We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Inn”
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary at the Martin House, and we were not disappointed.
The inn is very charming, and our room was perfect. Skye is a wonderful hostess, and made us feel right at home. She gave us pointers on places to see, and restaurants to frequent, all of which were "right on".
It is close enough to the ferry, that you can walk, so it will save on taxi fare, as well.

We would recommend the Martin House, if you're looking for a cozy, friendly atmosphere, with a great porch, and a spectacular widows walk for star-gazing or watching the sun set.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

My aunt & I were looking for reasonable accommodations on the island for a girls' trip. We stayed in a a quaint room that was perfect for the two of us on the 3rd floor (room 34). Lots of space...2 full sized beds, big closet, 2 big, comfy chairs, and lots of room for luggage and shopping bags! It had a shared bath, but no one else was in the other rooms, so we had it to ourselves. The bath was large with nice toiletries, including make up remover cloths. If you're in need of two beds like we were and don't mind sharing a bath, be sure to ask for the two full beds rather than the two twin bedded room...it is much larger for only a bit more.

One of our favorite things was the comfy beds...like sleeping on a cloud! Pillow tops with top notch Ralph Lauren sheets and cozy down comforters. It was hard to get out of bed in the morning! The towels (including beach towels) were also Ralph Lauren and very fluffy and soft. There are no TVs in the room, but one in the parlor downstairs. Although there are A/Cs in the rooms, there are large windows everywhere that let in great breezes on milder days.

Breakfasts were wonderful! The best granola ever, homemade baked goods, yogurts, fresh fruit, juice, & coffee...you won't leave hungry! Homemade cookies are put out in the afternoon. The dining room is lovely and there is a pretty porch to eat or relax on. Again, housewares are top notch...beautiful Ralph Lauren crystal glasses and Wedgewood Nantucket pattern china. Very impressive! We felt spoiled and pampered.

The inn keeper, Skye, was incredibly hospitable and helpful. She'll give recommendations on things to do & see, places to eat, etc. We loved talking to her! All of the girls who work there were also helpful and attend to any of your needs. The inn is located on a quieter street with about a 5 minute walk to all the stores and restaurants. Don't miss going up to the Widow's Walk. You definitely need to be in good physical condition to climb up from the 3rd floor, but the views are spectacular! We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay here. It was just what we were looking for!

Room Tip: Size of rooms vary, so if you're particular, be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was the second stay here for my wife and myself. We absolutly love it here. The rooms are very clean and nice, the breakfast are excellent. Very charming! The innkeeper Sky is the best! My wife never goes to the same place twice so Kudos to the Martin House. She would actually come back a third time! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsugamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was in Nantucket for a friend's wedding and stayed at the Martin House for 3 nights. Another friend and I shared room 22 on the 2nd floor with a queen bed and a twin bed. The room was very large and there was plenty of room for a third person. There was a window air conditioner in the room and we got a great breeze in the AM from the bathroom windows. There were also 2 comfy arm chairs in the room as well as a working fire place. An iron and ironing board were also provided.

The bathroom was spacious, with a tub/shower and room for a small chair. A hairdryer was provided and there was shampoo, conditioner, lotion and make up remover wipes which were a nice convenience. Towels were top notch, Ralph Lauren bath sheets in the room and beach towels are available to use daily.

Breakfast was good, there were scones and some sort of other pastry offered daily, choice of cereals, granola, yogurt, toast, fruit, coffee, tea and juice. This met my expectation based on what I had read on the website and TripAdvisor so I was pleased with the selection. On the mornings we wanted something different we walked to a bakery less than a quarter of a mile away or one of the many breakfast spots within walking distance.

In the afternoon, cookies were provided as well as wine. There is a small refrigerator in the dining room that guests can use and an ice machine. The ice machine was broken while we were there but we asked for and got ice from the kitchen.

While there are no TVs in the rooms, there is one in the living area downstairs. There is a large porch with lots of seating as well as a small yard. The location is great, close to shops and restaurants. Skye the in-keeper was very friendly and willing to help out however she could. This is an old house but very well kept and clean. I would stay at the Martin House Inn again!

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are very small. We had room 22 which is one of the largest. Rooms 24 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and her girl friend stayed a couple of nights. The beds were great with air condition. The breakfast was awesome and the cookies were yummy!
That was I what I was told. So yes, I will return.
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the second time we have guests. Martin House is an excellent choice for those looking for the real Nantucket getaway experience. It's an Authentic 1803 Inn from the Federal period which has been maintained very nicely. The room we stayed in was tastefully decorated, spacious with a very clean and serviceable bathroom. There was even an air conditioner if one prefers thet to fresh air (not us, we opened the window !)
The breakfast was very good and served not only in the dining room but outside on the porch. Skye, the innkeeper is a very personable woman. She's also very helpful in that we arrived very late and she was there for us ...We also got a parking permit at no additional charge .
The location couldn't be better. Just a block or two from everything... All in all, we loved the Martin House experience and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in room 22...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebopjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This review is many months past due...oops! My husband and I went in April with some friends and had a wonderful time. The Inn is beautiful. The bedrooms were quaint and comfortable. Skye is an amazing host! She goes above and beyond in every aspect. She is so friendly, very knowledgeable about Nantucket and what do to, where to go. She makes everyone feel at home and she is an amazing baker! Her scones were amazing!!! Wonderful trip and we hope to make it out to Nantucket again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#7 of 38 in Nantucket
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
359 reviews
0 mi away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Address: 61 Center St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $116 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Martin House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious accommodations blend the convenience and comforts of today with the romance and nostalgia of the past. Built in 1803 by a sea captain for his bride and recently restored to a gracious old-world elegance, the inn combines the charm and romance of a bygone era with all the comforts of home. With its many comfortable gathering areas, its fireplaces, the luxury of its rooms, its peaceful veranda caressed by light breezes and the sound of classical music, and its spacious roof walk featuring panoramic views of the town and the harbor, the Martin House is a place that beckons you to return. We serve a bountiful continental breakfast prepared by our pastry chef, featuring her famous granola and scones, another pastry, cereals, fruit, juices, gourmet coffee and tea, each morning. In the afternoon, we serve homemade treats. In the heart of Nantucket’s historic district, the inn is a short walk from the shops, beaches and restaurants in town. 13 rooms, air conditioning, free wireless internet, in-room hotel safes; many guest rooms with working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing