We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nantucket, the best in New England hospitality.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martin House Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Nantucket, the best in New England hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband Roger and I had a great time!! breakfast was great, her blueberry or cranberry scones, and my husband's favor the "crisp homemade granola", an a big bowl of fresh chopped fruits, creamy yogurt, was great !! Skye is not only a good baker, but a nice, warm, and chatty Innkeeper, she will offer you help with anything you need. The bedrooms are nice-sized, our bathroom was small, but clean. The porch has a soft cooling breeze. The House is very nicely located, an easy walk right into the heart of town. We now consider Martin House our Nantucket Island home.

Room Tip: Our room was great number 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    47
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
107
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

...would be reason enough to stay at the Martin House!, but along with her blueberry or cranberry scones was crisp homemade granola, wild blueberry coffee cake, a gorgeous big bowl of fresh chopped fruits, creamy yogurt, etc., etc. Skye is not only Bakeress Supreme, offering a truly delicious Continental+++ Breakfast, but a cute, warm, chatty and super organized Innkeeper, who seems to be everywhere at once and will offer you help with anything you need. The decorating is cheerful island bright, the bedrooms are nice-sized, the bathrooms are spick and span. There is a long, lovely side porch featuring a soft cooling breeze, comfy sofa and chairs, and magazines strewn about. IThis is nearly impossible to leave. The House is very nicely located (an easy walk right into the very heart of town) with one of Nantuckett's most popular restaurants (American Season) literally across the street. All in all we don't know how anyone could do much better. We now consider Martin House our Nantucket Island HOME!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the 2 rms. on the lst flr. if you have stair problems, as there is a double set go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelholic111643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I would highly recommend staying @ the Martin House Inn if you are traveling to Nantucket. Great location, clean, comfortable (the beds are amazing-slept great!), the best in New England hospitality. Your hostess, Skky, will make you feel right at home. I can't wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Visited Nantucket over the weekend with friends for a birthday. Found the inn through Living Social and stayed two nights in a most comfortable and relaxing room. What made the stay special was the attentive, colorful and cheerful inkeeper Skye! We awoke each morning to the aroma of freshly baked scones and muffins that she had made. She even remembered one of my friend's birthday, and much to our suprise brought out a muffin with a candle for his birthday breakfast!

Skye also knows the island very well and was quick to offer great suggestions for our time there and showed us a few of the more off the beaten path places to eat and visit which made the trip special. It's the personal touches like this that made our stay memorable and I would easily stay again at the Martin House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I found the Martin House via a Living Social deal and took my first trip down to the island. Despite awful weather for the three days we were there, Martin House Inn is the place to be! Skye is the best pastry and cookie baker ever. She is super friendly and helpful for us first timers. Every morning the house has breakfast together, which I loved. It is very close to all transportation and the "town center." Fay keeps the place immaculate and hands out the best bath towels i've ever used in any hotel or B&B. The beds were incredibly comfortable. I would highly reccomend this place to others!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Martin House Inn is a terrific place to stay in Nantucket! The inn is so well kept, friendly and comfortable. It is very close to downtown and easily accessible from the ferry. What separates this Inn from others on the island is Skye (the innkeeper). She is the nicest and most hospitable person I have ever met. She is passionate about ensuring her guests are happy and comfortable. Her breakfast is the best I've ever had at any inn (don't pass up on the scones). We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor with the bathroom. It was quiet and secluded. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLatzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a great inn, but what makes it standout is Skye, she is a wonderful innkeeper who goes above and beyond to make the stay superb

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puffsplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#13 of 39 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin House Inn

Property: Martin House Inn
Address: 61 Center Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-3666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Martin House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Martin House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing