We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem Filled With Charm, Character, Comfort, and Class”
Review of Centerboard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centerboard Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem Filled With Charm, Character, Comfort, and Class”
Reviewed April 17, 2010

My husband and I wanted to escape for a few days to celebrate a birthday milestone. We had been to Nantucket in the summer and fall but never the spring. During our research of inns that were open in mid-April, we stumbled across Centerboard Guest House. It appeared to be ideal - clean, no frills, a quick walk to the downtown area (we were not bringing the car), and great reviews from prior guests. We were not disappointed!

Even prior to our arrival, I corresponded with James Blunt (Innkeeper) to inquire about a restaurant recommendation for the birthday dinner mentioned above. He responded to my inquiry within 24 hours and his friendliness and willingness to help made me feel good about our decision to book at the Centerboard. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and led to our room. We decided to splurge and stay in Room 1 - the Master Suite - and it was a great choice! The canopy bed was beautiful, the marble shower had great water pressure, and there was plenty of room to read, watch television, and relax in between activities around the island.

Throughout the course of our few days at Centerboard, James always made himself available to answer any and all questions we had - he's very knowledgeable about the island. My husband was curious about some of the trees he saw on Main Street; James produced an informational brochure on this very topic! If there's one small drawback it may be the complimentary breakfast. It is very sufficient if you're looking for a quick snack on the go (yogurt, cereal, fruit, coffee/tea), but if you're looking for a hot breakfast, you'll need to go elsewhere. We decided to go biking one day and wanted to fill up beforehand; after asking James for a breakfast recommendation that was open this early in the year, he provided us with a great one. He really does work hard to make sure each guest is the star of his/her own mini-drama!

Nantucket is beautiful in the spring - stay at the Centerboard Guest House and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweettweet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
82
278
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2010

It was our first visit to the Island because we usually frequented Block Island and Martha's Vineyard. We chose to stay at the Centerboard because of the light airyness of the photos posted on the web. The location to town and the ferry was also ideal since we planned to be on foot. When we arrived we received a wonderful welcome from the inn keeper, James, and felt immediately at home. Our room was bright and cheerful,yet cozy and romantic. We were referred to the best places to eat and spent a lesiurely morning talking to James about the history of Nantucket. It was a great experience and we are sure to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llpires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We had a great stay at the Centerboard for an off-season getaway. We travelled with our dog and even as dog lovers, we are sometimes leery of places that accept dogs, sometimes not the nicest hotels/Inns. Well, the Centerboard was very clean and instead of sticking us in their worst room b/c of the dog, we had a great setup with our own private entrance, making it very easy to come and go all weekend. We would request room 7 next time even without the dog.
Jim the innkeeper was very nice and had a vast knowledge of the island and great food recommendations! We were on island during a big spring storm and while it was fun to be on an island for a storm, when the ferries started getting cancelled we weren't sure how it would work out. Jim was excellent, allowing us to have a late checkout while we waited to see if the ferry was cancelled and then giving us a reduced rate for the extra night when we ended up stranded. We were happy to be stranded bc it meant one more day of exploring and one more morning of his yogurt mixed with berries and baked goods, tea, and coffee. (We had friends that stayed at a place almost $2x our cost and all they had was 1 urn of lukewarm coffee set up).
The location is great b/c it is a 5-10 minute walk into town but without all the noise we have experienced staying downtown in the past.
There's a reason that 76 out of 82 people have rated this place Very Good or Excellent! Don't expect the Four Seasons for holiday inn prices wherever you go. This place is very clean, very friendly, and a great value. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBunkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Beautiful, romantic, charming. A great way to spend a weekend on Nantucket.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadvisee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Our daughters gave us a night at the inn as an anniversary present and it was the perfect choice. James could not have been more charming. While we had already taken care of our dinner plans, he provided a list of other activites available later in the evening to celebrate New Years Eve. He was flexible and encouraging when asked to help with arranging to have champagne ready upon our arrival. The room was cozy and well-appointed; antique charm with modern conveniences. Coffeee and breakfast a real treat in the morning.The location is perfact for exploring Nantucket town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GooftenMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We just had a lovely stay at the Centerboard. Although my husband was in Nantucket on business, we traveled with our two children. Very few B&B's accommodate children. The charming Houseboat Suite was perfect for us. It was roomy with so much attention to the layout of the room and great use of every inch of space. My son loved sleeping in the berth-like bed. The little kitchen was an added convenience and the bathroom was so clean and updated with subway tile and a very nice shower. The bedding was super comfortable and I am in search of the same make of pillows that they used as they were the fluffiest I have ever laid my head upon!!!
After a long day of driving it was so nice to be greeted by such a welcoming host. James even brought us a complimentary bottle of chardonnay. We all loved James' lesson on roasting coffee beans as well as drinking the freshly brewed coffee. Anytime we needed anything, we had James' cell phone number and he was at our service.
We had a wonderful stay and would definitely choose the Centerboard for our next trip to Nantucket.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2009

When a group of 8 "30 something" women decided to have a girls weekend on Nantucket for the Holiday Stroll, we started researching house rental options vs. Inns and hotels and stumbled on the Centerboard Guest House. It ended up being the perfect accomidations and set up for a group our size.
We "took over" the rooms on the ground floor with a private locked entrance. The "House Boat" became our gathering spot (when not enjoying leisurely breakfast in the cozy dining area in the main part of the Inn!) where the kitchenette came in handy and we also had "Room 7" for additional sleeping space.
The accomidations were clean and nicely updated while still keeping with the theme of the house. The location is an easy walk from the ferry and all restaurants and shops, and the Inn Keeper and other help at the house were wonderfully accomidating and friendly. The coffee cakes and home roasted coffee is worth going back for!
It is a perfect place for any small group of friends or family gatherings as well as for a romantic getaway on Nantucket!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdavidsonBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Property: Centerboard Inn
Address: 8 Chester St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, air conditioning, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels and bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the Inn and iPads are now available for guests to use during their stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing