband and I stayed at the Martin House recently for 2 wintery nights. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and lovely. The food presented at breakfast consisted of homemade baked goods (freshly baked and varied from one morning to the other), fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, granola, orange juice, coffee and tea. It was way more food than we could possible manage to eat but so delicious it was hard to resist. I highly recommend the Martin House and will stay there again when we are next in Nantucket.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Have been traveling to nantucket for a few years and tried several Inns but this one was the very best by far. Location was excellent, price was right, the Inn Keeper friendly and helpful and the frssh baked food was out of this world.

The room was outstanding as was the rest of the Inn, staff was always available etc... If you ever go to Nantucket - don't waste your time searching for Inns - this is the Inn you will be more than happy with. Ask about the massage serevice - it was the best massage I ever had.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpavelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#8 of 38 in Nantucket
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and of course its spacious roof walk offering panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous homemade granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is just a short walk from all the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing