We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Martin House Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jared Coffin House(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
21 Broad Hotel(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Internet
The Beachside(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Elephant(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
76 Main(Nantucket)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
251
51
19
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
51
19
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconeswine and cheeseb bother guestswidow's walkshared bathralph laurengreat porchbaked goodscozy placewidows walkcome homecanopy bedyogurtwithin walking distancedaffodil weekendgreat suggestions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 331 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My flight was cancelled and I had to spend the night in nantucket. I found out about the Martin House Inn from someone I met at the airport. I got a great rate on the room. I was in a foul mood when I arriived, but the manager was so gracious and offered me some of their home made pastries. The hotel is very close to restaurants but also in a very quiet part of town. The bathroom was small but had lots of hot water and any amenity you could think of. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was lots of fresh fruit, unlimited coffee and more home made pastries. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrightintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Fabulous B&B. The Martin House Inn is beautiful, comfortable and well located. The Innkeeper Sky is helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, and a fantastic pastry chef. My husband and I stayed at the Martin House recently for 2 wintery nights. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and lovely. The food presented at breakfast consisted of homemade baked goods (freshly baked and varied from one morning to the other), fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, granola, orange juice, coffee and tea. It was way more food than we could possible manage to eat but so delicious it was hard to resist. I highly recommend the Martin House and will stay there again when we are next in Nantucket.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Have been traveling to nantucket for a few years and tried several Inns but this one was the very best by far. Location was excellent, price was right, the Inn Keeper friendly and helpful and the frssh baked food was out of this world.

The room was outstanding as was the rest of the Inn, staff was always available etc... If you ever go to Nantucket - don't waste your time searching for Inns - this is the Inn you will be more than happy with. Ask about the massage serevice - it was the best massage I ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpavelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

The best guest house on the island regardless of price or location.

I've stayed at Martin House on two separate occasions recently and each time is better than the last. This conveniently located historic 13 bedroom house is located in the heart of Nantucket's historic district; an easy 5 minute walk to Main St. The common areas are all spotlessly clean and spacious. Skye, the innkeeper/hostess is vivacious, exuberant and is truly dedicated to ensuring that her guests are made to feel at home. Additionally, the cookies she bakes for afternoon snacks are outstanding as are the baked goods she prepares every morning.

I'm certain to be a repeat guest.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greatbigsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

The martin house is loacted very close to downtown and within walkin distance of the ferries. It is a little outside town but that makes it nice and quite. We had room a room on the 3rd floor that had a shared bath. While it was less expensive and the only room available i would not recommend it to anyone. I would stay at a difrent property. The third floor rooms look like they were hodge podge togther. (btw if you have to use a blow dryer up there you have to wait if someone else is using one b/c it will blow a fuse) You are not warned that the shared bathroom is with two other rooms that contain two beds. (so each room could accomedate up to 4 people). With the ugly being said the 1st and 2nd floor were gorgous!!! it didn't even look like the same house! the rooms were quaint and clean. We did not talk to skye the B&B manager much but she seemed very resourceful and baked wonderful cookies. The breakfast was very small some coffee, OJ, coffee cake, fruit, and granola which did not get replenished if it was low or almost out. But we ate out most days so it was not a porblem for us. Overall i would suggest the inn if anf only if you have a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. ps there is a "widows walk" on top if the inn on the 3rd floor. go up and sneek a peak if you can the views of the harbor are gorgous! But the climb up can be difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a-2-z-traveler112254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews