We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great hospitality, plent of hot water and home cooked pastries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great location, great hospitality, plent of hot water and home cooked pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

My flight was cancelled and I had to spend the night in nantucket. I found out about the Martin House Inn from someone I met at the airport. I got a great rate on the room. I was in a foul mood when I arriived, but the manager was so gracious and offered me some of their home made pastries. The hotel is very close to restaurants but also in a very quiet part of town. The bathroom was small but had lots of hot water and any amenity you could think of. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was lots of fresh fruit, unlimited coffee and more home made pastries. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrightintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    47
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
107
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

Fabulous B&B. The Martin House Inn is beautiful, comfortable and well located. The Innkeeper Sky is helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, and a fantastic pastry chef. My husband and I stayed at the Martin House recently for 2 wintery nights. Our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and lovely. The food presented at breakfast consisted of homemade baked goods (freshly baked and varied from one morning to the other), fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, granola, orange juice, coffee and tea. It was way more food than we could possible manage to eat but so delicious it was hard to resist. I highly recommend the Martin House and will stay there again when we are next in Nantucket.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Have been traveling to nantucket for a few years and tried several Inns but this one was the very best by far. Location was excellent, price was right, the Inn Keeper friendly and helpful and the frssh baked food was out of this world.

The room was outstanding as was the rest of the Inn, staff was always available etc... If you ever go to Nantucket - don't waste your time searching for Inns - this is the Inn you will be more than happy with. Ask about the massage serevice - it was the best massage I ever had.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpavelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

The best guest house on the island regardless of price or location.

I've stayed at Martin House on two separate occasions recently and each time is better than the last. This conveniently located historic 13 bedroom house is located in the heart of Nantucket's historic district; an easy 5 minute walk to Main St. The common areas are all spotlessly clean and spacious. Skye, the innkeeper/hostess is vivacious, exuberant and is truly dedicated to ensuring that her guests are made to feel at home. Additionally, the cookies she bakes for afternoon snacks are outstanding as are the baked goods she prepares every morning.

I'm certain to be a repeat guest.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greatbigsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

The martin house is loacted very close to downtown and within walkin distance of the ferries. It is a little outside town but that makes it nice and quite. We had room a room on the 3rd floor that had a shared bath. While it was less expensive and the only room available i would not recommend it to anyone. I would stay at a difrent property. The third floor rooms look like they were hodge podge togther. (btw if you have to use a blow dryer up there you have to wait if someone else is using one b/c it will blow a fuse) You are not warned that the shared bathroom is with two other rooms that contain two beds. (so each room could accomedate up to 4 people). With the ugly being said the 1st and 2nd floor were gorgous!!! it didn't even look like the same house! the rooms were quaint and clean. We did not talk to skye the B&B manager much but she seemed very resourceful and baked wonderful cookies. The breakfast was very small some coffee, OJ, coffee cake, fruit, and granola which did not get replenished if it was low or almost out. But we ate out most days so it was not a porblem for us. Overall i would suggest the inn if anf only if you have a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. ps there is a "widows walk" on top if the inn on the 3rd floor. go up and sneek a peak if you can the views of the harbor are gorgous! But the climb up can be difficult.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a-2-z-traveler112254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

Excellent location near the heart of Nantucket's town center. "Skye", the B&B manager, was a wonderful hostess - she took great pride in showing us around the house. Rates during the summer time were relatively affordable, compared to some of the other B&B's in the area. My wife and I stayed in a cozy (a.k.a. "small") room (#26) on the 2nd floor that had a private bath. Rooms on the 3rd floor have a shared bathroom. We were allowed to check in at 9am because the room was not occupied the day before and we were allowed to leave our bags there the entire day of check out so we could enjoy a beautiful bike ride and beach day before heading back to the mainland.

Breakfast was adequate - continental style. I would have preferred a hot egg dish served, but I knew before-hand that this was not the case. No outdoor shower, so coming back from the beach could track in some sand with you. We were able to use the outdoor shower at a sister B&B just up the street.

Overall - a very pleasant experience. Would return there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of hot breakfast - continental style only
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jsachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

Stayed here for a long weekend with my girlfriends and everything was excellent. The innkeeper greeted us on arrival and there were fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, the chocolate chip ones were the best I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Another night they had wine and cheese for the guests and daily breakfast included fruits, cereals, juices and delicous home baked breads and cakes! There was a group of us so we stayed on the top floor and shared 2 rooms with a shared bath. It ended being a great deal since there were 5 of us. We did have to share a bathroom but it wasn't a problem in the least. There is also a widows walk that you can climb up a ladder to which offers a great view of island. The double beds in the larger room were heavenly and the Frette robes were super soft. I had a chance to peak in at the rooms downstairs and they were all adorable and charming. This B&B is a short walk from downtown and the ferries. Definitly recommend staying here!

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dynamopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#13 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing