We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Centerboard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centerboard Inn
Ranked #3 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Centerboard Inn. The Inn is beautifully decorated, very comfortable and there are lovely amenities in the bedroom and bath. Barbara, the Innkeeper, is very welcoming, knowledgeable and accommodating. She gave us great suggestions for shopping, dining and sightseeing. We highly recommend the Centerboard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Innkeeper, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

Thank you Tom, for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you here at The Centerboard. I've lived on Nantucket year-round for 25 years, and was a summer visitor before then for many years. Obviously, I love the island in every season, and enjoy sharing my enthusiasm for Nantucket with our guests.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 484 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

This Inn was a fantastic place to stay! Barbara, the Inn Keeper, went out of her way to make our visit to Nantucket a pleasant one. From when she picked us up at the Ferry to when we left she was attentive, informative, and friendly. The location of this Inn was perfect as it was just a short walk to 'downtown' and was located in a quiet area with a restaurant nearby for a nightcap. The breakfast was good and the bed comfy. I will definitely recommend this Inn to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qman O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Innkeeper, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

Thank you for such a great review! I do try to make sure each guest gets 'the royal treatment' and in the off season I am thrilled to be able to leave the inn and run people to/from the ferry. It's just not possible in the height of summer. Please come stay with us again!
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a lovely place. Perfect location, beautiful decor, friendly atmosphere, I really felt as if it was a home from home. Breakfast was a delight of home baked goodies and a simple combination of fruit, toast & bagels. The bedding was wonderful, and the bathrooms spotless. TV had a better choice of channels than most five-star chains, and the WiFi was free! Great place to stay, I'll be going back next time I'm on ACK. Also, for the foodies amongst you, the restaurant over the road, American Seasons, is one of the best on the island!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Innkeeper, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad you felt at home at The Centerboard. I agree, American Seasons is top-notch and so conveniently located across the street from our inn. Nantucket has so many great restaurants, but that one is such a treat! I recommend sitting at the bar where you can order from the regular menu and the Small Plates menu for a very fine sampling of great food.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Centerboard inn is fresh and newly renovated everything is stylish and comfortable and the innkeeper is so friendly and knowledgeable we can't wait to go Back. Our room was comfortable and bright we enjoyed the biking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale Johnson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Innkeeper, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

Thank you for your complements and for mentioning the recent renovation. The Centerboard Inn's renovated interiors have recently been featured on the cover and inside of Nantucket Home magazine.
I look forward to your return!
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed for two nights at this lovely B&B with a very friendly inn-keeper. The location isn't in the town centre, but the town itself isn't that big and it takes like 10 minutes to walk to the ferry. The inn-keeper was very friendly and we felt welcome right away. She also helped us with things to do since the weather wasn't that great.
Have absolutely nothing to complain about and can only recommend this B&B if you are heading for Nantucket.
A piece of advice is to leave the car on the main land. It wasn't season right now, and I can only guess how it will be when the island is over flooded with tourists.

PS. The beds were divine!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Innkeeper, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. There is so much to see on Nantucket, at any time of the year, as more than half of the island is forever preserved as open space. It is a nature lovers paradise, with the only true moors outside of Scotland, plus dunes, bogs, beaches, ponds, harbors and an ocean to explore... in addition to the largest collection of Pre-Civil War structures in America.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just left The Centerboard Inn yesterday and cannot wait to visit again. We stayed in room one and were beyond thrilled with the size of the roon and comfort of the King size bed which we our going to purchase that mattress, best sleep ever for both of us. Barb was very knowledgeable with her suggestions for dining and her morning treats especially the homemade granola were delicious! I would not stay anywhere else on Nantucket. Between the aromas of the American Season restaurant across the street to the easy walking distance from the center of town, we could not have been more pleased. Will come back again next year for sure!!! Laurie H.

Room Tip: Room one is perfect for a romantic getaway with the king size bed and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Innkeeper, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I've lived on Nantucket year-round for 25 years and keep up with the restaurant scene, so I am always pleased when guests enjoymy recommended great places to dine. Nantucket has many! We do get a lot (I mean a LOT) of comments on the exceptional comfort of our beds. They are a variety of brands and names, but all have a combination of 'memory foam' with a built-in pillow top.
I bake the granola in HUGE batches and it makes the inn smell so wonderful. I'd love to have you come stay with us again.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Nantucket, off-season, end of March, high winds and a possible 5 to 8 inches of snow expected….that’s the bad news. The good news, I’ll be staying at the Centerboard Inn which is simply the best. Barb and Lyn, resident innkeepers, made my first stay memorable and I am making my return visit based on the following:
• A fabulous breakfast anchored by a fruit cup, juice, and freshly brewed coffee along with whatever the innkeepers decide to whip up.
• Late afternoon cheese, fruit, and crackers.
• A perfect location. Short walk to town or head out of town
• Sunset or snow viewing from my perfectly positioned and most comfortable bed in room 4.
• Open, bright, and airy throughout, a perfect antidote to a winter’s day.
• Small unobtrusive fridge for wine, snacks, and or leftovers a real plus.
It is most unusual to find a lodging which lives up to its online hype and sparkling reviews. The Centerboard exceeded all of my expectations. I would recommend a stay at any time of year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara_Innkeeper, Manager at Centerboard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you here in the winter months. I look forward to your return, as you visit your mother on Nantucket.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#6 of 38 in Nantucket
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Address: 8 Chester St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $144 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, Nespresso coffee maker, air conditioning, USB charging stations, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels & bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless internet access is available throughout the inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing