We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at the Martin House was great. The Innkeeper was very helpful and professional. Room was very nice, breakfast was excellent, close to town & shops. I would recommend this Inn to any of my friends and family. I hope to go back some day!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    49
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
120
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
jackson nj
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hello. We stayed at the Martin House for the past 2 nites. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was no air conditioners in the windows, and the innkeeper did get a jammed window open when we requested. We shared a bathroom which we were aware of before our stay. But another guest decided to take an hour long bath and it was an inconvenience, theres no other bathroom and its blocks into town to use a public restroom.
When we met other guests at the wine and cheese hour, they advised us on 2nd floor they had an air conditioner. Also we were asked if we wanted red or white wine for our room as this was
included, but waited two nites and did not receive. The dog Tiki is adorable. The innkeeper
Skyy was helpful. We took Gails tour and I asked several times if she could stop as she flew by the sites and she did not. She would say what was "down the street" but didnt go by what she was pointing out. Went to Millie's to see the sunset, and there is no view. Went to Straight Wharf for dinner. Spent $50 on one dish, clambake. Very dissapointed. It was just shell fish
already cracked open she poured on a plate. We had great weather! The homemade ice cream at "the juice" $14 for 2,but was worth it!. Go to the Whale museum, a must! I liked the clothes at Breezin store. Any Q ask me! It was beautiful. If I went again would stay in Hyannis with the pool, air, and tv and just go for day trips from there.....martha's vinyard, and Nantucket. Its just an hour on the highspeed. The Black cat restaurant in Hyannis, Quahog was good, and chowder, but the seafood platter was fried! guess I shouldve asked tho.

Room Tip: no tv, we had no air, pay extra for personal bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fschur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my time at the Martin House Inn. A friend and I went there to escape the hustle and bustle of NYC for a few days. Skye and Tiki (the tiny dog with fablous outfits) were extrememly friendly and put a smile on our faces everyday! The Inn is cozy and quaint.The room was quiet and comfortable. Sari did a wonderful job keeping our room clean. Breakfast was delicious and of course Nantucket itself was heavenly! My only advice is to get a room with a private bath. It's worth the extra money to have that convenience.

I will defeintely be going back to Natucket and staying at Martin House!
Tamani

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, MAssachusetts, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my second time at the Martin House and both times it has been a pleasure. The rooms vary a lot in size and comfort but both times I was happy with it. We were staying as a part of a Living Social deal so we felt that with what we paid for the room, it was worth it. We enjoyed some wine and cheese on Friday when we arrived and met some other nice guests. The breakfast is continental but the baked goods are always very tasty and there's a nice outdoor spot to sit if the weather cooperates. The Inn isn't fancy and I think that it would get hot in the summer in some of the rooms--there is A/C but we turned ours on briefly on a stuffy night and it was VERY loud. I would definitely come back. The location is great and Skye is an entertaining host.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I immediately felt at home in The Martin House thanks to the hospitality of the wonderful Innkeeper, Skye. She gave us a map of Nantucket and gave us some great directions and advice to help us get the most out of our weekend on the island. Our breakfast each morning had a delicious assortment of Skye's fresh baked goods and our happy hour on Fri. with wine and cheese was an unexpected pleasure. This small Inn had a relaxed family atmosphere that was great to come home to after a day of exploring Nantucket by scooter. Our accommodations were comfortable, clean and had a real Nantucket appeal to them. We enjoyed our stay and hopefully will be able to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at martin house, and as usual the inn is charming. The inn keeper makes a fantastic continental breakfast. Serving delectable scones, muffins and other wonderful pastry. She also makes afternoon pastries and on fridays there is cheese & wine. I would highly recommend trying martin house. I will return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souzad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Overall, a great stay on this beautiful island! We used a Living Social deal to reserve the room, so we were not expecting luxury. The room was on the smaller side, but it was perfectly fine. Our stay was in early May, so the temperature was pleasant, but I can imagine the room getting very warm during the summer months, although it was outfitted with an A/C. Breakfast was wonderful and we were able to eat outside on the porch. There was a covered area to store bicycles-definitely a plus if you are planning to bring a bike. If you are relatively fit, you can climb up to the roof deck for some fresh air/views of the town and ocean. The inn is very conveniently located in town and it was easy to get from place to place. Overall, the accommodations were comfortable, convenient, and homey and I would recommend the Martin House Inn to a friend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaLady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
252 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#8 of 38 in Nantucket
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century House
Century House
#4 of 38 in Nantucket
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Centre Street, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and its spacious roof walk featuring panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is a short walk from the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet, in-room hotel safes; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing