We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus”
Review of Centerboard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centerboard Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Hospitality Plus”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We went to Nantucket for our daughter's birthday. We selected the Centerboard Guest House based on all the reviews we read on Trip Advisor and were very pleased with our choice. The inn is located on a quiet residential street just a few block from the ferry dock and downtown. The Inn Keeper Jim Blunt is extremely hospitable and his knowledge on Nantucket is impressesive. We also enjoyed sitting on the front porch sipping wine and watching the world go by.

The only negative about our stay was that our room which was at street level was a bit noisy. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Centerboard Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbit_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
82
277
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We got married on the Cape and went to Nantucket a few days later. The Centerboard offered an excellent last minute rate and we were not disappointed. The location is walking distance from the ferry dock, and everything else in town. The rooms are very clean, quiet, modern, yet cozy. The beds were very comfortable. We met the owner and he was extremely friendly and helpful. You can tell he is very personally invested in making the place as good as possible (to include the breakfast which was all farm to table fresh and delicious). I also suggest eating at the restaurant right across the street (can't remember the name but it was an upscale americana and fantastic). This is the place you want to stay for the Nantucket experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtkesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at the Centerboard Guest House and loved it! It is a well appointed, centrally located Inn where it only took 3 minutes to walk to the center of town! The room was very clean with our own private bath, which looked newly updated! The Inn has a bike rack and offers maps of the long and beautiful bike paths along the island which we enjoyed very much! They also offer a breakfast of homemade pastries, FRESH fruit and the best HOMEMADE Granola we have ever had!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crico12666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My boyfriend took me on a trip to Nantucket to celebrate my birthday. It was my first time visiting the island, and what an awesome experience it was. I had a blast and the beaches were amazing. I couldn't have asked for better accommodations than the Centerboard Guest House. It is probably the best deal you can get on the island (the price you pay is actually worth it). The inn was in the perfect location, a short walk from the ferry and right near town. The room I stayed in (#5) was incredible. It was nicely decorated, and the bed was so comfortable. I slept really well. I loved the comfy bathrobes that were provided. The complimentary breakfasts were a nice touch as well, and the bread was delicious. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful. His suggestions helped a lot since it was our first time on the island, but it definitely will not be our last. We hope to return probably next summer, and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

For the decent price on an expensive island, I was expecting mediocrity, but Jim really cares about his guests...from providing beach towels, to coffee to a bike when you need it! He really goes the extra mile. Plus, the beds were INSANELY comfortable. I brought several girlfriends with me for a wedding weekend and we all felt comfortable and at home at the Centreboard guest house. I couldn't have asked for more, except maybe a few nights!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucindabarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights in the Centerboard recently and I have to say it was a thoroughly lovely place to have spent our trip. Jim the guest house manager was really friendly, very welcoming and helpful and had lots of tips for what was going on around the Island that week. Breakfast each morning was outstanding and included in the price - healthy and delicious, with servings of home made granola, blue berries, fresh yogurt, walnut bread, juice and coffee. The location is very central, on a quite street, just minutes from main street. All in all I would thoroughly recommend the Centerboard as a first class retreat for a stay on Nantucket. I used to work on Nantucket on my summers while I was in college in Dublin, so this trip back to the "far away island" was full of nostalgia. The Centerboard certainly made our trip that bit more special.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent_dublin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Our group had the two bedrooms which exit to the patio- very comfortable with a great high end quaint ambience. Nice white bathrooms and comfy beds! Jim, the owner/innkeeper could not have been nicer or more welcoming. He greeted us every morning for the GREAT continental breakfast, lent us suntan lotion, recommended terrific restaurants, and even got up early to make us coffee before an early flight. Location was very convenient to town by foot, lots of rooms for bikes, pretty living room area on main floor. I will go back next year and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Property: Centerboard Inn
Address: 8 Chester St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, air conditioning, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels and bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the Inn and iPads are now available for guests to use during their stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing