We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louder than our apartment in Brooklyn”
Review of Jared Coffin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jared Coffin House
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I booked three nights at the Jared Coffin House to get some much needed r&r during my final trimester of pregnancy. Unfortunately they stuck us in a room right behind the reception area and literally every time anyone had a conversation or walked in the door we could hear it. The noise from other guests was also pretty insane. It was like there were elephants upstairs which made it impossible to sleep past 7a and we could hear everyone's coughing, showers, flushes, and conversations. If you plan to stay here, pack earplugs and a white noise machine.

Room Tip: Don't stay downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Gerda P - Thank you for providing this feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry you were disturbed by noise and I wish we knew you were. This time of year we operate out of the Daniel Webster building and the main Jared Coffin house building will re-open next week for the 2013 season. Again, I appologize for the inconveniences you incurred and thank you for letting us know. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in the Daniel Webster section for a couple of nights recently. Room was eh. Very middle-brow 80s NE inn decor. As has been noted the walls are thin, and we had quite a coughing cantata next door. The breakfast arrangement is subpar: too many people squeezed into a weird dining room with processed cereals and a k-cup machine. Maybe the main house is nicer? The staff was helpful and kind, but couldn't offset the aforementioned issues. Perhaps the management should have a retreat and consider the next chapter for this property in terms of decor and amenities. They could probably double the rates. It's a dynamite location and a very historic place.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank FlyingOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Flying Owl - thank you for the feedback regard your stay at the Daniel Webster House. Well I have great news for you - we just installed new furniture in the Daniel Webster House and the Jared Coffin House main building and it looks great! The Jared Coffin House main building has been closed for the winter but we re-open on April 4th and we very excited for upcoming season with all the improvements we accomplished over the winter. Hope you consider us should you visit Nantucket again. Jim Storey, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Wanted to stay here as a Coffin descendent but were almost scarred off by the price. We were able to get a room for not much more than a motel. There seems to quite a price range among rooms. Mid week in off season helped I'm sure. We had a front nice corner in the main part. Staff was top rate from the bellman to the inn keeper. It was nice to be called by name and they were very helpful. Very convenient location. We were traveling light and rolled our bags up from the morning ferry. They checked us in and stored our bags until the room was ready and called our cell phone. We loved the décor in the room as well as the common area. Breakfast is more like a tea. If you need more there is a very good bakery close by.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear GGDesMoines - thank you for staying with us and I am certainly glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff, we truly take pride in the service levels we provide. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to the Nantucket Christmas Stroll and had a wonderful time staying at the Jared Coffin House. This inn was at the heart of it all---which is where you want to be for Stroll weekend. It even hosted the Santa Claus area for the kiddies. We booked what the Jared Coffin House called a "small" room on 3rd floor. We both did not find this room to be small by any stretch of the imagination. It may be smaller than other rooms at the inn but it has more than enough space to be very comfortable. Plenty of room to walk around. It even has a desk with a chair. Mattress was very comfortable. Staff customer service was great. They brought our luggage to the room. They provided bottled water, called a cab, set up a DVD player and got us extra towels upon request. It is beautiful inside and out, with lovely era fireplaces all decorated for the holidays. Breakfast was just enough, with yogurt, muffins, coffee, teas, cereal. The Jared Coffin House is close to several restaurants, Brotherhood of Thieves and Le Languedoc. I love the food at both of these restaurants. You must try! There are many quaint places to shop next door and the best chocolate shops on the island. Jared Coffin House is withing walking distance from both ferries. Their restaurant was not open while we were there, so did not get to try. But we will be back for the Daffodil festival the last weekend in April 2013, so maybe then.
If you like old world charm in a beautifully decorated house...this is the place. A must for Stroll.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on third floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadybugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear LadybugHN - we are looking forward to seeing you over Daffodil weekend. Can't wait for you to see all the new furniture! And thank you for taking the time to write this review. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This a quaint and historic hotel within walking distance from downtown. Staff was very polite and welcoming and both room and hotel was well kept and clean. Room size, drawer space, closet, bathroom size were all quite adequate. We had an end/corner room on 3rd floor and had a comfortable queen bed with nice bedding and a/c. Beautiful lobby and several sitting rooms to meet up with others or rest during the day without going up to room (restrooms on 1st floor in the back of the building).

Were not bothered by the noise of other guests or cars outside while in our room.
Did not use the diningroom.
Would prefer free gym in same building.
Would expect a larger breakfast for the $ but enjoyed fruit/yogurt/coffee then walked to a fantastic breakfast place (Black Eyed Susan's).
Recommend Brotherhood of Thieves for lunch (don't judge the environment-food is excellent).

Room Tip: 3rd floor, corner room was quiet & sunny with plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Susan C - thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing this review. I am pleased you enjoyed the Jared Coffin House and some of the surrounding restaurants, there are so many to chose from but you found the go to spot for breakfast - Black Eyed Susan's. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A prime location and a beautiful historic building with friendly staff. But for $350 a night, one would expect to sleep on a matress that does not cause a bad back, nor a breakfast of a banana, yoghurt and a dry bread roll that has to be juggled on your lap, because on a low lounge they do not use the dining room for breakfast. Breakfast is served in the lounge room; a very unsatisfactory arrangement. Not good value for my money and very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Pauline T - I am very sorry to hear you were disappinted with your stay with us. I do, however, appreciate your kind comments aout the building and the staff. We upgrade our beds and bed linen every year where necessary and please know this has been checked. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed here before, and if you are lucky in room assignment, it is OK place with good location. Previous room was a reasonable size. Not this time. Room was less than 190 sq. feet. Shower 28 by 28 inches. Had to leave bathroom (coffin) to dry off as not enough room to towel off. Very noisy room, thin walls, but I must say front desk staff very pleasant. Unfortunately, her description of room was about as disingenuous as it could be. Picture in your mind a hotel room the size of your average walk-in closet and add phone booth as a bathroom. Superman had a bigger room to change in.

Room Tip: Difficult to chose a good room, as they are not honest in description. Avoid room close to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mkaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear mkaBoston:

Thank you for staying with us once again and thank you for taking time to write this review. There is no doubt we have some rooms that are small. These rooms, among our 6 different room types, are very appealing to budget concious travlers as they are very affordable for Nantucket lodging (and well appointed I might add - flat screen TV's, etc.) Add that they all have their own bathrooms make them a popular choice. Of course we do have larger rooms and even family rooms that do cost a bit more. So when you say "if you get lucky in your room assignment" - it is actually the room type, and that is chosen by our guests based on their preferences (and our availibility). We are fortunate to have a number of different room types, as previously mentioned, so that the Jared Coffin House may appeal to a wide variety of visitors.

Also, thank you for your kind comments regarding the front desk staff, our cleanliness, and our location. However, I will say the last thing we are is disingenous and I am sorry you felt we were dishonest. I am not sure how you would have gotten that impression, regardless - I appologize.

All of us at the Jared Coffin House hope to see you visit again soon and if/when you do, please stop by and say hello - it would be great to meet you in person.

Sincerely, Jim Storey, GM

PS - here is a previous reivew on our small rooms:

“This is a historic hotel so if you choose a single room with a twin bed, know that is really for 1 person. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean and tastefully done, It was fine for me i was traveling alone.” (consum1)
Jun 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared Coffin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nantucket
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: $190 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing