We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great peaceful getaway and helpful owner.”
Review of Centerboard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centerboard Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great peaceful getaway and helpful owner.”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Had a great stay at the Centerboard. My wife and I were celebrating out 1 year anniversary and I wanted to get flowers in the room before we got here. Jim connected me with a local flower shop and coordinated having the flowers dropped off and had them in the room waiting for us. Took my wife completely by surprise. Overall, it is in a good location 5 min walk to town, great breakfast and coffee in the morning, and Jim was always very helpful. It is very quiet place so if you are looking to stay out late, this might not be the place for you. Also the bed was only average.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenBoardman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauri B, Owner at Centerboard Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of the Centerboard Inn.

My husband and I just bought the Inn (December 2011) and we are completely renovating it. This not only includes the usual cosmetic procedures of painting and refurbishing but, specifically includes the beds themselves, linens, pillows, etc. Although former innkeeper James Blount is long gone, as you can tell by the reviews here on TripAdvisor, current InnKeeper, Lyn Francis, is virtually peerless.

The Inn is, indeed quiet, due in part to location and, in part to the fact that the walls between rooms are soundproofed, unlike most inns on Nantucket.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope you will come stay with us again soon!

Lauri Benk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
82
278
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We had a great time at the Centerboard Inn. The place is beautiful. Jim our host was very helpful in every way. He gave us all th information we needed to have a great time in Nantucket.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2010

All aspects of the Centerboard Guest House were warm and inviting. This was our first time to Nantucket and we're already planning a return, which I know will include the Centerboard. James was extremely helpful and took the time to recommend many local favorites. He also spent much time helping my husband and me secure our transportation to Cape Cod and even provided beach towels, which we had forgotten. We truly couldn't have asked for more out of our time there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labeakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Jim, the caretaker, was kind and fun. He anticipated very need we had before we knew we had it, ie. coffee, tea and brownies in the afternoon, just as we were looking for a snack. We woke to the smell of delicious muffins baking and coffee.
Our room was beautiful, freshly renovated bathrooms and both were very clean and neat.
The location was just outside downtown and was a perfect 5 minute walk, beautiful location and across the street from a fantastic restaurant. The surrounding neighbor and streets are quiet and calm, even the restaurant, for a very peaceful sleep.
We loved our stay and when we return to Nantucket, Centerboard Guest House is the place we will return to over and over again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie54105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My wife and I spent four wonderful nights recently at the Centerboard Guest House B & B and would definitely recommend a stay here, when visiting Nantucket. The owner Jim was very accommodating and knowledgeable about some of the history of this beautiful island. He made several recommendations that were spot on. We could not wait until the following morning to see what fresh, homemade baked goods and selection of fresh fruit were available for breakfast. The room was clean, quiet and the cost was in line with similar B & B’s on the island. A few minutes walk from the ferry terminal, the location was perfect for getting around town. …………….Enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandAngelaTR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I contacted nearly a dozen different inns and hotels on Nantucket for a midweek summer stay for my family and found nothing. And not for lack of availability! Then I called Centerboard. Jim worked with me, my dates and my request to find a room at his guest house. This inn is located just off of the beaten path, but with good access to downtown. We easily walked everywhere from the inn. Morning continental breakfast was delicious. Accommodations were comfortable and as expected. Jim gave us recommendations for beaches, exploring, dining, bike rentals (even got us a discount at a local bike rental shop) and overall enjoyment on the island. I highly recommend!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MakenaGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I have been a patron of the Centerboard Guest House for the past 4 years. I try to go to Nantucket every summer and it is the only place I will stay. The rooms are wonderful, the private baths are totally updated and Jim, the innkeeper is warm and friendly. Coming to the Centerboard is like being on vacation but having the comforts of home. The front porch is great to relax and people watch. The location is perfect. It is walking distance to town but you still feel the nice seclusion from the town traffic. We love it and will always book here for future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Property: Centerboard Inn
Address: 8 Chester St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, air conditioning, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels and bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the Inn and iPads are now available for guests to use during their stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing